We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fascinating trip to Cuba and an historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Havana
albany, NY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fascinating trip to Cuba and an historic hotel”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

In October, my husband and I took advantage of the easing in Cuban travel restrictions for US citizens by visiting for week with Friendly Planet. This was a people to people trip where we visited artists, senior centers, schools, clinics, an organic farm and a suburban housing estate. It was absolutely fascinating to see this country on what hopefully is the cusp of change. We had traveled with Friendly Plant in the past so our expectations were high. We weren't disappointed. Our tour guides ( American and Cuban) were informed and enthusiastic. We had plenty of opportunity to do all the touristy things - visit a cigar factory, the museums in Havana, experience the Santeria culture, Hemingway's hangouts both in Havana and beyond and even to experience an all inclusive resort in Tirnidad. But the highlight for us was the contact with the Cuban people and an up close view of their day to day lives. We were treated to a dynamic lecture from a professor of economics at the University who gave us balanced perspective of where he saw Cuba headed. I cannot recommend this trip more highly. I have traveled all over the world and it irked me that this time-warp island lay off our shore and I couldn't visit. I know it is possible to go there illegally from another country, but it gave me such satisfaction to request that they stamp my passport at passport control (they will only do it for US citizens if you request it).
In Havana we based at the Hotel Telegrafo in downtown Cuba. It is an historic hotel from the pre-revolutionery days but of course completely maintained to 21st century standards. it is much more conveniently located at the center of the bustling life of Havana than the Hotel National which sits a bit outside the center. it also has way more character (the whole history is displayed in photographs around the public areas) than the ultra modern Iberostar hotel across the square.
Friendly Planet did a spectacular job.

Room Tip: Look for one overlooking the square. The rooms have balconies and it is lovely to admire the gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfinn530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    638
    275
    73
    38
See reviews for
170
681
77
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was good. Very central nearby The Capital.
Breakfast was good and the rooms were clean and big. We can advise this hotel to everybody. By The Capital we rent an oldtimer for one hour and it was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I went with my husband and daughter to Cuba and our holiday started by spending 2 nights in Havana. We went with a package company and I wish we had been advised before booking that we would not be able to do most of the tours as our coach picked us up at 12pm which meant we only had one day to look around Havana. When we arrived at the hotel it all looked good to start with until we saw the lift which was very small and more often than not out of order. The room we had was very large however it looked over an atrium which could be noisy until around 11pm. When you have arrived from London all you want to do is go to sleep and not be listening to music until 11pm. If there is no worry about jet lag room was fine.

The breakfast in the hotel offered cooked eggs and was good however, the lunch/evening snacks were very poor.

If you do not want anything too fancy this hotel will work.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimp23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We had been staying in the Iberostar Parque across the road for 8 nights but they had no availability for our last night in Havana.
We booked the Telegrafo because of the nearness - we didnt expect much as it was so much cheaper than where we'd stayed.
To our surprise we were allocated a room at 12.15 - we expected to have to leave our cases and return later.
Our room was wonderful - high ceilings, shiny clean tiled floor, brand new linens (the tags were still on the towels and you could tell the sheets had just come out the packaging!)
Signs of wear and tear with the tile grouting round the bath but it was just as bad in the Parque Central. Good selection of toiletries and 2 bars of soap - Parque Central only gave us 1 the whole 8 days!!
We decided to eat in the restaurant and were glad we did. They had a seafood dinner on special -18cuc for a lobster tail, shrimps and fish. It was delicious.
Our bedroom window was huge and opened onto a view of busy Cuban street life. I could have sat there for hours looking out over to the sea.
Breakfast was ok - not a great selection but you wouldn't starve
If visiting Havana again I would stay in Telegrafo. So there was no pool or fitness centr but who needs it when theres so much to do in Havana - we paid big bucks for it in Parque C and never used it once!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Well what can I say? Just got back from our trip to Cuba. Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It's not luxury but it has everything you need. It;s comfortable, in a great location. The room was pleasent, it was quiet for a great nights sleep. The bed was comfortable, it was clean and seviced every day. The breakfast was good and the staff were really nice. Need I say anything more? I would recomend this hotel to anyone unless you want luxury

Room Tip: We satyed on the third floor at the back of the hotel with view of the city and far views to the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

The hotel is wonderfully located across the street from the central walkway(Prado), short walk to Obispo Street, Floridita bar (Hemingway's favorite for daiquiris), old capital building, museums, Malecon (ocean walkway) and almost anything you'd like to see while in Havana. The hotel has been revamped with large rooms and good bathrooms although somewhat sterile in decor. The second time we stayed there, they gave us a huge two room, two bathroom suite! The bar is in a large room with original stone walls. We enjoyed talking with the bartender. There are abundant taxis of all sorts directly in front of the hotel. Do try an a 50's American convertible car and the cocos (small open air yellow cabs that look like a football helmet).

Room Tip: Best rooms face the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Great Location in historic centre of Havana, near the old Havana (300 m a way), Room very wide and the room service really good (laundry, cleaning).variety of foods for breakfast but you needs to wake up early.
The hotel cafe opens from 12:00-22:00 nice place to sit and get some snack, beer coffe and burger (beer & coffee 3CUC, burger 5CUC without fries). The Bar open 24h and had some sport channels. Taxi service in front of you But if you want old American convertible cars you needs to walk around 150 m towards the Capitols building to hire one (20 CUC/H)
CADECA currency exchange office 100m away in left side.
NOTE: You needs to pay 56CUC for any Cuban gehst stay with you over night

Room Tip: Ask for room in 2nd floor on street side, nice viewing in night time and to get photo for the localk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dagher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,581 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Property: Hotel Telegrafo
Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Gaviota Hotels, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegrafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing