We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room. 2 queens sized beds and 1 more bed in alcove.”
Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Havana
NY NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Huge room. 2 queens sized beds and 1 more bed in alcove.”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Fabulous buffet breakfast. Omelet chef does a great job. Pure luxury. Largest outdoor pool I have ever seen. I liked this hotel very much. Lobby is gorgeous. Huge rooms. Comfortable beds and fluffy terry cloth robes. Highly recommend. Went with a group, so I did not choose this hotel. I have stayed at Melia hotels in Spain. However, this one was just beautiful and was a wonderful choice of the group leader. Very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artmuseumgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Artmuseumgoer,

Thank you very much for your words and for taking part of your time to let us know your impressions about our hotel.

It is nice to know that we were able to cover your expectations and we hope to receive you again and to meet you personally.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,623
    1,294
    464
    96
    83
See reviews for
602
1,399
201
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed 20 years ago and come back to the hotel to my entire satisfaction.
It is true that I stayed at the Royal Club in a corner room(junior suite) and that makes a different. Our hostess at the Club: MAGNIFICENT !!
Breakfast: EXCELLENT !,
Lobby and Bar area: GREAT !
The Casa del Habano: very good and if you want the best; go to Melia Habana as I did.
Besides some minor problems with energy, air conditioners and the pillows wich are good for Tarzan to sleep, tthe rest works almost to perfection.

Room Tip: Directly to a corner room in the Royal Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enriquedemarchena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Mr. Enriquedemarchena,

Thank you very much for letting us know your opinion about Melia Cohiba Hotel. It is nice to know that you enjoyed of a good stay among us.

Regarding the problem that you mentioned about air conditioners, let me inform you that it must have been a specific problem, which we would have liked to know during your stay.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to receive you again in a near future.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a holiday in Caya Coco at the Melia Caya Coco where we had an enjoyable two weeks. While there we decided to fly to Havana to experience the fantastic city.
A representative recommended this hotel as being the best in Havana for comfort and location.
Our trip was all that we hoped for but the hotel was not! The hotel was very large and flashy. Our room was quite acceptable with sea views although my bed ( part of two ) had only three legs.
Everything was chargable inluding the coffee in the room. The prices for drinks and food were very high and the food, apart from the Italian Restaurant was very poor. A salad with no dressing £8.00 at lunch.
Our breakfast was a total disaster. The dining room was full. We shared a table with a German flight crew and none of us was served with a cup of coffee - although we had asked three times- for about twenty minutes. This was a buffet which had run out of most choices of food by 09.15. We had to find our own cutlery and cups and all the staff ignored requests.
We tried to change an English £20.00 at reception and were totally amazed when he held it up to the light and asked if we had a less creased one at which point we decided to change anything back in our own hotel as we had been doing with no problem all holiday.
Our final problem arose when we needed a taxi to the airport at 03.45 on our second morning-we were offered coffee as we were not staying for our second breakfast but declined. The concierge kindly booked our wake up call and booked a taxi for us the day before and confirmed this by sending a typed confirmation to the room.
Sadly the following morning after our wake up call and waiting in the reception lounge no taxi arrived. We spoke to the reception desk who were totally unaware of anthing and asked where the confirmation letter had come from! We found our own taxi outside outside the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachel1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Mrs. rachel1223,

I’m sincerely thankful to receive your comments about your stay in our Hotel. This helps us to keep working hard to offer our clients the distinction they deserve.

We are taking notes about all the details you wrote in your review, which we would have liked to know during your stay. Anyway, you can be sure that we are going to analyze them with our staff, in order to avoid our guests feel bad among us.

We regret we haven’t been able to cover your expectations and we would like you to accept our apologizes for all those inconveniences. We hope that in spite of your experience, you can give us a confidence vote and keep us inform of a future visit to Havana. I’d really appreciate it.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

It is classified as a 5 star hotel. Well, compared to other ones it can be. It is a big building with some services around and also in the building. The most important thing: Come with low expectations. I will go straight to the point:

Breakfast: good variety and very well served. Good quality food.
Rooms: Enough space, good amenities, hair dryer, flat iron, comfortable bed, nice view and good towels.
Internet: Wi-Fi is too expensive. US$ 16 for 2 hours! It does not work well in your rooms but at the VIP Reception counter it is fast.
Front desk: helpful and friendly
Location: It faces the ocean but there is no beach.

Room Tip: Free shuttle service to take you to the Military Ceremony at the main fort. It is important to keep...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LRLUCAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Mr. LRLUCAS,

I really appreciate that you let us know your point of view about your stay in our hotel.

I have been reading your comments and I’m glad to know you had a nice stay among us.

About your comment that the hotel needs investments, let me inform you that we are making some reforms in the air conditioning, furniture, and we are also planning to change the elevators this year, all with the objective of offering our guests a product to the height they deserve.

We hope to see you in your next visit to Havana. It will be a pleasure to receive you again with the excellence you deserve.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. While it is seemingly one of the best in La Havana, please don’t expect a lot. They do accept cards but none that have to do with US Banks. There is a small exchange office near the reception area that will take your dollars. Again, staff members are friendly and do their best to make your stay a great one. Rooms are large; air conditioning units are noisy and rarely cool the place, pillows are stained with who knows what and the sheets are made of the curtain materials. Bed bugs are often present in all rooms. Channels on the TV are limited and you only get 1 hr of free internet. Connection is so bad that you may spend the entire hour trying to download one webpage. I think the 18th and 19th floors have in room routers. Pool is awesome and so is the pizza and outside pool restaurants. Breakfast is nice I must say too. I have never been under the weather because of the food I’ve eater there. The area surrounding the hotel and the ‘malecon’ is fit for running. Gym is a bit dated and machines need WD40.

Room Tip: Ask for Standard Guest floors that overlook the Malecon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank O_SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear O_SanJose,

First of all, thank you very much for letting us know your impressions about our Hotel Melia Cohiba. This is an opportunity to improve our standards in order to offer our guest the excellence service they deserve.

We are taking note about all the details you wrote in your review and I’m deeply sorry for all the inconveniences you had. We would have liked to know these dissatisfactions during your stay, which would have helped to make you enjoy a better stay among us.

Thank you again for letting us know and we hope that in spite of these difficulties we have the opportunity to have you back at our hotel.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

For first timers, the location is outside the main tourist drag of Old Havana. It is opposite the Malecon(long board walk on the coast of Havana). There is a large breakfast hall with a broad choice of options, but generally average quality ingredients. Internet connectivity(14 CUC per hour) on the higher floors is non-existent and you will have to to the lobby to get access. Gym opens early and is well equipped with weights and aerobic equipment. Glad to hear that they are putting some money into the hotel, it was a little worn when I was last there in May.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dover C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Dover C,

I would like to thank you for publishing your comments about our hotel. It is very important four our daily work, to know the opinions of our guests.

About the location of our hotel, let me inform you that we have a free service of a shuttle available for our clients to visit the Old Havana, which has different frequencies in the morning and in the afternoon.

Once again, thank you very much for letting us know and we hope to receive you again in a near future.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My family and I spent a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time. The rooms were really nice, clean, surprisingly big, and I was lucky to have a gorgeous view of the Malecon. The breakfast buffet was pretty extensive and the Italian restaurant in the hotel is excellent.

The pool is great and wraps around a small island. It feels like a resort. We spent most of our afternoons there....which was much needed as the Havana night life especially during the Havana Jazz festival is too much fun to go to bed. Fortunately, the pool chaise lounges are amazingly comfortable!

I would definitely go back to this hotel and cannot wait to visit Havana again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leilevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Leilevi,

It is very important for our daily performance to receive your valuable opinion about our service. Thank you very much for letting us know.

Our clients and theirs satisfaction are our reason of being and that’s why we fight for every day. We will let our staff knows about your review, this will contribute for sure to continue offering the careful service which make you always come back.

We will really appreciate you could let us know about a future visit to Havana when we are sure you will receive the excellent service that has always distinguished us. It will be a pleasure to receive you again in Meliá Cohiba.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
3.2 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 79 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Property: Melia Cohiba
Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Cohiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing