We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great welcome to Havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Alina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Alina
Ranked #456 of 694 Havana B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great welcome to Havana”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Alina. She is a friendly host and a good cook! The house is clean, comfortable and well located in Habana Vieja, with a lovely view of the Capitolio from the kitchen. The room had 2 double beds, air conditioning and a useful fridge with bottles of water (at 1.50 CUC each). The bathroom was across the hall from the bedroom, but we seemed to be the only ones using it.

Alina speaks a little English and with our basic Spanish we got by just fine. She was really great at recommending (and helping to book) other casas for our trip, which was very much appreciated.

Overall, we would recommend staying at Casa Alina!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaFialko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I have stayed two times at Casa Alina, and will definitely come back:)
Located two parallel streets from Calle Obispo, makes it very central in Havana Vieja.
Alina and her family is very nice and provide good service.
They rent out two large rooms; one with two large beds, the other one has one large bed. These two rooms share a bathroom. Clean and nice!
Alina makes the best breakfast in Havana!!! The dinner is also higly recommended!!
Ability to borrow internet there too. Alina understands a little bit english, her husband Esteban speaks very good english. Strongly recomended Casa:-)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annelise_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2011

This is the place where you become a part of the cuban family for real. This is as real as it gets. Alina and her family will make you feel welcome from the minute you enter the apartment. Delicious food at any chosen time, and the most heartwarm generosity you can imagine. I have never before met such lovely people. Alina and her familiy will be in my heart for ever. Strongly recomended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OsloHenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed at Casa Alina for 3 nights.
Alina - the landlady - is a very nice, welcoming lady.

The casa particular is perfectly located in Old Havana, with all the main sightseeing walking distance.

The room was spacious, nicely furnished, clean and so was the bathroom .

The breakfast is really tasty, lots of good food and drinks, prepared right on time by Alina.
While having breakfast I always enjoyed long conversations with her.

There is also a chance to use internet at home which is quite rare in Havana (and therefore really convenient).

I've recommended this casa particular to another couple I've met during my trip in Cuba and they appreciated it as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fbo_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Lovely welcome and stay in Habana Vieja
Pluses: location, high in building (with functionning lift) helped noise and views (sadly best view is in kitchen!), firm mattress, good linen, big towels, fridge and water in room, good food, Alina is not someone who tries to sell stuff at you as at some casas
Minor minuses: bathroom across the living room (but fine by me, very discrete hosts make this not an issue), some people would prefer more colonial type architecture etc, no outside space
We really enjoyed our stay, Alina is funny and knows her stuff. she is also a good cook

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Great position, great family, great hospitality!!!
A perfect place to stay in Havana!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sergio1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
Tlalpan
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexico Medica Sur
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mexic...
#163 of 306 in Mexico City
34 reviews
Coyoacan
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
Fiesta Inn Periferico Sur
#58 of 306 in Mexico City
447 reviews
Coyoacan
One Ciudad de Mexico Periferico Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tlalpan
Hotel Inn Sur
Hotel Inn Sur
#234 of 306 in Mexico City
33 reviews
Coyoacan
Villas & Suites Real Azteca
Villas & Suites Real Azteca
#83 of 141 in Mexico City
1 reviews
Hotel La Luna
#80 of 141 in Mexico City
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Alina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Alina

Property: Casa Alina
Address: San Juan de Dios 154 | Havana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #456 of 694 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing