We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Casa in Cuba” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Maura Habana Vieja

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Ranked #4 of 690 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best Casa in Cuba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at Casa Maura at the beginning and end of a three-week trip in Cuba. It was easily the best Casa we stayed in.

Maura was very prompt when we first emailed her, confirming two days in her Casa at each end of our travels. She was not able to accommodate us for all four days we requested at the end of our trip, but took it upon herself to find nearby accommodations. Later we received an email to explain the secondary Casa was no longer available and she made an alternate suggestion. These concerns were above and beyond her responsibility, but are indicative of Maura’s caring personality.

Our room had comfortable twin beds, with good AC and was pristinely clean. The bathroom was a good size, looked relatively new, and had an excellent shower.

Maura’s breakfast was the best we experienced in Cuba, and was excellent value.

Maura is a very friendly lady, with a nice family. She enjoys meeting people, as well as seeing her guests find common interests, as we did one morning with a Chilean couple, and another with a UK couple. Maura gave us a number of excellent restaurant recommendations, as well has helped locate our daily destinations on our map.

We look forward to returning to Cuba in the near future and will definitely be hoping to book in with Casa Maura.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CedricGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi D&A:

Thank you for your opinion, you are very kind, we enjoy the short time that you/they were with us, a lot we had also wanted the last 4 nights, but I am sure that they will return.
When I don't have readiness, always treatment of giving an alternative from another neighboring house to mine, because I know the difficult thing that it is to find them for internet,
CASA MAURA will always have the open doors, you know that this it is your house in Cuba.

A hug
Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    914
    58
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
105
508
131
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in feb and it was one of our famous casas in Cuba!
The breakfast was very good and Maura is very friendly and helpful. Thank you so much for the mosquitospray, my pain had an end!
Thank you for the perfect stay in Havanna, we will come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinschen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Hello

Thank you for your opinion, we enjoy the time that were with us, a lot we wait that they can return soon to Havana, to your house, CASA MAURA, they will always be well received.

A hug

maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed for four days last month. It was everything that people had raved about on TA. Maura is the most personable and helpful person, plus her breakfasts are wonderful with fresh squeezed juices. Compare to the place that we stayed in one night nearby (no toilet seat!) Maura's casa is a breath of fresh air. She also helped to arrange a car to pick us up at the airport and for reservations. The casa is just east of the Prado, so you can walk up to the Malecon or down to Parque Centrale (and over to Obispo).

Please note that this building has an elevator which a lot of casas do not have. Although it's only on the second floor, it really helps with heavy luggage.
I almost forgot to mention that the bed mattresses are excellent as she has them resprung for comfort. The other casa had a mattress that was soft and lumpy -- something that really matters, but hard to find mention of in the reviews.

You should book early as her three rooms are pretty much full in peak times and then you would have to stay somewhere else!
Although she has slipped to no.6 for that one review that I blame on the poster, I am sure she will be back on top soon.

Room Tip: May be the first room is the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DUHCAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hiiiii:
Hello thank you for your opinion, you are very kind, for all that you write of us and of our house.
We enjoy the time that you/they were at CASA MAURA, a lot I hope soon they can come again to Cuba and to be again in your house in Havana

A hug from The habana

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This accommodation was cleaner, had a better shower and provided a better breakfast than any of the three hotels (costing 7 or 8 times as much, per night). Maura has good English and is so willing to be helpful, phoning friends to find alternate beds when she was full and arranging taxis. The outstanding thing is the cleanliness. We arrived back during the day to find her and her team vacuuming the beds at change-over. European white walls. Change of tablecloth as newcomers arrive for breakfast. Only down side is that there are only three beds. Book early!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidDayWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your opinion, although it is exaggerated a little that is better than a hotel, although we make an effort so that everybody who is at CASA MAURA, be in family, without concerns, everybody who comes to my house it is to enjoy the stay, with positive spirit, we help them in everything.
For us it is very important the trust that have us, all our guests.
Thank you, you will always be welcome at Home Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Maura is the perfect hostess; arranging day trips, taxis etc., while constantly ensuring our comfort and happiness. Her casa is scrupulously clean and well maintained. (She re-paints the entire house every 3 months.) As Maura says: 'my home isn't a palace but I want my guests to be happy here.' That just about sums it up. The surrounding area is very ramshackle (as is most of Havana) but the location of the apartment could not be more convenient or safe. Her arrangements for pick up at the airport on arrival went smoothly, which was a huge relief after some of the stories we had been told. On the last day Maura let us keep our room as long as we wanted which was so helpful as we had a late evening flight. No rigid check out times at Maura's!

Room Tip: All 3 are similar. Two with double beds and the back room with 2 singles. Hot showers in all bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hello Chris

Thank you for your opinion, all that you write, is what I am about making with my guests, be at HOME MAURA, how their own house and us their family, where they can trust us that we will always help them in all that we can.
I hope soon they can come again to Cuba and to be again in your house in Havana

Thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denekamp, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our first stay of 3 nights in Havana at Casa Maura was very good; the location of the Casa in Habana Vieja is excellent to visit the most interesting places at walking distance, the room and bathroom/toilet were very clean and comfortable, the breakfast is complete and good.
Maura is very kind and helps you with all you need in a strange country, like a next adres for a Casa Particulara.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi:
Thank you for your opinion, I value the time that you have dedicated to write on us, a lot but we had liked you to detail in what we can improve for a maximum qualification on your behalf.
Our objective is to improve our service more and more, alone I know that you wanted that we gave dinner, but our house is a B&B (breakfast and bed), we don't also want to remove the pleasure to my guests of enjoying to have dinner in the dozens of restaurants that we have very close, for the different likes and prices.
Thank you, you will always be welcome at Home Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Maura was extremely helpful even before we reached her casa by organising our taxi from the airport. When we arrived she lent us money as the queues to change currency at the airport were horrendous and told us just to pay it back when we had been to the bank. Our room was simple and spotlessly clean - as was the whole house. The en-suite shower room was one of the best we had in Cuba and there was always plenty of hot water. Breakfast was freshly prepared fruit juice and plates of fruit, breads, jams, eggs, yoghurt, coffee ... and more. And Maura worried that we did not eat enough! She and her family looked after us and gave us good advice and places to go and local events in her interesting city. We stayed with Maura at the beginning and end of our trip to Cuba and would have no hesitation in going back again. Maura is a very loving and caring person.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your opinion, I know that in occasions in the house of currency change in the airport have many people and gets lost a lot of time, and they generally come after a very long, tired trip, for that reason ifor my it is a pleasure to be able to help my guests and to lend money so that they pay the taxi and their expenses the first night.
We enjoy the time that you/they were at HOME MAURA a lot,

a hug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
5.8 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
5.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maura Habana Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maura Habana Vieja

Property: Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Address: Refugio No.104, apto N 2 | e/Prado y Morro, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 690 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House apartment in the Old Havana, near the Havanan Prado, the area with more night life in the country, full with history. From Casa Maura can visit any point of the Old Havana on foot, the Capitol, the Walk of the Prado, the Palace of Bellas arts, the Bodeguita del medio, the Cathedral of Havana, dozens of museums, restaurants, coffee, bars, where you can test the flavorful mojito or the refreshing daiquiri. We offer you comfortable, very clean rooms, security, with air conditioning, fan, private bathroom, plugs for 110 volt and 220 volt. You can enjoy the coexistence together with our family respecting your privacy in all moment. We offer you breakfast, cocktels, slight food, has dinner in the house, laundry, ironing of clothes, massages with specialists, classes of dances, service of taxis, walk in old cars or in cars thrown by horses, everything for people approved legally, agreeing the price directly among you and those that give him this service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing