We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!”
Review of Casa El Mirador

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa El Mirador
Ranked #67 of 265 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I will be back!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Ideally located between charming Habana Veijo and the hip neighbourhood of Vedado. Great breakfast. Clean bathroom, comfortable room, and it is so pleasant to sit out of the balcony in the evening! Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Napoleonchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
7
58
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geilo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have been four times in this casa, and always enjoyed the stay there. Julio y Isabell are a nice couple who help you with all kind of practical things. I realy enjoyed sitting at the breakfast table, in a nice sitting room, enjoying fresh fruits, fresh juce, omellette and coffee. Casa el Mirador is situated near Malecon, Parque Central and Vedado, about fifteen minutes walking distance from these mentioned Places.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nila266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

During our visit to Havana in December/January we stayed with Julio and Isabel on 2 separate occasions.
They have a lovely home in a fantastic location which enables their guests to experience the real Cuba.
I was attracted by the balconies on the picture and they did not disappoint. It was wonderful to wake-up to the sounds of vibrant Cuba, but even better to be able to watch life go by any time of the day or night.
The rooms are excellent, very clean, modern air conditioning and lots of hot water. Breakfast is perfect, fresh fruit and juice, bread and excellent Cuban coffee. I can’t think of a better way to start the day in Havana than sitting having breakfast in Julio and Isabel’s dining room with the sun streaming in through the balcony doors – just perfect.
The location for us was just right; 5 minutes walk to the Malecon and a nice stroll along the seafront to the centre. Alternatively walk down San Rafael and enjoy real city life and the beautiful old buildings. We often walked around late at night and felt very safe in the main streets. If you would prefer, taxis are always available.
Without a doubt the highlight of the holiday was the genuine hospitality we received from Julio and Isabel. Nothing was a trouble for Julio he arranged taxis, booked restaurants, confirmed Casa’s and most importantly gave us great insight into the Cuban way of life (even Spanish lessons). We will never forget the great evenings drinking Havana Club, eating chocolates and putting the ‘world to rights’ gracias por su amable hospitalidad Allison and Gary

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

What a wonderful experience we had at this Casa. Julio and Isabel were absolutely delightful, helpful and interesting to talk to. After a long day walking through the busy streets of Havana, opening the door to this beautiful home was a quiet, peaceful reprieve. The breakfast available for a mere $3 was substantial and delicious. One of our favourite memories of our Havana trip was our discussion with Julio about everyday life in Havana.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We got to casa el mirador late on a Friday nigh after a long flight, we had such a warm and friendly welcome. Julio and Isabel kindly gave us a pitcher of fresh juice and water. The room was comfortable with a balcony over looking our first view of havana . The casa is a 15 minute walk to central Havana. Julio was so friendly and we would really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanettembw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Casa El Mirador was the first casa particular we stayed in and we found it very pleasant. It is located in central Havana on San Rafael street close to many nice sights of the city. It is an amazing 15 min walk through genuine Havana residential-blocks to the Capitolio-area. And another 10 min walk to old Havana. It is also close to Vedadowith Habana Libre and Hotel Nacional. Our room was cozy and clean. We had a clean private bathroom with hot water. We also had a private balcony overlooking the city life.

When arriving, we were welcomed by english-speaking owner Julio who made us amazing pineapple juice. The breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit, cuban coffee, eggs, fruit-juice and bread. Julio gave us advice about the city and sights worth-seeing and told us how to how to get there. He also helped us order a taxi when leaving Havana.

We had a lovely stay in Casa El Mirador and we recommend this casa to anyone going to Havana. It really is amazing value and you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was first casa in Cuba and by far the best. It is in a perfect location for seeing the highlights in Havana. The breakfast was fabulous and I highly recommend you have it when you stay there. Julio was very friendly and knowledgeable. His travel advice was invaluable. We had some laundry done for us and it was such a delight! Folded too :) Great room with a private bathroom and little fridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
4.2 mi away
Be Live Havana City Copacabana
1.1 mi away
Casa La Floridana
Casa La Floridana
#79 of 265 in Havana
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Natacha
Casa Natacha
#172 of 688 in Havana
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa Particular de la Dra Flora Roca
0.3 mi away
B&B Central Havana
B&B Central Havana
#20 of 688 in Havana
278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Vieja
Hostal Casa Vieja
#55 of 265 in Havana
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa El Mirador

Property: Casa El Mirador
Address: San Rafael 752, 2nd Floor | between Oquendo y Marques Gonzalez, Centro Habana, Havana 10300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 265 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We rent two wide and ventilated rooms with a double bed, and the possibility of adding another personal one; the room has air condition, private bathroom with cold water and heat 24 hours, refrigerator, TV and telephone. It has access to an independent balcony from which the sea is sighted. The price is 25 CUC the night, and doesn't include breakfast. Cuban delicious foods are offered. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing