We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel by any standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel by any standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here before and after a wonderful trip on Star Flyer as part of a Virgin holiday. I am so pleased that we were at this hotel. The public rooms are spacious and elegant and the staff attentive and helpful.We ate in the Italian restaurant and at the pool bistro and both were well up to any European standard. The pool was lovely with plenty of loungers and towels provided.
The breakfast buffet is outstanding;you are offered sparkling wine on entry and then entertained by talented musicians-the abundance of music everywhere in Cuba was one of the delights of our trip.
We had a room on the 14th[non-smoking] floor,which although excellent was not outstanding-this is the only reason I did not give 5*.

Room Tip: Smoking seems to be compulsory in Cuba!! Choose a non -smoking room and ask for a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Britpip,

Thank you very much for sharing on TripAdvisor your point of view about our Hotel. I really appreciate your words, which will be transmitted to all our staff. They will be glad to know you enjoyed our facilities and also, Cuban music. Likewise, we will take into account your opinion about non-smoking rooms.

Once again thank you for letting us know and I look forward to meet you in your next visit to the City.

Best regards,






Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,604
    1,280
    459
    95
    80
See reviews for
593
1,381
200
430
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I recently spent five days at the fabulous Melia Cohiba hotel and my stay was beyond expectations. It is located in a nice, upscale neighborhood across the street from the Malecon and a short taxi to Old Havana. The hotel is gorgeous, fabulous breakfast, nice lounges and beautiful rooms. The pool is wonderful too to take a break and lounge around. The staff was excellent and friendly. I truly enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a view of the Malecon! It was fabulous! The suites are really nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmmelancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Nmmelancon,

I have read your comment about your stay at our hotel and we feel very satisfied to know we were able to overcome your expectations.

Our staff will be proud for your words and for sure, they will continue working for the welfare of our guests.

Thanks for recommending us and I hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Nice hotel to stay in Havana. Good location. Has wifi but is very expensive. Stay in Level floors for free wifi and better rooms.
There is a good cigar room and store.

Stayed on 6th floor and changed it because of bug problem in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors. Lower floors as 6th floor rooms are older and has bug problems. Level floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Berk O,

I wish first to thank you for taking part of your time to let us know your opinion about your stay in our hotel.

Regarding bugs, allow me to inform you that our hotel doesn’t have such problems because we have a strict fumigation program with good results, so, we suppose it was a punctual situation.

Thanks again for publishing your comments and it will be a pleasure to receive you once more time at Melia Cohiba Hotel.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encino, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice in one week, part of a group. Very nice rooms, large, great size bathrooms, big closets. Considering the bad rap Cuba gets, this hotel was very nice. Great breakfast buffet, don't miss the sugar donuts!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Google Translation
Apreciado Sr. / Sra. Doloclick,

Permítame en primer lugar agradecerle por haber dedicado parte de su tiempo en publicar sus comentarios sobre nuestro hotel.

Mucho me satisface conocer que se sintió a gusto durante su Luna de Miel y que disfrutó de una agradable estancia entre nosotros.

En cuanto a la ubicación del hotel, le informo que contamos con un servicio de traslado gratuito hacia el centro de la Ciudad y disponible para todos nuestros clientes, el cual tiene varias frecuencias durante el día.

Le reitero mi agradecimiento y espero recibirle nuevamente en un futuro, para de esta forma, tener la oportunidad de agradecerle personalmente.

Saludos cordiales,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here in February with friends as part of a Thomas Cook two centre package so we had no choice in the hotel. Arrived after a traumatic journey by the only plane that flies from Cayo Coco to Havana only to find that one of the three rooms was not ready. It was 5.30pm by this time and after spending nearly 40 minutes in the bar our original room was still not ready. We were eventually upgraded to a Junior Suite but didn't get the benefits it afforded. Free wi-fi was supposed to be available in this room but we didn't get it - still had to buy a card at reception. The internet is very intermitent and is only good enough for emails when it is working. The room we had was huge and there were no complaints about the room. The room service though was not consistent as one night we had our bed turned down and the curtains drawn but the other two night we didn't!
The restaurant where we had breakfast was not particularly inviting - more like a canteen. However I have never had breakfast before being serenaded by violins. The food was plentiful but the staff were not as friendly as our hotel in Cayo Coco- suppose that is the difference between a resort hotel and a city hotel. As we were a way out of town - the hotel does provide a shuttle bus one way in to the old town - we had to eat in the hotel. We chose the bufffet restaurant (breakfast one) as we thought this would offer more choice. It was expensive though at 28 CUC per person. Food was not great - my friend had soup one night and it was stone cold because the staff had not turned the hot plate on. When she complained they just took it off her and removed the tureen altogether.
We booked a city walking tour with the travel agent in the hotel (behind the shops) and although it was interesting we didn't do a great deal of walking. Nelson, our guide was very informative and took us to many places that are not on the usual tourist route.
The bar staff in the 24 hour bar were amongst the friendliest staff we came across and the chicken club sandwich is quite delicious. Another must in Havana is a visit to The Tropicana - a super night out - again booked with the agent in the hotel. The concierge was brilliant in obtaining a minibus for us on a Sunday night!
Havana is an interesting place to stay and I am glad that I got to see the real Cuba and this hotel served it purpose but I was glad to go back to the beach at Cayo Coco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrownOwlRhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. BrownOwlRhyl,

Thank you very much for having used your valuable time to let us know your opinion about our Hotel, which is very important for our daily performance. Without a doubt, they contribute to improve our work.

We are taking note about all the details you wrote in your review and I would like you to know we are going to analyze the attitude of our staff at breakfast, because the lack of courtesy is something that we can not afford.

Regarding Internet let me explain to you that we have had great improvements concerning to the speed, assuring a better service to our guests.

We regret the negative opinions you have of our hotel and we hope that despite this, you give us the pleasure of receive you again.

Best regards,


Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ttoronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

A dated (hello the eighties)and tired hotel with friendly staff. Check-in was fast and efficient but the facilities are a little tread bare. Air con is either high and cold or off, with no adjustment possible. TV remote missing for one room in our 2 room suite and channels are mostly Spanish and Chinese.

Pool was nice and and buffet breakfast ok.

Not the best hotel experience but not the worst either. To sum up: Adequate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevortoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Trevortoronto,

I really appreciate that you let us know your opinion about your stay in our hotel. We have read the issues you mentioned. Regarding TV channels, allow me to inform you we are carrying out an improvement plan, which includes a technological renovation with a new channel package. This will allows us to have a greater number of channels in order to cover the expectations of the guests who visit us.

About the air conditioner in the room, we suppose it must have been a specific problem, anyway, we are working to improve the functioning of air conditioning regulators.

I hope that in spite of these inconveniences you had, you honour us with your presence in a near future.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with our 6 month old baby during Feb 14. After the nightmare stay at the Hotel Nacional, this was like heaven and we were very happy with the service and professionalism of the staff. Rooms were clean and modern. A very comfortable bed and the bathrooms well appointed. After a week in Cuba, we've learnt to lower our standards when it comes to restaurants and hotels but the Melia Cohiba really delivers!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs. Fedfan,


Thank you very much for sharing with other tripadvisor reviewers your experience during your stay with us.

It is really a pleasure to receive your very positives comments. We will let our staff know about your opinion, which is very important for our daily performance. Of course, this is a commitment of keep working hard in order to improve the number of clients satisfied like you. You must know it will be great to have you again in our Hotel, so please keep us inform of a future visit to Havana.


My best regards,


Juan Tuñón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
3.2 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#12 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#34 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Property: Melia Cohiba
Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cohiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing