We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Ranked #3 of 698 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location and family”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Casa Maura is a great place to stay in Havana. We stayed there 2 nights mid-July. It's centrally located and it's only a short walk to the old city. The rooms are in the back of the house. They are spacious and clean and because they are in the back, you are not bothered by street noise. The place is very safe. You can lock up your room if you want, but it's truly not necessary.
Maura and her family are very friendly and warm people. Breakfast is excellent. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AurelieCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
It has been very pleasant to have them in my house, thank you for their opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    59
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
113
523
134
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

It was our first time in Cuba so it was really comforting to know that we were being met at the airport in Havana by taxi driver who was a friend of Maura's. When we arrived the queue to change money was very long so Maura's friend quickly whisked us to the first floor where there was a second teller without a queue and then she helped translate for us! Maura's place was great. We stayed for 2 nights (would have stayed longer but she was booked up). The room was lovely, comfortable, clean and safe and had its own bathrooom. Like others have said the breakfasts were great too! The location is fantastic for exploring La Habana Vieja on foot where many of the interesting attractions are. The best thing was Maura's friendliness and the hospitality of her whole family. Whilst we were there the Havana Biennial was on and Maura's daughter and friends took me and my daughter to the exhibition at El Morro which was just wonderful and we appreciated it so much! Maura's tips and recommendations also helped us understand what to expect for example the restaurants she recommended were excellent and great value so it was easy for us to know what sort of standard to expect elsewhere. We had 2 more days in Havana, Maura wasn't able to accommodate us on those days so recommended her friend Graciella and Vladimir's place which was a short distance away. The accommodation was not quite as nice as Maura's but it was comfortable and safe and once again Graciella and Vladimir (her son) were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay with them too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for their opinion, my daughter enjoys much of your daughter's company in the biennial of arts of Havana, unfortunately I could not offer them more time in my house because already had reserved the rooms.
I am very happy because they felt well in my house.

Thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK Eurocrat in Brussels
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Casa Maura is just perfect for tired Havana travellers. Very central location a 5 min stroll away from the Museo de la Revolucion and the Capitolio. NB: As with all casas in Cuba, ignore the slightly delapidated exterior of the building, which gives little away as to the pearl of a B&B on the second floor. The casa itself and its location are perfectly safe (as is most of Havana; don't confuse tatty architecture with crime!)

The room is air conditioned and with an extra (silent) ceiling fan if the heat really blows you away. The bathroom is stunning (a real bath too, not just a shower!) and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is lovely and varied, and she charged us 1 CUC less for our breakfasts because we didn't have any meat, which I thought was a typically kind gesture. Maura can also arrange taxis to and from the airport as long as you e-mail her well in advance with your flight numbers and ETA. Although the e-mail traffic for reserving the room works fine in English, please be aware it's much easier to speak even basic Spanish with Maura and her family when you're there, so just learn the basic phrases of anything you're going to need her to do and all will be plain sailing. However, whatever the language you're using, expect a very warm and professional welcome. This casa amply merits the warm reviews from other visitors. Thank you Maura!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tango_tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
You are very kind with your opinion, me only treatment that you feel the best thing possible in my house and learn how to enjoy their trip for Cuba, it satisfies me a lot that you are pleased with their stay in my house.

Thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in late May. The family is lovely and the accomodation is clean and comfortable. We had our own shower/bath and felt safe leaving our belongings in the care of Maura's home.Great location to explore the Old Havana. We just wish we spoke spanish as we felt we could have taken a lot more out of our stay. Would highly reccommend you pay the extra for the breakfast ($2pp per day). Maura makes a tasty omelette and the fresh pineapple juice is to die for.Thanks to Maura and her son, Orlando for being so warm and helpful for our short stay. Also, Maura can arrange for a cab to pick you up from the airport. It was very reassuring to know that there was someone to pick you up and also knowing you are not going to get ripped off. Maura, we hope you liked the Gin! Thanks again :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SydneyInga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you, I apologize for not commenting your opinion before, but it is never late to be appreciated the kind thing that you write of us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortola
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

You'll receive a very warm welcome from Maura and her family. From the minute you arrive Maura makes you feel at ease in her lovely Casa Particular. We were staying four nights visiting Havana and it was very important that our accommodation was safe, clean and comfortable. It was all of that and more. Nothing is too much trouble for all the family. The all you can eat and drink breakfasts stand you in good stead for all that sightseeing. Don't miss it! The location is brilliant and we loved strolling up the Prado. Maura gave good sensible advice that is common sense for any tourist, basically don't flaunt expensive items such as jewellery or cameras. We didn't experience any trouble at all even at the local bars for a late night drink. On our last breakfast the family even went to the trouble of getting my husband a birthday cake!! Thank you Maura and your lovely family for all your help and even improving my Spanish a little. Well done.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for their opinion, it is very kind

thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stayed for a week with Maura and her family and we loved it. Her breakfasts are wonderful, and we loved our room, really great shower too. Maura also helped us plan the rest of our trip, arranging other casas for us in Vinales and Trinidad, her recommendations were all excellent. The house is very well situated next to Habana Vieja and the Malecon, but easy to get to Vedado and Habana Centro when you want a break from tourism central! We will be going back to Maura's the next trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JJS-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
You are very kind with your opinion, it satisfies me a lot that you are pleased with their stay in my house.
Thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Located within easy walking distance of Havana Viejo, the Malacon and the popular shopping street, Obispo, the home of Maura's friends also on Refugio was a perfect location for our first visit to Havana, Maura, unfortunately could not accommodate us and a couple of friends during the Easter week so she reserved two rooms for us at the home of Teresa & Justo and their lovely family. Our room was clean and simple, the bathroom was fine, even if it took a few minutes to figure out how hot water operated in the shower!!!! Our hosts were very friendly, giving us lots of advice on what to do and not to do, places to visit. Thanks to them we were able to hire a car, etc. Breakfast was a feast with lots of colourful fruit, breads, coffee, tea and it was also a nice time to have a conversation with Justo. Speaking Spanish is an advantage if you want to learn a little more about the Cuban way of everyday life! Thank you Teresa, Justo and your daughter for all you did for us, it was greatly appreciated. A big kiss to the little one. Et bonne continuation!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Patricia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for their opinion, it is very kind

thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
5.6 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
5.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maura Habana Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maura Habana Vieja

Property: Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Address: Refugio No.104, apto N 2 | e/Prado y Morro, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 698 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House apartment in the Old Havana, near the Havanan Prado, the area with more night life in the country, full with history. From Casa Maura can visit any point of the Old Havana on foot, the Capitol, the Walk of the Prado, the Palace of Bellas arts, the Bodeguita del medio, the Cathedral of Havana, dozens of museums, restaurants, coffee, bars, where you can test the flavorful mojito or the refreshing daiquiri. We offer you comfortable, very clean rooms, security, with air conditioning, fan, private bathroom, plugs for 110 volt and 220 volt. You can enjoy the coexistence together with our family respecting your privacy in all moment. We offer you breakfast, cocktels, slight food, has dinner in the house, laundry, ironing of clothes, massages with specialists, classes of dances, service of taxis, walk in old cars or in cars thrown by horses, everything for people approved legally, agreeing the price directly among you and those that give him this service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing