We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best experience”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It was a wonderful experience at The Telegrafo Hotel, a very warm welcome at the receptionist make me feel at home. The customer service is one the best that I have never received. The location is excellent and have access to a differents point in Havana.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Telegrafo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our second stay at this solid hotel. We looked around elsewhere, but nothing came close to the price for the location (in the Old Havana area). In general, it was passable, but not so great that we didn't spend one our days scouting out new hotels for our next trip.

The good - clean room, good location, very good price.

The not so good (and why it didn't live up to expectations the second time around)

The location is close to Old Havana, but not really close enough. It's still a busy street, a crowded park, and then a long walk. Along the way, everyone shouts at you to determine if you want a taxi, cigars, a marriage of convenience, etc, etc. It does get tiring, so we definitely want to be in the absolute heart of Old Havana next time.

The room didn't have adjustable A/C, so it was a little too cold, and it was hard to sleep at night with the cold air blasting at you. This more than anything else cost them a rating point (we scored them 4/5 last time).

The live music at breakfast is a nice touch, but we recognize the duo... They've probably been playing the same set for two years solid now, and they look bored out of their gourds. It was actually better with the taped music.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AcademicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Background: Couple traveling to Cuba for the first time. We planned to stay in Havana a couple of days and then travel to Varadero.

The summary.
-The hotel is from the outside impressive. In the inside remains as such. High cealings and nicely decorated.
-The personnel at the reception might or might not be so friendly as some other visitors comment (eventually we met both cases).
-The hotel is rather old and you will find some spots with moisture or cracks. I had the impression that the standards for a 4 stars hotel in Cuba are lower than a 4 stars hotel in Europa, and this is not hotel specific.
-The rooms are quite spacious and ok in regard to furniture.
-The breakfast is not what I would define as exquisite. Very basic with some ham, cheese and fruit. Into easy terms: it is ok.
-The location, awesome, within two minutes you are in the Obispo street, a very lively street with a lot of noise, people and music.

The hints and precautions:
Buy cigars and rum only in official stores or in hotels. The prices will be very much alike if not the same between stores, so it makes no big difference where are you buying your souvenirs.
In regard to safety, the hotel is always taking care of the guests while in the hotel area. The police officers are until 7pm guarding tourists and citizens alike.

However, in this area of Plaza Central there are several groups of people (usually couples) which start talking in a friendly manner to tourists, they explain the city and where you "should" go. Just ignore them all along and you will do great.

Why? They are a well organized mafia (I am sorry, I cannot call it otherwise) which trick/bring the tourists into specific restaurants. These persons receive a percentage of the sales and well, they can even offer you illegal/fake cigars (being sold as originals just with a lower price because of the "cooperativas") and in the worst case, in the night they might even try to rob you. (Part is personal experience, part information I received from the hotel staff as hints).

As well, use official taxis (they can be organized by the Hotel). That way, there are no surprises. While asking outside to the official taxis (marked with Cubanatur or similar) you can handle a little bit the prices.

Disclaimer: I was not aware the hotel had fitness studio or pool.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms looking towards Plaza Central on the third flor, you can get a couple of nice p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OmarCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The location could not be better, next to the Capitol and Paseo del Prado to walk to Malecon. The open double decker tourist bus stops at Parque Central, opposite the hotel. The building is nice, very nicely done entrance. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable beds, ac. Bathroom also good, nice hot shower. Good breakfast, although the fruit looked very unappetizing. Pleasant surprise in Havana.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had spent my other nights in Cuba in (very good) Casas. Wasn't sure what to expect from a Cuban hotel, but was plesently surprised. It was clean, the room was very spacious, and the interior of the hotel is pretty. Service was fine, and the location is good as well. On a busy intersection, but I wasn't disturbed by the noise. If you fancy a change from B&Bs I would recommend the Telegrafo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SH120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed 5 nights with our 3 year old at the start of our holiday in Cuba. Our room on the 3rd floor was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. The view was interesting looking out over rather ramshackle housing at the back of the hotel. The chamber maids made an effort with swans and fans folded out of the bedspreads and little notes wishing us a nice stay. When we discovered there was no bulb in the bedside lamp a light bulb was promptly brought to our room.

The breakfast buffet was good: the highlights were the live music, the omelette station and the fresh fruit. Only one lift worked during our stay so we got used to walking up the spiral staircase. The location was good for walking to the old town and the Malacon and the tourist bus stopped opposite the hotel in Parque Central.

The staff weren't effusive but were generally helpful. The only real negative were the poorly staffed travel desk (we used the travel service at the nearby Ibeostar Parque Central instead to book an excursion) and the poor rate offered for currency exchange (we used the banks instead).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived late at night after a 3 hour queue at immigration to be welcomed by the most helpful staff. We were shown up to a huge room (318) only to find no bed - this was just the living room! We also had a massive bedroom with great views over Havana from both rooms. Then another lovely surprise - live music at breakfast. We stayed here for 3 nights and loved sitting in the interesting bar. The beefburgers in the bar are huge - had one late at night when we arrived.

Room Tip: 318 - it is something else!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbypair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,356 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#17 of 80 in Havana
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: £120 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Telegrafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing