We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Havanas Best”
Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The Melia Cohiba must be the best and most modern hotel in all of Cuba. The rooms are huge and the bathrooms are luxurious. We had a very large clean bed, a great view from the giant windows which wrapped the room and a jacuzzi/hot tub in the bathroom. Wifi is available in your room but I believe you would need to pay to get a login. Services downstairs were great. Our concierge booked us a paladar for our evening meal as I wasn't confident booking it for myself in Spanish. The cigar shop was very good, informative and reasonably priced.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank RicardoGoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Mr. RicardoGoncalves,

I really appreciate your comments about our Hotel and I would like to thank you for publishing on TripAdvisor.

If you decide to return in a near future, please, let me know. I would like to thank you personally.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,010 - 1,016 of 3,744 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

Arrived late afternoon and welcomed very warmly by reception, on entering our room on the 6th floor we thought we had been taken to the wrong room. The room looked out over Habana and to the left looking out of the window you could see the 'Malecon'. The bed looked like it was out of 'Land of the giants' (very big),the bathroom large with a sunken Jacuzzi bath which you could sit in and again look over the city at night the sight was amazing. We stayed for three days 10th Oct 13 and throughtout everything was perfect. Breakfast was buffet style with everything you would require, the cigar shop had a large choice of cigars, only 3 lifts were working but this was not a problem there was a notice explaining why. All in all a very good stay, only thing that was a bit naughty was the 3 cuc for use of the coffee and water from fridge, as someone else has mentioned there is a supermarket directly opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a rear room I think they would all look over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trebor1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs. Trebor1_12,

Thank you very much for having published your positive opinion about our hotel. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed of a pleasant stay among us.

For us, to receive this kind of comments helps us to improve our daily work in order to satisfy all our clients.

I would like you to let me know if you decide to visit us again. It will be a pleasure to meet you personally.


Best regards,


Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Me and My friend arrived in la habana for the first time and we chose this hotel because it was ranked with 5 stars and felt like we wanted to be somewhere extra "safe"... The hotel at first sight is OK looking , nothing special or 5 star about it , lobby is big and spacious, reception area is big and although there was at least 5 People working but still we had to wait 30 minutes to be welcomed and get our keys.
We had a double room which was big and big beds but interior design was poor and outdated, yellow curtains and sheets and green Old chairs... But it was clean .
Wifi was additional , you had to pay to get a login and password, it was only functional in the lobby and half of the time it didnt work but your account was withdrawn anyway, the Office where you Can pay for wifi is totally chaos the lady working there is rather sitting and brushing her hair Than helping us .. Awful service...
The bank inside the hotel had weird opening hours , they opened and closed when they wanted , not according to What was informed on the door to the bank .
The lobby bar was not good we tried to mojitos which should be cubas specialty but they tasted like sugar only...
The breakfast buffet was great ...

I Will never return to this hotel and never recommend it to anyone

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Msworldwide86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Msworldwide86,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us in Tripadvisor, which is very important for our daily work.

We regret all the inconveniences you had during your stay and you can be sure we are going to analyze all the details with the departments involved.

On the other hand, I inform you that then Bank and the Internet not belong to the Hotel, anyway, we are going to talk with the staff responsible in order to avoid this kind of problems.

We would like to have you again among us in a near future, so, I would like to ask you for a confidence vote.

Best regards,


Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here as part of a Twin Centre holiday (Havana/Cayo Coco).

The hotel lives up to the previous ratings it has recieved on TripAdvisor, an impressive reception and lobby area putting your mind at ease from when you walk into the hotel.
Service at the lobby bars was good, drinks were as expectedly more expensive than into Old Havana but nothing crazy. Favorite was the Smoking Bar, staff up there were great, there's pretty much all kinds of Cuban cigar to buy in there and someone is on hand to help you choose (although they won't recommend the cheapest)
The room we had, on the 8th floor overlooking the sea was great, spacious, clean and comfortable. Being charged $3 for use of the coffee machine was a bit steep though.
If it's your first time to Havana, go see the consierge. They're really helpful and will give you a map etc to get you around the places of interest, there's also a free shuttle bus ot the old town which can be booked from there.

Overall, a great hotel and stay in Havana.

CB

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Chris B,

I really appreciate your comments about our Hotel. Thank you very much for let us know.

It is a pleasure to read your opinion about your stay in our hotel. Receive this kind of comments leave us the challenge to continue working hard in order to keep the service of excellence our clients deserve.

We appreciate if you contact us for your next visit to Havana. Meliá Cohiba family will be waiting for you.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here for three days before going onto a resort. Hotel is clean and tidy and half of the lifts were working whilst we were there - however this did not create any problems for us at all. Breakfast is buffet style and includes everything you could wish for! When we go back to Cuba we will definitely stay in Havana for longer. There is so much to see and do. Outside the hotel there are Coco taxis (a definite experience!) and also some old American cars which are also taxis. We did the American car on our last day and had a lovely ride around - with the drivers broken English and our broken Spanish we managed to converse! Back to the hotel, yes, we would definitely go again and stay there - staff pleasant and helpful - but I must agree that bottled water should be included rather than charged to your room if you use what is in the fridge. Top tip - we popped across the road to the supermarket and picked up our own water and soft drinks for the fridge at a fraction of the hotels prices.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Havana rather than overlooking the sea - beautiful in the evening with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Mr./Mrs. Tracy G,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us in Tripadvisor, which is very important for our daily work.

About lifts, let me inform you that only three of them are working, because we are in a process of change.

We are pleased to know you had a good stay in Meliá Cohiba and we would like you to inform us of your next visit to La Havana. It will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards,

Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

There are two good hotel locations to see Havana from - one is anywhere along the Malecon - the long promenade that stretches all the way into old Havana - and the other is in old Havana itself.
For price and comfort the Hotel Melia does take a lot of beating. The food is excellent - if you have travelled around Cuba you will know that this can be a major problem in lots of hotels - even those with good locations and good staff - however here you can be assured of brilliant food both in the buffet and the little restaurants in the hotel.
The staff are some of the most professional we met on our trip and of all the hotels we stayed at this was up there among the best.
Do not be disappointed if you are on a holiday including this hotel - you will enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This Place was so Dirty, looks nice in the lobby bar, since we went to our room, dirty Towels, Dirty Toilet and Cockroaches all over the place and even lizards . I found people's Hair on my Pillows Linen and Towels. Diffidently not a 5 star hotel
1st night, was a lot noise around 11 at night, i couldnt sleep i called reception 3 times to ask them to stop it, they said the maid was cleaning the room. ???... I went downstairs to complain about it, i found this Gentleman his name is Osmani , I was asking him whats going on , he was talking to me then the phone ranged and he was talking to him/her . i became so angry, i told him im talking to you .. He was soo rude. Thanks god i didnt stay there for long..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoeA977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Mrs. Moe A,

As you can see on the 991 Trip Advisor comments, the situation with cockroaches and cleaning have been mentioned in two very specific occasions, so, I can assure you that Melia Cohiba is not a dirty hotel and with cockroaches all over the place, but a clean one and with very strict hygiene programs.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,490 reviews
2.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,781 reviews
3.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range: £212 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cohiba 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cohiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing