We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Mary y Miguel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Mary y Miguel
Ranked #193 of 690 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We spent two nights at Mary and Miguel's in July and didn't want to leave. They were such a beautiful family and Joao was very helpful with answering a lot of our questions. When we wanted to stay an extra night in Havana, Miguel didn't have our room available but he walked us down the street to his friend's B&B and got us a room. Miguel also helped us get a taxi driver (which was one of his friends) to drive us all the way back to Cayo Santa Maria. The room was clean and the bathroom was newly renovated and very modern. The location was amazing, just a short walk to Old Havana and La Guarida (which you must check out). They were such a warm and genuine family. I will definitely recommend Casa Mary y Miguel's to anyone that's looking for a cultural getaway in Havana!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    10
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
43
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I've been to Casa Mary y Miguel in 2012 and it was a great experience. The room was big and very clean and the food was very good. Mary, Miguel and João are great people, we spent hours talking about Cuba and they gave us great tips.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbbeznos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Miguel, Mary and Joao were so helpful! They only had a room for us for one night but they helped us find accommodations around the corner at another great place. Miguel had a driver waiting for us at the airport. We Kept in contact with them our whole stay as they helped us with drivers, money exchange travel ideas et.c, etc. etc., Also met Juan and he was really cool. Luis, a private driver who lives across the street was always ready and ahead of schedule whenever we needed to go the bus terminal, airport etc. I filled my large suitcase with 6 lbs of double bubble bubble gum and all the shirts I was going to give to Goodwill. I asked Miguel if he knew anyone that would like to have some shirts that no longer fit and he said. "Yes, my family who lives in the country". He gladly accepted them and was grateful. The gum I did not hand out to kids on the street, I gave to Miguel before I left.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We have spent 3 beautiful nights in Havana at Mary and Miguel. The house is very close to Havana Vieja, 10 - 15 minutes walking distance. The accommodation was excellent, the room was lovely, we really liked it very much. They can serve breakfast and dinner, and the food was really good, I still remember the black beans soup, yummy! And the best part of this review, the lovely people that we have meet and made our stay in Havana similar like home, we will never forget the time spent at Mary, Miguel and the rest of the family that includes the funniest dog named “Chamaco”.

If we come back to Cuba we would definitely stay at Mary and Miguel!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We have stayed in the house for 4 days. 5 people.
Very beautiful and picturesque house in the middle of the city! Everything is within a walking distance. Rooms a clean and have a very home-like warm feel to them. Filled with old books, various antiques - you can spend a few hours just looking around the rooms! Mary and Miguel are very friendly and will help you with any request. Helped us to phone and reserve other houses. Offered us to leave our luggage while we were driving around Cuba for 2 weeks. On our first night Mary and Miguel brought us out for a small Havana tour and to the very nice restaurant for dinner. Would most definitely recommend to anyone who wants to visit Havana. Joao is the son of Mary and Miguel whom we communicated with before we came to Havana. His English is perfect so if your Spanish is not very good he will answer all the questions and book any trip you might want to do. They have also organised a car rental for us for which we are grateful.They also have internet if you want to send an e-mail or so. Mind you the speed is not the same as you might be used to :) We felt very welcome, safe and enjoyed our stay.
Thank you!!

Room Tip: The main room upstairs is great but be aware of the noisy street if you are a light sleeper. It is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Regisll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have found this casa through Trip Advisor and decided to book it due to the very positive reviews. After having visited different parts of La Habana, I can say this is the most authentic experience. Habana Vieja is indeed a beautiful place to be, as it is under constant renovation. However, our feeling is that this turns the experience less authentic, as every detail there is tourist oriented. Staying in Habana Vieja, insted, turns out to be a great decision. This is where the houses look old and the streets are sometimes crouded with local people living their daily lives. It may look a bit dangerous, specially at night, but believe me: after being in the place for a couple of days, I realized that it was much safer than I ever thought - violence is nonexistent. You are still some 15-20 minutes walking away from Habana Vieja and you could even walk the other way to Nueva Habana (Vedado), where the modern hotels are located. This would take some 30 minutes.

Now the reason why I am awarding this casa the maximum points is what is inside. Mary, Miguel and their son Juan are special people. They are really nice, available and always willing to help. The house is renovated and looks really good. The room is spacious and well lit, with air-con and satisfactory bathroom facilities (which turned out to be way above average for Havana). Breakfast is available and well served. They can even sell you the great local beer (bucanero) to help you get on the right mood this city deserves.

Very recommended. Even though I travelled with a friend, I would also recommend the place for couples. Actually, we met 2 couples staying at this casa at the same time we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabiopinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We had a pleasant stay with Mary and Miguel. Mary and Joao picked us up at the airport, they were on time and very friendly from the beginning. The house is perfectly located in central Havana, all sites can be easily reached by foot. The room (downstairs, close to the kitchen) was clean and we could not hear any noise from the streets, but if other guests or the family are having dinner, watching TV or chatting on the sitting room or kitchen, it does get noisy. It´s also important to say that there is a dog in the house, but he is very friendly and cute!
Breakfast was coffee, bread, butter, omelet, fruits and fresh juice, prepared by an employee not very friendly or attentive ( the best breakfast was on Sunday, when Miguel prepared it himself!)
The whole family was nice, but Miguel was great! He was always available and ready to help with a big smile on his face! Thank you so much Miguel, you are a star!
Overall, we do recommend this house, and we would stay here again.
Mary, Miguel y Joao: Muchas gracias por todo! Suerte siempre!
De sus amigos de Brasil y Alemania.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#40 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#47 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#37 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#26 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mary y Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mary y Miguel

Property: Casa Mary y Miguel
Address: Concordia 57 | e/ Galiano & Aguila, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PAYPAL ACCEPTED. Located in one of the most convenient places in the center of the city, a few meters from the Music House and a short walk from the traditional Havana seafront, the Capital Building, Paseo del Prado, the Fine Arts Museum and Old Havana's Historical Center makes our house the ideal starting point for your tourist visit. NOW OPEN! Our new Cafe Arcangel a European style coffee bar right next door to the Casa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing