We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start of the Cuban trip (and a year)!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel
Ranked #6 of 729 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed at casa of Yadilis and Joel for 2 nights just after arrival to Cuba 1st of January, and it was our 1st experience staying in casas after 2 previous trips staying in 4-5 star hotels. But this time we decided to explore Cuba a bit deeper and it was worth trying, we enjoyed every moment!
We booked this casa well beforehand via e-mail palomita3ra@gmail.com and re-confirmed prior to arrival. We’ve chosen it due to excellent reviews here on tripadvisor and can sign off the most of them.
Yadilis and Joel are very welcoming, helpful and hardworking people, keeping their house extremely clean. They both speak English. Joel gave us several really useful advices including a place to buy Viazul tickets at Terminal de Omnibus near Plaza de la Revolucion instead of going to Viazul station in Nuevo Vedado which is far from the city centre. And if you buy tickets at Terminal de Omnibus you can travel also from there, so thanks to Joel we saved an hour or two.
The breakfast was very rich and tasty (it was Joel’s turn to cook, he gave his wife some rest after NY celebration): fresh fruits, omelet with ham and tomatoes, wonderful puffy bread with butter, coffee, fresh juice or yogurt.
The location is perfect - only 2 blocks from Prado, close both from Malecon and Havana Vieja. However, Yadilis advised not to take any bags with us while walking in the evening, but that was probably overcautious, although we preferred to follow her advice :)
Thanks, Yadilis y Joel, we felt really welcomed at your wonderful casa!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZhuchOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palomita3ra, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Hello Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments, it was really a pleasure help you during your stay, We are going to continue work very hard to get better. We look forward to welcoming you back to the house on your next trip to Cuba or recommended to your friend,
Regards, thanks
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

We loved staying at Yadilis and Joel's house in Havana! The rooms are very nice, spacious and clean, with a good bathroom and a shower. They even have a little television in there, so its possible to watch Cuban tele, for instance the Cuban baseball league.They also have a really nice terrace, good place to chill out when you are a bit overwhelmed by Havana. The breakfast is rich and so is dinner. The location in Centro Havana is great for exploring the city.

Yadilis and Joel are very generous and hospitable people, willing to help with everything - they even helped us to plan our trip around Cuba and book casas particulares in other cities. We are very thankful to Joel and Yadilis for everything!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helgatryggva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Hello guest,
we are so grateful for your sincere opinion about our home, now we know that you feel like in house. We really appreciate your kind comments, we work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier we hope a day see you again.
Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

From all the places we stayed at in Cuba this was most definitely the best.
This casa can easily be booked beforehand by email : palomita3ra@gmail.com
Yadilis and Joel are very nice people that speak English. The rooms are very nice with super-clean and fresh bathroom with hot and cold water. Yadilis make great food. The breakfast, especially the coffee and the fresh fruits, is an excellent way to start the day in Havanna. The Location of this casa is perfect, next to Parque Central and the Malecon. The place with surroundings feels very safe and at least we were never afraid of walking the streets in the dark.
Just Perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelandIna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Hello
we are Yadilis and Joel
thanks so much for your great opinion about our home, we are so pleased for your commentary, We really appreciate your kind comments, we work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier we hope in the future came again.
Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

we stayed in Yadilis y Joel casa when we first arived in cuba, it was sush a great place that we came back for the last few nights while touring havana.Yadilis and Joel are great warm people. for those who lack spanish both Yadilis and Joel speak english and will be happy to point havava attractions, nightlife and any other information you may need. the rooms are well kept and comfortable with a/c, a small librery with travel guids and provide a great breakfast before you hit the streets of havana. they will also be more then happy to find and book you a good place to stay at your next destantion in cuba.
Yadilis y Joel casa will be the place to our choise of place to stay when we revisit havana.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtreavler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Hello guest,
we are so grateful for your sincere opinion about our home, now we know that you feel like in house. We really appreciate your kind comments, we work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier we hope a day see you again.
Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

four nights we stayed in the beautifull,clean house of this nice ,young family and we were thrilled by there hospitality: they were so cute to offer one of us a birthday-cake!
the breakfast and dinner were perfect and abundant.
the rooms perfect, so is the location in old havana with the paseo del Prado and the museum of modern art just around the corner. and don"t forget the terrace on the roof.
Yadilis and Joel,thanks,we really felt at home in your family!
licia,johan,marco,nadieh,amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famam093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Hello
I have read with great pleasure your review regarding your stay here our house. We appreciate your valuable comments. We can to know how guests are able to appreciate our job to achieve their full satisfaction. We work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier I really thank you taking the time to write these comments which will help future clients to find the right destination for their next holidays.
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I stayed with Joel & Yadilis twice: once in 2003 when I travelled alone and again in 2009 whe i travelled with my girlfriend.
In 2003 I had not booked any accomodation prior to my visit and found the place at 1am and they opened their doors to me. They operated a two bedroom self-apartment at the time and I stayed there alone. Their location is second to none in that it is close to everything in Habana so that all is accessable but just off the main throughfares so that when 'recovering' from the night-out you can get some peace. I travelled to Vinalas and they made a booking for me with one of their friends and that stay was equally great.
When I travelled with my girlfriend in 2009 I pre-booked with them and knowing that I had that place there waiting for us was a relief. The layout had changed by then to en-suite rooms but the warm welcome was still waiting. As Habana improves and the buildings of the old town are renovated places like Joel & Yadilis will become more valuable as the authentic family run guesthouses become less common, and large hotels become de rigueur.
Enjoy!!

Tadhg and Caroline

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TadhgBaile_thaCliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Hello Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments, it was really a pleasure help you during your stay ,We are going to continue work very hard to get better. We look forward to welcoming you back to the house on your next trip to Cuba
Regards
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Joel and Yadillis's casa is a wonderful place to stay. We were there over New Year, and they made us feel very welcome, even inviting us to their New Year party.

The breakfast was really nice, the room VERY clean and tidy, with hot water, a nice shower and an en suite, with clean towels each day which we were really impressed with. There was even a safe in the room, although it was completely secure so no need really but it is reassuring until you know the place.

The family respected our privacy, and we felt part of the family whilst we were there - we stayed for 5 nights, and enjoyed sitting out on the roof terrace listening to the noises of the partying over the festive season.

The location is also really good and safe, only a few minutes walk to the Prado.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandd_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2011

Thank you for give your experiences in Trip Advisor about such great stay in our house. We really appreciate your kind comments, we work very hard and this compliments makes our job easier, it was really a pleasure help you during your stay ", I hope you will have a small corner in you life to remember Yadilis and Joel house.
With best regards,
Yadilis and Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.3 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,876 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,559 reviews
5.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Havana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel

Address: Industria # 120 / Trocadero y Colon | Centro Habana, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 729 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range: £19 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial House Yadilis and Joel in the heart of Havana just 5 minutes walk from the historic town declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Capitol, Revolution Museum, Museum of Fine Arts, Bars, Factories of Snuff, Restaurants La Bodeguita del Medio and Floridita, House of Music, Chinatown, Malecon Habanero, San Carlos Castillo of the hut, The bay of Havana. Just 15 minutes you can enjoy the fantastic beaches of the EastAmenities:• Air Conditioning• TV• Refrigerator• Private bathroom inside the room (hot and cold water)• single or double beds, at its option.• car parking• Telephone• Laundry service• Safe• Terrace• High hygiene. We do not have pets at home• We help you plan your trip around the Island• Dining Service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing