We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Retreat”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The rooms where huge with lovely high ceilings and gave a quiet retreat in the centre of old Havana. Complete with resident peacock family (just watch you step when you come out of your room in case of a present left by them!!) Restaurant is OK, nothing superb but clean, cool and edible food!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cadders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Dear frinds

We want say thank you for such beautiful opinions of our service.

King regards

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    88
    38
    17
    12
See reviews for
31
120
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This place is like a haven- forget the grand hotels on the plaza, this hotel is a real gem. With only 9 rooms it is a boutique hotel with a very tranquil atmosphere in a beautiful setting. Our room was enormous and nicely decorated with a huge bathroom and separate changing area. The breakfast was delicious and sitting in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by plants and peacocks was a great way to eat it! The hotel allowed us to leave a lot of stuff in their storage while we were touring for a fortnight before coming back at a negligible price. Forget the best place to stay in Havana, this was our favourite accommodation in Cuba!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 459SA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear guest:

We are very grateful for you for such a sublime opinion of our hotel and our service. We are flattered and also exhorts us to continue improving our daily work.

Fraternally

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for our first 3 nights in Havana and thought it was great! The courtyard is very grand and our room was excellent. It is also one of the better places to buy cigars in Havana. Location wise it is perfect as well. The breakfast wasn't amazing but not bad for Cuba standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ajenks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Dear Mr. Jenkins:

We appreciate your honest opinion. And we invite you on your next visit to share with us another good cigar. Write us and we'll agree.

Thank you very much

Regards,

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed at Hostal Conde de Villanueva for a couple of nights as part of my holiday trip around Cuba and this place is just what a discerning traveller needs.
The location (two blocks away from Plaza de las palomas and Plaza vieja) is just fabulous, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the cigar shop is a jewel for cigar connoisseurs and cigar lovers, Joel the cigar sommelier is an asset to the team in the shop.
overall the place is clean, beautiful and fairly priced, would come back.
the only downside to it would be the air conditioning in the room on the corner of the place, it can be a bit disturbing at night for those with a light sleep.

Room Tip: request a quiet room, any problems should be communicated to the staff, they're very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks friend Daniel
Our hotel has the pleasure to have friends like you, that help us to be better every day in our service and want to thank you and ask you if you visit, honor us with your presence.

Thank you very much.

King regards,

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have recently travelled to Havana and Conde de Villanueva, situated in the heart of Havana vieja, was my choice of Hotel. From the beginning to the very end of my stay everything was very good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful ( specially Jenny a the front of house desk - always happy to help ). The room was spacious and clean, sometimes a bit noisy but you need to consider the location - there is always someone wondering in the streets of havana. Restaurant had nice selection of wines and food was always good, was attentive and knowledgable about their products. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for something nice with no fuzz to make their stay in Havana pleasurable.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quite room and there will be no problem with this what so ever. Also if you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in Hostal Conde de Villanueva for the first five days of our trip to cuba and we cannot recommend it enough!
Unfortunately Air Cubana managed to lose our baggage and the hotel staff were really helpful in assisting us by calling the airport several times a day. The breakfast is fab and the rooms are very traditional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lynchp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Client:

Thank you very much for your kind opinion. It was a pleasure for us to serving you.

Happy and prosperous 2016 !!!!!

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A lovely hotel in a great position. It's got a pretty courtyard with three beautiful resident peacocks that strut around with a very cute cat (we had no problem at all with noise). Breakfast was average but still better than nothing. And the room was huge (three single beds) and spotlessly clean. It was great to come back to a cool, dark room after the hot Havana sun. Also recommend La Giraldilla restaurant and the fabulous guy Chapo who entices guests with his fabulous smile.

Room Tip: Upstairs room was spacious and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katandra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
700 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#30 of 78 in Havana
191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#39 of 78 in Havana
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde de Villanueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde de Villanueva

Property: Hotel Conde de Villanueva
Address: Calle Mercaderes 202, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Havana
#20 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Conde de Villanueva 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Conde de Villanueva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Conde De Villanueva Hotel Havana
Hostal Conde De Villanueva Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing