We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food In Havana”

San Cristobal Paladar
Ranked #10 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food In Havana”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

During our week in Havana we ate at some exceptional restaurants. San Cristobal, however, was the best of the best. From the moment we walked in, we felt at home. Friendly staff and an atmosphere to die for created an unforgettable night. We enjoyed everything we tried, especially the squid ink rice and the grilled fish! After meeting the chef, who offered complimentary rum and cigars,and a tour of the spectacular restaurant, it was obvious to us that this is the real deal.

John and Lou from Toronto

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LCOLA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,113
    279
    53
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great dinner, annoying doorman”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Being one of the top places to eat in Havana, we had to give this a go.

We had the option if sitting inside which we did as it was air-conditioned. They took our drink orders then shortly after food orders.

We room we were in was decorated with all sorts of strange pieces... Old clocks, music records, religious pieces etc.

We had ordered the slow cooked lamb and beef. Despite being massively over seasoned, they were delicious. Really tender and and flavoursome. We had a few sides, vegetables and rice & beans. These were great... I can't get enough of both!

I should also note that the cocktails we ordered were very well made as well.

So dinner was great. We were given some free shots if rum, I was given a cigar and my wife a broach. It was completely unexpected but well received. It's definitely worth it's spot high up on the trip adviser list.

Our only problem was the doorman (I don't think he was a waiter). He wouldn't stop talking to us... And about himself! Apparently he's a Dr. which we heard over a dozen times. He gave us a tour of the house but still managed to bring the conversation back to him. Even going as far as showing us photos of his wife and kids... We didn't ask to see it.

Anyway, check this place out if you're in Havana. Great price, excellent food and well worth the visit.

NB: The restaurant is not along the main drag in Havana so you might want to consider how you get there and back. The staff will organise a taxi home for you but be sure to negotiate the price before you get in.

Helpful?
4 Thank Aron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We came here by taxi after checking tripadvisor and it was the best dining experience we had in our 3 week trip all around Cuba July 2014.. We were a group of 8 with 5 adults and 3 children. We got a seat in the beautiful room by the entrance where the waiters explained some of the amazing history of the building in English, while others organized a big table to fit all off us. We had starters, main dishes and forced ourselves into some awesome desert. The food was absolutely delicious – even the kids where enthusiastic about the food! The service was excellent – fast, efficient and discreet -but also very friendly and helped accommodate the kids so that they had the same great experience we adults had. We had some great meals all around Cuba during out trip, but this was extraordinary. This is the first time I make a comment on Tripadvisor, but I felt I had to after visiting this place. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terje I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quirky place!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We came here based on tripadvisor recommendations and happy that we did! It is in central havana rather than the old part but what an amazing quirky eccentric little place. We were made to feel very welcome and although the restaurant was fully reserved we were shown a table. We all had slave quarter soup to start with which was delicious, then my husband had lamb stew and my daughter and I had shredded beef, which to be honest was quite tough and chewy. We then had shots and were given a tour which was great. My only complaint was it was roasting in there and they could do with some fans. The food wasn't the best we ate but the ambiance and staff made up for it. We were even shown a pic of Beyoncé and Jay Z!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ataylor-smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great starter and service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The plate of tapas style starters was probably the best thing we ate during 2 weeks in Cuba. Unfortunately the mains, sweet and sour chicken and breaded fish with Florentine sauce, were not quite to the same standard. However they were probably not terribly well chosen, as there were specials available.

Very friendly and efficient service, including complimentary cigar and rum, with a tour of the premises to finish. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Cristobal Paladar also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to San Cristobal Paladar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing