We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good by Cuban standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My girlfriend an i stayed here for 3 nights at the end of june 2012.This was our first stop on a 3 week trip so wanted to start in comfort.It is by no means cheap and not exactly what you would expect by European standards, but then again its not Europe its Cuba, Our room on the second floor was clean and comfortable with aircon and a nice bathroom.There is wifi in the bar area wish is extremely rare anywhere else in Cuba.you buy an hours usage at reception in the for of a code card (cuc6 per hour) The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful,they helped us book a casa in Cienfuegos by phone. the building itself is an attraction,its beautiful inside and out, its situated on plaza de San Francisco and is with in walking distance to most major attractions.The area is beautiful and very safe.this is one of the best hotels in cuba, but for value for money,food and service id recommend staying in casa's (B&B's)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

On reception we was met by a nervous person. He couldn't find our reservation in the  beginning. Finally he gave us a room for 230 $ on the third floor. It was very dark. In the bathroom the water was leaking through the glass on the floor. Terrible. In the morning it was very noisy. We were sleeping not well because we heard all the stuff was doing out the door. By the way in the hotel there is no free Internet and mini bar is not free too.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alenika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We were staying around the corner but ate here twice, one lunch and a week earlier in the evening. The staff were helpful and the food was great. A very impressive building, If we ever return to Havana I would definetly book a night to see what it's like.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingtutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This hotel is at the San Francisco de Asis square, near the Buena Vista Social Club(very nice).To SAVE a lot of MONEY, just make the reservation through the internet and you will save something like 60 cuc. Rooms are ok but if you have a little more money to spend, choose the suite.It's REALLY WORTH it.While having breakfast you must try the mango and the fried bananas.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnysKopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay while visiting Havana, can't miss this gem right on the San Francisco square. The property stands out across the Cafe El Oriente and is on a totally renovated building. You'll feel like welcomed just the moment you enter to relax on a breathtaking interior court yard which is very fresh and inviting. Just go there and enjoy a Mojito (there is no place on earth for this drink but Havana) while having some malanga fritters with a special sauce, a house recipe. Yaima Plasencia, the general manager and hotel director is making a difference when it comes to outstanding customer service, premise's upkeeps and tailored attention to details. Word of advise: people, remember that you are in CUBA: tons of problems, scarce to none internet connection, power outages, etc. In this hotel they'll do whatever they can to satisfy your logical requests, and then some.
Go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank omarlaffita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Not sure of what to expect in Havana after reading Tripadvisor comments, but relying on friend from NYC who knows Havana and recommended the San Felipe, I couldn't have been more pleased. The AC worked well and was most welcome since it was incredibly hot during the middle of the day. The superb location offered us opportunities to walk most places in Havana Vieja - better walking early morning or late afternoon and evening because of the heat.

The breakfasts (true that the toasts were hard bread and not very good) depended on what I ordered. Best were the scrambled eggs with mushrooms and tomatoes. One morning I order "hot cake" and a milk shake with fruit. Indescribably good! Some of the best pancakes I ever tasted with a lovely syrup and a fruit/milkshake that hinted of guava. The staff - waitstaff, desk clerks, cleaning women - were all helpful and friendly. The hairdryer in my lovely bathroom didn't work but that really was a small trifle. At times the air conditioner fan made a clicking noise...but I soon forgot that. All in all, I couldn't have wanted more. I had heard disturbing tales about Havana hotels, but instead found a lovely oasis in Hotel San Felipe.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Positives :
• Good location

Negatives:
• Poorly designed hotel - raised curbs can cause trips.
• Bathroom flat so the water stands - not very clean
• Poor breakfast - possibly stale
• Room not really kept clean

Initially tried to palm off a room in which the air condition did not work, once I complained they put us in the suite which was nice.
Overall I wouldn’t recommend you stay here – there are better hotels nearby.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,783 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,744 reviews
6.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal

Address: Oficios 152 esq a Amargura, Plaza San Francisco de Asis, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: £173 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Gaviota Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing