We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in Havana vieja”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Manzanita, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Havana vieja”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This nice hotel is situated in a perfect location for walking throughout old Havana. You are steps away from the lovely Prado where you can walk through town to the water.

They have a large buffet for breakfast with many choices of hot and cold foods.

Our room faced the main street so we could watch the constant flow of wonderful vintage cars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    638
    275
    73
    38
See reviews for
170
681
77
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with a small group, had excellent renovated room and bathroom so no complaints there. Soundproof windows were very helpful. The housekeeping staff left bedspread/towel art which was adorable. I found housekeeping staff to be unusually attentive.

Extra thanks to the hotel staff who found my passport which I had inadvertently left in the room. They sent a staff member to deliver it to me at the airport, for which I paid a very reasonable fee.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after flying in to Havana. We really wanted to stay at the Parque Central on arrival but it was too expensive. We'd had a nightmare 3 hours getting through Immigration and collecting our luggage at the airport, so we weren't in the best frame of mind when we got to the hotel late at night. Check in was quick and hassle free and the staff were friendly. Our rooms were large and had very high ceilings. We overlooked the park and there was a lot of traffic noise. However once midnight came everything seemed to quieten down and we had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was another story. The shower curtain was hanging off the rail, there were loads of chipped tiles on the wall, it was badly lit and the electrical sockets had to be seen to be believed. You took your life in your hands if you used them !
The carpets on the landings were quite threadbare in places and looked a bit shabby.The lobby area was pleasantly decorated - art deco style and there was a nice bar area where you could have snacks, late into the evening. The service wasn't the quickest but the staff were pleasant enough. The breakfast room was quite large, again with high ceilings, and had lots of pictures and photos from the 40's and 50's. It was probably quite grand in it's day. There was a good choice of food both hot and cold. The omelettes were excellent. A two piece girl band on a keyboard and saxophone serenaded you while you were eating. As with every band in Cuba they had their own CD's to sell and a tip basket. Perhaps if they made enough money the keyboard player could afford to take lessons. Bless her. Outside the front of the hotel there was an outdoor area for drinks etc. From there you had a brilliant view of all the comings and goings plus all those fantastic old classic cars. Two nights was enough, we then moved on to Trinidad. See my other reviews for Cuba

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We had a fairly long stay at the Telegrafo in Feb.14 and really liked it. The room, which had a balcony and overlooked Parque Central, had probably the highest ceiling I have ever seen in a hotel. The room was large and the beds were comfortable. Best of all, despite overlooking a busy street, as soon as the balcony doors were closed you could hardly hear anything. A special word for the chambermaid who turned our bed sheets into different shapes each day, the swans were a favourite!
Staff weren't over-friendly but were efficient and were always willing to help with taxis etc. Breakfast was fine, we had freshly cooked omelettes every day. One small complaint was that the coffee was poor which was surprising given that elsewhere in Cuba we had really nice coffee. All in all though a very pleasant stay at a nice hotel in a great location in Havana.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul293_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

OK, the good stuff first - the location is excellent, the breakfast is very good and the room we eventually had (more of this later) was spacious and comfortable, although inward facing onto the cafe area. The cafe is a nice space and the restaurant, although a little tired looking, is decent with the opportunity to sit outside in the throng of the city. Food and drink are relatively well priced too.

The downside - first and foremost, both the accommodation level hallways smell very badly of damp (I honestly can't believe nobody else has mentioned this as it's overpowering), there are mould spores all over the carpets and the smell permeates into the rooms.
The first room we were allocated (on the first floor) was dilapidated with the curtains falling down so a they wouldn't close, the aforementioned smell particularly bad and cigarette burn marks on the bedding - we complained and they moved us to the room mentioned above (on the 2nd floor). I couldn't help get the feeling that they initially tried to fob us off with the worst room so watch out. There's one lift that doesn't so much stop as bounce and if you're lucky enough for it to open at your floor (the buttons don't light up so you can never be sure), get in regardless of the direction because there's no guarantee when you will see it again. You can use the spiral staircase but not on Fridays as it opens into the cafe, which is turned over to a singer on Friday nights (you have to pay to see her - I wouldn't recommend it). Also, it seems you can't sit outside in the restaurant at the weekends since all the chairs and tables appeared to be turned over to the locals, who gathered them all together and then blocked off the entrance. That means on a Friday you HAVE to go elsewhere if you want to sit down and have a drink (although it's Havana so you should probably be doing that anyway).
Yeah the staff are sullen too but that seemed to be the way of things in lots of place in Havana (although not everywhere and certainly not in other parts of Cuba) and the facilities are limited but it's a budget hotel so I don't think you can complain too much about that.

Overall - we stayed for 3 nights and honestly, we were glad to get out of there. You expect certain compromises in a budget hotel but there are just too many in this one and there's better value to be had in the city.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is ideally located for visiting the old town and easy access to Taxi.
We had a corner room with a small balcony, which was nice, which meant you could watch the old cars and the locals going about their daily tasks.The rooms are comfortable, with high ceilings .The mini bar prices are cheap compared to other city hotels.
The staff are surly, except for the chef at breakfast , he was very helpfull.The reception area can be very busy at times and they could do with more staff and some of the settes are very uncomfortable.On the plus side the Internet is available and is cheaper per hour than some of the other hotels in the area.
The drinks at the bar were cheap and the surroundings are not what you would expect in Cuba, quite modern and retro compared to the exterior of the building.Its worth visiting the hotel just to see this.
The food was ok , I wouldn't eat there for lunch or evening meals as there are far better places to eat near by.Having live music at breakfast was unusual, I would have preferred to have better food and service.
We stayed in 6 different hotels in Cuba and this was the one we liked the least.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

clean room amazing view from the balcony and a good choice of breakfast options would definitely stay again .We booked trips with the customer service rep , They were not all that helpful but definitely worth going to Tropicana show .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,580 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Property: Hotel Telegrafo
Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Gaviota Hotels, Evoline ltd, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegrafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing