We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Comendador
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint and comfortable”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel and the adjoining Valencia are restored old Havana buildings in the Spanish Style. Our room was clean spacious and comfortable - the shower and bath seemed rather antiquated but worked. We arrived late after the restaurant closed but the chef stayed on to produce an adequate chicken paella. No problems with noise or water. Only criticism was slow service at breakfast - everything has to be ordered and brought from kitchen and when everyone comes at once they cannot cope.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pleinmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here for Three nights at the end of our tour. The room are quite large and very comfortable you will get a good sleep. The bathroom is large but if you are tall you will struggle to have a shower as the ceiling is very low, I am only 5ft 10 and struggled. The hotel is right in the center of old Havana so its a good location.Its not the best place in Havana but it depends how far your budget will go.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CoventryCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We booked at the Hostal Valencia but changed to El Comendadeur because of the noise and outdated bathrooms. The hostals are connected, and you can only notice the difference by the color of the paint. It rained one night, and our room at the back sidw was flooded, because the water from the balcony (about one centimeter higher than the room's floor) went underneath the door (there was ample room). A nasty experience I can tell you. Too much money (USD 170) for all this.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were switched to this Hostal by our agency (Cuba Travel Network) for 2 nights since the A/C at the other hotel did not work. This hostal is actually run by the Valencia, so we checked in through the reception of the Valencia, we ate at the Valencia and actuallly never used the reception of the Comendador which is small and not open very often. Anything we needed, we asked at the Valencia, so it all worked out great for us.

The hostal was quiet so I am not sure why other reviewers found it so loud, and I am very sensitive to noise... There was music from the restaurant below but it did not last late in the night and with the A/C on we barely heard anything. The hostal was also definitely not smelly...and being pregnant 27 weeks when I was there, I would have smelled it! I mean this is Old Habana, so of course you'll get drift from exhaust and all sorts of street smells, everything you can expect from a big crowded older city...but really nothing terrible IN the hotel.

The room was also quite nice, we liked this style better than the colonial one from Hotel Raquel (where the AC did not work). My boyfriend had to be careful not to bump his head on the low ceiling and in the shower but he still really liked this hostal. We got a view on a nice garden, which is probably one of the nicest view you can get from a hotel in Old Havana. Also, after having to walk around all of the roadwork around Hotel Raquel, it was a relief that the streets around this hotel were quieter and did not have as much construction.

This is a very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hmmoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel gave my wife and I a good first impression. It is situated in a quaint old building at the eastern (fort-side) edge of Old Havana. The lobby is tastefully decorated, and the rooms are situated off an internal courtyard, around an attractive looking dining area.

The standard double room we had was nicely decorated, with the low ceiling beams, metal bed frame, and old metal bath tub adding character. It was clean and quite spacious. We had a view facing east towards a garden. Sadly, however, our stay did not live up to expectations.

The roof is too low to stand up in the bath so I could not take a shower. I was obliged to take a bath and use up all the hot water. The receptionist was friendly but spent too much time trying to get us to go to his friend’s restaurant for dinner or organize us a cab rather than telling us information of more use – such as the fact the front door is bolted early in the evening and you can only gain access through the neighbouring Valencia hotel; or that breakfast is also served only in the Valencia. That said, you are better off if you don’t find the breakfast room. The buffet was meagre and consisted of a range of very bizarre food items, many looking as if they were leftovers from last night’s dinner – obscure, unidentifiable fried food, pink cakes and small, desiccated triangles of bread. I had some mediocre muesli and weak, almost undrinkable coffee; my wife found some scraps of cheese.

Worst of all was the sleep quality. People enjoying the bar in the courtyard made a lot of noise that permeated through the thin wooden room door; to give us “stereo” sound the windows were ill-fitting with thin glass panes and we got a lot of street noise. At 2 am we were woken by petrol fumes in the room that felt like they were choking us. We’d noticed a similar smell at lower levels earlier in our stay. It was unclear where the fumes came from but next morning we found an entrance to a garage just below our window which may have been the source.

We plan to go back to Havana but, needless to say, we will not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_voyagerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here the first nights as a starting point of my Cuba trip. Characteristic hotel which is fairly central located. Friendly staff, clean and decent rooms and safe environment. Don't expect great luxury, but as a basis for your city trip through Havanna, it's perfect!

Tip: for sightseeing the city use one of the official (certificated) guides. We were guided around by a horse-drawn carriage. What a way to explore the city of Havanna!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sjakie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights in Hostel El Comendador. The building is very old and beautiful, with open terraces and large wooden doors. The staff was friendly and helpful. On a good note, we were able to see a traditional building with much charachter. The room we were in (number 14), had a nice view of a beautiful small garden, with the water in the distance. I believe this room likely had the best view. It also had an outdoor balcony which was nice for viewing the street and garden. There is a mini-bar in the room stocked with beer, wine, water, and soft drinks with reasonable prices. We had minor issues with power outages - a staff member came up immediately both times and corrected the problem. The toilet would not stop itself up and fill with water, so we jiggled under the lid to make it stop. We never reported the toilet problem because we didn't think it was a big deal for our short stay. The bath is a large old style tub with a more modern showerhead you could use to spray yourself with if you preferred showering. It was a little awkward trying to shower with it and not get the bathroom wet, but it was an interesting and fun experience. The hotel breakfast was almost inedible. There were small pancakes with flies swarming around, cold eggs, and the milk was old, but there was bread and a toaster and you could always choose to have coffee with no milk. There are both 110v and 220v outlets in the room, but they require a different style plug than what is used in many places. The Front Desk happily charged our camera batteries at no cost. The hotel was around some interesting buildings, but we found that the most fun areas were near the Capitolio, which was a good 20 minute walk from this hotel. The Police are very astute and helpful to tourists. We definitely enjoyed our experience in this hotel, but next time will look for something closer to the Capitolio area. On a different note, if you want to enjoy traditional Cuban music and Mojitos, don't miss Bar Monserrate while in Havana!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank csatlanta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#41 of 79 in Havana
316 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#36 of 79 in Havana
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#15 of 79 in Havana
707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Comendador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Comendador

Property: Hotel El Comendador
Address: Calle Obrapia 55, esq a Baratillo, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Comendador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Gaviota Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Comendador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Comendador Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing