We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good choice”
Review of Hotel Habana Paseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Habana Paseo
Ranked #43 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good choice”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

As I said this is a good choice if you want to look around new Havana as well as old city.
This is a budget hotel but very pleasant. Rooms are clean, with AC and LCD.
Service in the restaurant is a bit slow but with a few tips it will be better. Breakfast is OK.
Staff is kind especially senior Sergio, who is very attentive and one excellent representative of Cuban people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    84
    73
    24
    14
See reviews for
30
82
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

When we booked this hotel, we really didn't have it clear weather to stay in old Habana, or Vedado, I can clearly say now that Vedado was the best choice.
It is a beautiful neighbourhood with stunning (although badly conserved) houses and away from the usual tourist-massacre in old Habana.
The hotel has a very friendly staff (except on breakfast).

The breakfast always work very badly. The products aren't that good, most of what they have on menu is not available, and if there are more than 4 tables to serve, you may end-up waiting long time to be served.
We stayed in two rooms, one very good, the other not so, be careful when choosing.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms, one very good, the other not so, be careful when choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jguedes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I liked this budget hotel,which has an elevator and air conditioning. it was a modest operation but offered a glimpse of how Cuban live outside the tourist center. There is ample transportation to the Capitol building along 23rd street in shared taxis. Transportation for the hotel workers can be difficult. One day the regular breakfast staff did not arrive, but other employees came to serve breakfast. I got the feeling that everyone knows how to do all the works. Be patient and remember that not everything on the menu is available. Cuban coffee with milk was amazing. I thought the staff was friendly and helpful, although i had to insist on getting a replacement for my lamp. The beds are too hard, IMHO, but the rooms are very clean. Outlets are available on the TV side of the room only. One member of the group moved her bed around. The courtyard has a rooster that crows. My room faced the front of the hotel. We endured a ferocious tropical storm that flooded some rooms.

Room Tip: It’s either the courtyard with the rooster and a nice view, or the rooms that face the street, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crumpet212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Nice hotel, pretty essential, but clean and confortable.
they have a bad restaurant though: i just had breakfast there, but they're very slow. Be sure to go there to have your breakfast with plenty of time..

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mic844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strakonice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in October 2013 during the stop-over in Havana on our scuba diving trip to Jardines de la Reina. Considering my limited experience with the standard of other Havana hotels, I found the hotel nicely clean, both the room and lobby and rest of the hotel facilities accessible to guests. A big wardrobe with enough storage space in the room, comfortable beds with clean spotless lining, clean and spacious bathroom with enough clean towels. Aprreciated the fully functional A/C and fridge. Safebox was in the room, but it was battery-operated so we did not use it. Nice breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast, coffee), fruit juice, bottled water upon request but is NOT included (apparently set as standard in Havana hotels).
Taxis to Havana Vieja (Old Havana - Plaza de Armas) can be reached from the main street outside the hospital for approx. 5 CUC daytime. If not lucky, simply go down the hill to the seaside, turn right towards the Malecón and catch a taxi going to the city.
I am not sure about the room rates but - generally speaking - I found the hotel being a good value and a reasonable alternative to sometimes overpriced hotels in the centre. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here 17th to 24th October, I paid £21 a night including breakfast. Usually I had scrambled eggs with ham and cheese, fruit juice (there was only one flavour available each day), fruit, bread or toast with butter and jam, coffee (as much as I wanted), they now have a proper machine. There are other options, cereals etc on the breakfast menu but you can only have one item from each category. I had a sandwich one day at lunchtime which was packed with ham and cheese. I didn't eat any other meals. A 1 or 2 CUC tip is really appreciated.
Having read some of the previous comments I had a letter delivered by a Cuban friend asking for room 307 or any other room on that floor facing the hospital. I was allocated 307. I don't agree with other posters that the hotel is tatty or unclean. My room was spotless as was the bedding, ditto all the public areas. Towels were changed if left on the floor. The shower was a little temperamental but I soon got used to it. There was a massive wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a desk, fridge, chairs and a TV with loads of TV channels including BBC 24.
Its about a 15 minute walk to The Havana Libre along Calle 23 and easy to take one of the Cuban taxis. Simply stand on the side of the road with your hand out. When a taxi stops (often they are full here at busy times) if you want to go to Parque Central ask the driver "Habana" and add if you wish Parque Central as well. He will either say Si (yes) so jump in, or No (which means hes not going in your direction). The fare is 60 cents each so give him1 CUC when you reach your destination. To come back, walk from Parque Central onto Prado and take the first turning on the left. About 50 metres along you'll see the taxis stopping. Ask for 23 (phonetically VENTY TRAY). If he says Si, jump in. Eventually you'll pass the Havana Libre which is on "J" and the taxi will turn left by Coppelia?Yara and you need to get out at A. Make it clear where you want to be dropped off and give him your 1 CUC.
Not confident to do it this way???? Ask Sergio the daytime doorman to get you a Goverment taxi or flag one of those down yourself. Often a "tout" will ask if you want a taxi..... NEGOTIATE. 2 CUC to the Havana Libre, 5 maybe 6 to Parque Central.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms face the Hospital, even numbered rooms face the noisy neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Habana Paseo is located in Vedado and is an economical hotel alternative from the hustle and bustle of Old Havana. The price was $31 per night (single rate) and included cable TV and breakfast. I stayed for three nights in a third floor room. The hotel common areas are attractive and very clean. The hallways and room are showing some wear and tear but were also clean. My room overlooked the street but I had no issue with noise coming from the street...didn't hear the infamous rooster. The halls are wide and echo a bit so on occasion you can hear movement and voices in the hallway. Ear plugs solve that minor issue. The bed spread was a bit dicey but I just removed it from the bed. Front desk staff and doorman (Sergio) were very nice and helpful. The breakfast selection was great and I liked being able to pour my own coffee from the self-service area. The hotel is within walking distance of Calle 23 also known as La Rampa and about an hour's walk to Old Havana. Overall very good value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirami-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.2 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
3.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#40 of 79 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Habana Paseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Habana Paseo

Property: Hotel Habana Paseo
Address: Calle 17 esq. a A, Vedado | Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Habana Paseo 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Vedado area, this place stands out as a downtown hotel but at the same time it is intimate with possibilities of quick access to the social and cultural life of the capital. As its name implies, it is very close to Paseo, an important city avenue. Remarkable theaters like Mella and Trianon, night clubs, shop and health care centers are in the surrounding area. Competent services and hospitality will make you feel at home at Habana Paseo hotel. Facilities: 30 air-conditioned rooms, with private bathroom, satellite TV, telephone and safety deposit box. 3 rooms are specially designed for disabled guests. Others: restaurant, cafeteria and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Habana Paseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing