We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Havana- Better than average”
Review of Cafe Lamparilla

Cafe Lamparilla
Ranked #354 of 784 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban, Caribbean, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“For Havana- Better than average”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The price was very reasonable. The food was good- not great. The service average. The trio entertaining made up for any deficiencies. We spent an enjoyable hour and a half listening to the music while we ate a relatively forgettable ( but inexpensive) meal in Old Havana

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JedLeonard1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    100
    51
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delightful ambience, good prices, so so service”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Found this little outdoor cafe while strolling the streets of Havana Vieja. A small combo was playing; good music. Lots of choices, all very inexpensive. A lovely place to relax and have a bite to eat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kassie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
243 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee.”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Arroz con pollo, grilled fish very good. Great coffee, went back 3 times! Service was less friendly tho. NIce live music playing.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mellowjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"You Can't Beat the Prices"”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stumbled upon this little outdoor cafe wedged between two buildings on the way to Plaza Vieja. Not only is it economical but really tasty too! My wife and I are vegetarians and we were surprised to find several dishes that we could eat. Even with drinks we couldn't get our bill over $10.00. The service can be sketchy, I got the impression that is was a place for new servers to learn since they have many hotel schools nearby. We ate there 3 times and the staff was completely different each time. They usually have music too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank livinlargeinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great food in the heart of Havana Vieja”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Walking our last evening on Calle Mercaderes in Havana Vieja, we noticed a charming cafe with seating places outdoors. After checking the menu, we decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the reasonable prices. As in most restaurants in Havana, the juices are freshly made from fruits of the season. My children ages 14 and 12 went for pineapple and guava, my husband stayed with the classic mojito and I ask for a "piña colada". We all were pleased with the choices. We also tried the "croquetas" which were very gratifying. My children ordered the "brocheta de pollo", which they devoured entirely. I ordered the grilled fish and my husband tried the "bistec de pollo". We all were extremely pleased by the flavors of each dish. The amount was not too big, nor too small, just perfect. The presentation although straight forward very appealing. We finish the night with the classic "flan" for dessert. The service is typical cuban service, not the best but good enough to make sure the food arrived warm. Although we had to "beg" for the dessert menu at the end of our evening :( We had a great dinner for about CuC35!!!! Which for Havana standards is extremely cheap. If you can stop for lunch, an afternoon snack or dinner while in Mercaderes, stop by Cafe Lamparilla. You will not regret it.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lov2travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Lamparilla also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Cafe Lamparilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing