We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
36
140
101
35
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
140
101
35
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral squareold havanagreat positionplazaviejaplumbingacmalecon
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Booking hotels on the internet can be quite daunting and I didn't want to spoil what was to be a great holiday by booking a crap hotel in Havana. I got lucky! It seemed that everyone had heard of Del Tajadillo - so it was very easy to find. Just off Cathedral Square the central location was perfect and the Bar served the best Mojito's in town together with the obligatory band!! The room was lovely although it had no windows. The bathroom was ok if you put the light on ten minutes before you wanted to use it - not quite sure how good the plumbing actually was as the sink did wobble quite a bit but this is a very old building and no corners were square. The bed was comfy and the air con wasn't quite as loud as the mini bar fridge! The one disconcerting thing we found in the room was a door - which led - nowhere! I have suggested they find the key and lock it! Breakfast was good, can't comment on dinner as we found a fantastic little restaurant a couple of streets away - but thats another review.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Our room was nice and big with a kitchenette, plates, cups, etc., but that was about the nicest thing. After a big rain, our water was brown for a while and then we did not have any hot water. I ended up getting $50 stolen from me, and the staff tried to charge us for soda in our room that we supposedly drank.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aks426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Centrally located, the service was mixed with some staff being extremely friendly while others were unfriendly at best.

Breakfast is okay but the evening food for dinner is not comparable to some of the better restaurants around Havana...

The rooms arent terribly well sound proofed as one of the evenings we were kept awake until close to 7am with our rather drunk neighbours having a bit of a party which would have been fine if we werent leaving the next day.

Rooms are a lovely size and more than adequate. The receptionist (perhaps by accident) looked to overcharge us by quite a bit on the minibar when checking out.

This was in addition to some items going missing from our fridge and the hotel tried to charge us, again, perhaps a genuine mistake but perhaps not. Once we brought this up with the manager the issue was rectified.

Room Tip: Aesthetically a nice hotel with variable service levels.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in total, 2 before going to holguin and 1 before flying back to UK.
Staff was very polite, professional and friendly. Location is excellent, close to everything. It is a very Cuban hotel (not like many other hotels around) so you really feel like you are in Cuba, very traditional decor, probably one of the most looked after building in the area, rest of them seems to fall apart. Rooms were clean and huge and for last night we were upgraded to suite which was very big, I give 4 stars just because they really need to improve the breakfast (I know cuban food is not the best and have accepted it) but there is no choice, same eggs every morning with one slice of ham and one slice of cheese with horrible mango juice and coffee (not other drink options) and few mini dried pastries. This was the only negative thing about the place. If you go to the bar to have few drinks beware of the band that sits there as soon as you stay for a drink they start singing and playing music for you and don't let you leave until you give them some tip, which is pretty much in most of the restaurants as well but at least there are more people in other restaurants so you don't feel pressured.
Other tips: don't buy cigars from the barmen they are fake and whoever said cigars are the same price in the airport on the way back was lying as cigar prices are double in the airport and hotels compare to the shops in havana, so if you are planning to buy some get some in Havana before going home. Also when you use cabs (american cars) have exact amount to pay as they all say "they don' have change". Generally I would disagree that cuban people are friendly as people in hospitality are not friendly as they get tips anyway and they are so tired of tourists and the only people who smile are the ones who straight after smiling hand out their hand and beg for money (everyone is beggin in Havana and comes up to you to ask for pesos).

Overall I definitely recommend the hotel if you want Cuban experience and not to stay in a hotel where you feel you could be in any country.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room as the main street is very noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diantssdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent a total of 5 nights here at the beginning and end of a tour. This small hotel is in a fabulous location at the rear of the cathedral. Both times our rooms were large and clean. The only problem we had was the lack of light. Neither room had windows and in the first there was no natural light at all even though it faced a courtyard. Hard to believe but this led to us having trouble waking in the mornings. Internet was not working one of the times we were there. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night. Both service and food was good. Hot water took a while to run. Hotel is in a very narrow pedestrianised street meaning we had to bring luggage from the next street. Even with the few problems we would recommend this hotel due to its location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with some natural light.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews