We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible value for money”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is central and has a great location.
However, the room smelled of midew, was dirty, one of the pillows had bloodstains on it, and the bed sheet was covered in stains.
At a price 6 times a casa, this hotel cannot be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjørn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear customer
We are working hard to keep the hotel clean although is a challenge because it is an open concept hotel, located on the old part of the city, not like newer hotels that are enclosed and air-conditioned. We appreciate your comments and we promise we will work harder to meet our customer’s expectations.
Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    1,283
    859
    381
    167
See reviews for
572
1,583
236
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I chose this hotel on the basis that it was an Accor hotel; I'd heard horror stories of the hotels in Havana in general, so figured if the French Accor Group had a hand in this it might be a safer bet! Wrong! I can't imagine anyone from Accor Paris has ever set foot in this joint - if they had they'd have pulled down the Mercure brand immediately.

The first room I was given was filthy, stunk of sewerage, had a broken (smashed) bathroom door and the main room light didn't work. I refused to accept this, and brandishing my Accor Silver status card demanded a better room. It took a lot of "don't understands" but finally I got through a few layers of management that clearly didn't give a damn, and got a 'superior' room. Which also was filthy, with broken fittings, non-working window latches, an out-of-balance extractor fan in the bathroom that couldn't be shut off, which whined away all day/night (Pablo the maintenance man fixed it by closing the bathroom door! But the bathroom door latch was broken and it wouldn't stay closed so he pushed a chair against the (bathroom) door to stop the 70-80dB noise of the fan!)

The airconditioning (one of their key selling points) didn't work at all. The twin beds (double bed ordered) were pushed together on day two by a housemaid who was trying …. but the double sheets didn't fit. The bedding was threadbare, the mattress was obviously Soviet Army issue from the 60's, and the pillows were also ancient, lumpy- and stank! There was tepid water from the hot tap most mornings, but all gone by about 9:00am. The lighting in the room was atrocious, with 4 of the 9 lamps dead or missing altogether! Getting the picture?

The 9th floor restaurant served breakfast, which included odd-tasting pastry's, rancid butter, fresh fruit, and bainmarie's containing eggs, bacon and some other unidentified foods. A pianist clunked away on a horribly out-of-tune grand piano most mornings which actually ruined our early morning experiences. Fortunately on our last day a string trio provided excellent music.

Watch out for….. overcharging in the bar. I got double-charged on the first night and when I confronted the bar manager I was told I was served 'doubles' - curiously the next night the same server poured the same size drinks, but tonight they were 'singles'

Watch out for …… undersupplying of the One Hour Internet card ($4.50) which proved 32 minutes on one occasion and 33 on the other. When the front desk manager was asked about this, he had the temerity to tell me "I was wrong!" but he wasn't interested in looking at the internet log on my computer.

Havana is very much a "take it or leave it" kind of place; but Accor should be bloody embarrassed by this nasty little rip-off.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mozza47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear customer:
We appreciate your comments and you can rest assure we are working on your suggestions to improve our services.
Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney
Level Contributor
284 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Based on general reviews of hotels in Cuba, it appears that the Sevilla should rate highly outside of Varadero where there are brand new hotels.

The building was constructed on part in 1908 and the current accommodation rooms in 1927. It retains its passed glory albeit in need of repair (as it seems with all older property in Cuba).

If it was not for the single beds (twins) we would stay here again. The location is great for all the historical buildings in "old Havana", the pool is large with adequate lounges the staff are polite (although disinterested), and the prices OK. The level 9 restaurant is something special to see, the views ate great and the food nice. it is certainly worth a dinner. A great location on the edge of the “old city”.

A regrettable area is the bedding. They have king size beds in the smallest hotel rooms outside of Paris while the twin single beds are in lovely, oversized rooms, some in corner positions. We had 302 and found it spacious (except for the beds). We were offered a junior suite to compensate but it still had 2 twin beds and comprised two smaller rooms. We preferred 302 and didn't take them up on their kind offer.

The shower was OK and would have been better if the shower hose wasn't leaking. What wad hot but shower pressure poor. The floor flooded with every shower so make sure you have a few spare towels.

There music every day, often lunch, afternoon and dinner. Sometimes even at breakfast. This gives the hotel a very work, energetic and lively feel throughout.

The breakfast buffet was adequate but certainly nothing special.

There are three bars, ground floor, pool side and 9th floor. Drink prices seemed to be quite standard throughout Havana.

As noted above service is OK. You seem to get most things addressed and dealt with in a fashion but the staff just seemed completely disinterested in the guests. They are just going through the process; doing their job. Not even the doorman welcomes you!

When we arrived our room key wouldn't turn on the lights. I made three trips to reception to have it reprogrammed before they sent someone who only said "reprogram the key". I then had to make a forth trip to get a key and someone at the desk had a bright idea to programme a 2nd key, an older format card which did work. They fixed my problem by I felt I did all the work.

Everyone should see Havana, ansd if like us you enjoy a swimming pool as well as sight seeing, Sevilla is probably not a bad choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear customer
We appreciate your comments and you can rest assure we are working on your suggestions to improve our services. Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here during our Cuba travels. Location is quite good. Right on the edge of the old Havana. View from the roof restaurant over the whole city is also quite nice, but otherwise nothing breathtaking. It was overpriced for the service it provides. There wasn't even bottle water in our room on our arrival and cleanness of the hotel could improve significantly. No wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby and it costs 4 EUR/h.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debilny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear customer
We are working hard to keep the hotel clean although is a challenge because it is an open concept hotel, located on the old part of the city, not like newer hotels that are enclosed and air-conditioned. We appreciate your comments and we promise we will work harder to meet our customer’s expectations.
We appreciate your comments and you can rest assure we are working on your suggestions to improve our services. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

You know that feeling when you book a hotel, then you read a load of terrible reviews on Trip Advisor and really wished you picked somewhere else? That’s exactly how I felt after booking 4 nights at the Sevilla. My husband and I braced ourselves for a dingy room, cold showers, terrible service and inedible food. What we got was….. a totally different experience! We had an excellent stay at this hotel over Easter 2014 and couldn’t fault any of the above. In fact, we were almost shocked to receive a nice warm welcome from reception on arrival, a huge room with gorgeous views and an excellent breakfast each day. Yes the hotel is a little old fashioned with the décor but this is a colonial Havana hotel! All the main entrances – lobby, lifts, restaurants, bar are immaculately maintained. Perhaps a little dated, but definitely not decaying. Personally, we preferred the old charms of the Sevilla to the sterile modernity of it's neighbour, the Parque Central, which had the cut and paste feel of a typical international hotel.

We were booked onto the 8th floor and our room was just lovely. The aircon worked perfectly, the shower pulsed out hot water night and day and the maids added lovely final touches with little notes and animals made from towels. We had gorgeous views down Prado to the Capital, as did the rooftop restaurant, where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at each day, accompanied by a string quartet or piano. We weren’t expecting gourmet food in Cuba but the selection was good – fresh fruits, smoothies, cereals, fried food, pastries and eggs and pancakes cooked to order.

Every evening, from around 6pm, the lobby hosted a range of live Cuban bands, musicians and dancers. This was one of the highlights of our stay. The quality of the musicians was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed being entertained by acapella groups and salsa dancers whilst sipping our mojitos. Also, we visited the pool once and found it to be a clean and a perfect temperature. Plenty of sunbeds too.

So overall, a brilliant stay and we would definitely return. Sure, there were a couple of things that management could improve on. The service at the bar was slow and availability of an iron and ironing board as promised in the room menu would be good (when we asked for it at reception, we just got baffled looks). Our stay undoubtedly benefited from having a higher floor room so I’d recommend trying to get onto the 6th, 7th or 8th floor. We booked our stay through Juan at All About Tailor Made Travel and were put straight onto the 8th floor. Definitely recommend using these guys if you're travelling from the UK. Looking at the other reviews, perhaps the Sevilla can be a bit hit and miss but for us it was definitely a hit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor or above for great views. The corner rooms are especially big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank classicaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear customer
Thank you very much for your comments; they help us to keep working towards a better customer satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Very bad customer service. Overpriced hotel, can get something much cheaper and better down the road - do your research! Our phone was strike from the hotel lobby from a seat we were sitting on and no one was helpful to us to have a letter written for insurance or to help locate the person who took the phone. Would never go back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear customer
We regret your experience deeply. We thank you your comment to improve our performance in cases like this.
Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A 3+ stars centrally located, with its faded charm it brings you back ages ago.
We loved the top floor with its tiling and also the patio with its singing band.
If you'll look for flaws you will surely find plenty but generally is a good hotel.
The room was ok, nothing broken, nothing damaged, second floor, the view to a wall, but was not important as we were only sleeping in it. We had the room near the service elevator and we weren't botherd by it. But the air conditioning is another matter, very noisy, as we turned off the one in our room we could still hear the ones from our neighbours.
Breakfast was plenty with lots of fruits, except if you were to leave early in the moning then breakfast is really basic.
Somebody here was complaining that the ladies from the reception are not smiling, they are not, but they are very efficient, which in my opinion counted more, and very helpful regarding information, money exchange...
The downside however is the cleaning, and this is generally for the whole country. No matter the hotel or the restaurant, I found that the plates, glasses, cups could do with thorough cleaning.
And I want to point out that when we made the reservation we were advised by the travel agency not to book in the Old Havana because of the smell, however we were not swayed, and we were pleasantly suprised to find the whole lobby smelling of lily from the enormous
bouquets adorning the lobby.
All in all it was worth staying here.

Room Tip: we had a standard room and we were pleased by it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric P, Gerente at Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear customer:
Thank you very much for your comments; they help us to keep working towards a better customer satisfaction. We are working hard to keep the hotel clean although is a challenge because it is an open concept hotel, located on the old part of the city, not like newer hotels that are enclosed and air-conditioned. We appreciate your comments and we promise we will work harder to meet our customer’s expectations.
Regards…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.8 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
5.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
5.5 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane

Property: Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Address: Trocadero 55 e Prado y Zulueta Habana, Havana 19260, Cuba (Formerly Sofitel Sevilla La Habana)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of world heritage listed historic Havana, the hotel stands out thanks to its Moorish architecture, its unique and spectacular view over the city as well as by the prestigious personalities that have stayed in the hotel since 1908. 178 rooms,2 restaurants, 3 bars, a meeting room for up to 50 people and a swimming pool. 24hr dining available. N.B. in Cuba the EUR to CUC (cuban pesos) exchange rate is subject to a fluctuating gouvernment tax. American credit cards are not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sevilla Havane
Mercure Hotel Havana
Mercure Havana
Havana Hotel Sevilla
Hotel Sevilla Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing