We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Havana
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent here 2 nights.
Hotel staff were super friendly and welcoming. They were helpful trying to guide us through all we wanted to do and giving us tips and tricks to travel around Cuba the best way possible.
Lobby and pool area are pretty impressive. They had fresh flowers decorating the hotel and it seemed extremely clean. Lunch at the pool restaurant was pretty tasty, however service that day was a little slow even though there were only 3 tables filled.
Room was up to par. Pretty wide and with great size windows. During this time of the year it’s very hot and the a/c worked to perfection. Towels and linen were what you would expect at a Melia hotel. King size comfortable beds. Cable tv.
Breakfast service was included and quality was ok. Fruits, breads, eggs, cold cuts and cheeses. Some traditional Cuban cooking. You pick.
One weird thing. They only had a weird elongated pillow. If you wanted any other pillow you needed to order them from an a la carte menu (with extra charges).
One tiny cockroach did appear in the bathroom but other than that both the room and hotel (overall) seemed constantly clean.
We visited their Havana Café to watch the show and had a blast. Awesome performers and great staff. Dinner was just ok, I did find the packages (including cover fee and meal) a bit pricey for Cuban standards.
This hotel is located in the Vedado area a pretty safe neighborhood just a few steps away from the famous Malecon. Keep in mind It is not walking distance (under the Cuban summer sun) from the old Havana center and historic sites.

Protip: Do not get room service. Price is more than double than what you would pay at any of their restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or pool view so you're not stuck watching other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RacheliuxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. RacheliuxC,

We have carefully read your comments about your stay in our hotel and I would like to thank you for all details you mentioned. It is nice to know your stay among us was pleasant. We will inform our staff about your words; they will be happy to read them.

On the other hand, we take note of your opinion about service at pool restaurant and also about the cockroach you found in the bathroom. In this respect, allow me to inform you our hotel maintains a strict fumigation program with good results, so it must have been a specific situation.

Once again thank you very much. I ask you to contact me on your next stay at our hotel. We will be waiting for you!

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    1,306
    467
    99
    85
See reviews for
611
1,411
207
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon doing a twin resort stay in Cuba.
The Hotel isn't much to look at from the outside but it is STUNNING on the inside we were upgraded and had on the the corner suites it was beautiful with a panoramic view. the pool was small but used little by other guests so ideal!
The location of the hotel isn't great you can really just go for a walk. the only way to go any where is to book on the free shuttle bus into Havana central. (its free)
They then drop you right off by the people trying to sell you horse rides which isn't great and you cant get away from them!
Hotel restaurants were well over priced compared to anywhere else in Cuba. Only good one was the Italian.
Pop across the road to the music bar they do food and have great live music!
Couldn't fault the rooms or hotel, but rep very unhelpful considering we were there for only 3 nights/ 2 days!

Room Tip: if you can get upgraded to a suite with panoramic views it really is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chic_sailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Chic_sailer,

Thank you very much for posting on TripAdvisor your comments about your stay at Melia Cohiba. It is a pleasure to know you chose our hotel for your honeymoon and you enjoyed of a pleasant stay among us.

I hope to have the opportunity of meet you personally, so I would like to know if you come back in the future. We will be waiting for you!

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The service was great specially in the bars the service was good and Ron Añejo the best all the bartenders were super nice and sweet they make your stay very pleasant I will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isisanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Isisanne,

It has been a pleasure to read your very positive opinion about our Meliá Cohiba Hotel. Our staff will be glad to read it. Thank you very much for having used some of your time to share it with other TripAdvisor readers.

We would like to thank you for recommending us and we look forward to have you here soon again!

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights as part of our package deal with Thomas Cook. I had e-mailed the hotel prior to arrival asking for a high room and we got just what we asked for on the 11th floor with a view of the city out of one window and The Malecon out of the other. The room was actually a suite with separate lounge and of excellent standard.
Yes, the hotel is a short taxi ride out of old Havana but the fares for taxis, coco-taxis and even cadillacs are all quite reasonable (between 7 and 10 pesos) so don't let the travel aspect put you off.
Staff at the hotel were very good in all departments and could not do enough to assist you which we found pleasing. We dined two of our evenings at the Italian Restaurant on the second floor - again excellent service and the food was first class - the wine choice was also very good.
All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Havana.

Room Tip: As previously reviewed by other visitors higher floors give better views over the city. We had no pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Ceejays,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at our hotel and the service we provide to our guests. We are glad to know you have enjoyed your stay among us.

Regarding the location of the hotel, allow me to inform you we offer to our guests a free service of a shuttle to Old Havana, which has some frequencies at day.

On the other hand, you can be sure we extend your thanks to your staff and we hope you choose again our Hotel for your next stay.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

if you want to stay in Havana this is a very nice place to stay , the morning brunch is very good , the view from the hotel is nice , the show in the Havana cafe is also good , and it has a nice pool ,

Room Tip: room on the upper floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normandcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Normandcanada,

It is a pleasure to receive positive comments of the guests who visit us. Thank you very much for letting us know.

I would like you to know it will be a real pleasure to welcome you among us in a near future and to have the occasion to thank you personally for all details you mentioned in your review.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed 3 noches in the Melia Cohiba at the end of june. I was vey pleased with the room in the 20th floor at The Level. The staff and the hotel services were first class. The personnal at the reception desk was very heplful and the same applies for the staff at the pool and the pool restaurant. I stayed with my family of 4 in a very nice room. I recommand the VIP floors called The Level , a little more expensive but worth the money with a private breakfast room, probably the best breakfasts in Cuba ! and I should know having been in Cuba more than 50 times.

Room Tip: Ask for the Level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EZEZ911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. EZEZ911,

It is a real pleasure to receive your comments about your recent stay at Meliá Cohiba. We will extend your thanks to all our staff, specifically the staff at the reception desk, pool and The Level. They will be very happy to read your review.

For us it will be a real pleasure to have you among us in a near future. Please, let us know if you decide to come back.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed five nights for business, in a room on "The Level", which is one of the Melia Cohiba's "executive floors". The Melia Cohiba is an international standard four-star hote. The rooms are a bit dated but clean, relatively spacious, and secure. I have a habit of leaving things lying around in the room but never had any problems with theft.

A few pointers:
1. In-room wifi in-room is only available on the executive floors (I believe 18th floor and up), otherwise you will need to go to the lobby. The in-room wifi is not fast but works well enough, although on two nights out of five, I had difficulty connecting between 10pm-midnight.

2. Location: Taxi's to the old Town will cost around 7-8 CUC and takes around 15min. The drive along the Malecon is nice, but going back and forth gets a bit tedious if you're there primarily as a tourist, as the main points of interest are likely closer to the old Town.

3. Restaurants: There are a few Paladors around the hotel (ask the concierge) that are good, and a Jazz Cafe across the street (which I didn't get to), but little else in the neighbourhood.

4. There is a small convenience store across the street open 24 hours, where you can pick up some water or beer, but they have little else in terms of selection (unless you need cookies or uncooked rice).

5. Safety: The Malecon area next to the hotel is a bit on the edge, and is the not the "central" Malecon where everyone hangs out at night. However, it makes for a nice walk. Havana has to be one of the safest cities in Latin America, although of course common sense precautions are required, as with anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Daylan C,

It is a pleasure to receive your opinion about your stay at Melia Cohiba.

Regarding your comments about rooms, allow me to inform you we are carrying out an improvement plan in order to change their image and to provide a better service to our guests. About Wi-Fi, it is available on Executive Floors and in the rest of the rooms this service is at 50%, but we are working to provide it in the whole rooms.

On the other hand, it is a pleasure to communicate you our hotel has a free service of a Shuttle to the Old Town to all our guests, which has some frequencies at day.

I would like you to know it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future, so please, let us know about your next visit. We will be waiting for you.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,600 reviews
3.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#36 of 79 in Havana
4,229 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Property: Melia Cohiba
Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cohiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing