We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-placed with well-stocked bar and top breakfast”
Review of Hotel Telegrafo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Telegrafo
Ranked #8 of 79 Hotels in Havana
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well-placed with well-stocked bar and top breakfast”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Right on the Parque Central in Habana Vieja and one of the city's oldest hotels. Breakfast is in a spacious restaurant with musical accompaniment. The bar area has a huge mosaic. Some features of the rooms need a little attention, but generally very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side overlook the Parque Central with its bustle of old cars, taxis, buses, horse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    630
    269
    72
    37
See reviews for
166
671
77
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hotel is in a fantastic location in Havana Vieja. Great places to walk to and access to taxis is extremely easy. Rooms were spacious and clean, although the rooms are air conditioned- you couldn't really feel it.
You were welcomed with 2 complimentary 'cocktails' at the bar, so ordered a mojito- only to be told by the bar man that it is Cuba Libre's only so we would have to pay, so we handed over the money and watched him put it in his pocket. Bit weird.

Breakfast has some very interesting 'breakfast' choices thankfully the omelette man was serving every day. There is one computer with Internet access in the lobby, but the hotel across the road has WIFI that is reasonably priced.

We asked reception for a map and recommendations of must see things and restaurants. There were no maps, and the man on the desk was quite rude and unhelpful. So we went across the road to Central Park Hotel and there reception staff wee most helpful and provided us with a map- we weren't even guests at the hotel.
Great location, clean facilities but I think you could find better for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higganum, Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

For the tourist, especially one interested in Havana’s Art museums, the best thing about this hotel is its location. There are also plenty of taxis at the front door, and most sightseeing destinations in Old Havana are in walking distance. We stayed in Rm 206, which is a standard room at the end of the corridor on the second floor. We found it very satisfactory. At about 12’x20´ there was space for a bureau, armchair, small round table, and two 3/4-size beds, comfortable for sleeping. The AC worked well and lots of light comes through the window during the day. Its double-glazed windows kept out the street noise. The room had a working Cable TV and telephone, outlets for 110v and (in bathroom) 212v . There was a safe for valuables and snack bar but no fridge in the standard room. The bathroom had adequate room and a tub with shower. The towels were adequately sized and there was soap, toilet paper & shampoo as well as a hair dryer. The place was clean and the maids nice, fixing the room even if occupied until noon (be sure to tip on a daily basis!). Downstairs, the reception area and other places are fairly pleasant as well. But nothing is perfect and here are the drawbacks: evening room lighting levels are so low as to make reading in bed almost impossible. There were no stoppers for either the sink or the tub (maid supplied makeshift solution); the bar is OK, the breakfast could be a lot better, but avoid all other meals because the food is bad and there other (non-hotel) nearby eateries much better. The elevator is much too small, slow, and quirky. The circular stairs are dangerously dark at night (watch your step). There is no one to help you with your bags upon arrival or departure, and while the receptionists will do what you want (including changing currency into “CUC’s”), they are not the welcoming type. Internet access is only available through one quirky computer terminal which is often busy and costly to use. Expect leaks in public places when it rains, and 1st and 2nd floor halls are dark, musty, and unappealing. Finally, unlike some of the other hotels in the area, there is no rooftop terrace or swimming pool. To conclude: if you are not on business this is a good choice for visiting Havana, and,for the price, a good value because rooms are very clean and light and AC OK -- but don't expect perfection by any means!

Room Tip: rooms facing El Prado Street all seem to be good, and range in size, with the largest at the interse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debrigard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This classic hotel has been brought up to modern standards and is a good choice in Havana. It is close to most of the sites you want to see in Havana, and is comfortable. Just across the street from a nice park, a block from the capital building, and just a few blocks to the waterfront. Good selection for breakfast, and the has a charming "sidewalk cafe" in front that is great for watching the wonderful old American cars that go by, as well as the people. Prices for using the minibar in the room are very moderate, making it inexpensive to enjoy a drink or two there without having to call room service or go to the bar. There is only one small elevator in the hotel, but it has only three stories so it was a pretty easy walk up if one chose to do so. The rooms have very high ceilings, and our room had a small balcony as well. I would certainly recommend it, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some people we were traveling with had rooms on the third floor, and had various problems with them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahabanasi, Técnico de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Telegrafo, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear customers:

We appreciate their choice and they have taken some of your time to write your review on Tripadvisor.

Also appreciate your kind comments about our service. Thanks for recomending us!

Can consider our Hotel as their home in Havana, if possible we would like to know in advance on your future visits depending on them a personal welcome.

All our group will be waiting! It is always a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best wishes for your personal and professional life.

Best regards,

Public Relations
Telegrafo Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parlin, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our group stayed at the Hotel Telegrafo at the front and back end of our travels (total of 4 nights). Positioned of the main street it is centrally located across from a park dedicated to Jose Marti and within walking distance (if you are a walker) to the museums, restaurants, and the capital. Upon first impressions, the Telegrafo has at late 1930’s-40’s look and feel that is well represented in the architecture. The lobby is a step back in time with the hotel s history captured in some great photographs. The only elevator (yep just one) is an adventure unto itself. It takes a slight coaxing touch of the buttons before it responds to your floor selection and moves with the speed of a snail. When the elevator doors open on your floor you are met with the distinct smell of stale cigar, cigarette smoke and mildew. This was expected due to the hotel age, and being in a country where tobacco is a significant part of the culture. Once in my room, I found it to be spacious and clean with the typical hotel amenities. There were a few minor things not working and a bug or two was spotted in the bathroom (covering the drains in the sink and tub addressed that issue) and the stale cigar smell a little less potent. However, once the air conditioning turned on the smell became overwhelming. To reduce the smell I sprayed the room with my traveling bottle of Febreeze. It did not help! I considered such a strong smell was because the room looked onto the courtyard where the bar was located. However, after mentioning this to others in our group (some smokers) and whose rooms faced the street they indicated noticing the same strong smells. Good thing – I was not going to spend a significant amount of time in the hotel room. Bad thing – the smell did not make for a good night’s sleep. So if you are a traveler who is sensitive to smells, especially when sleeping, take note.
Overall the Telegrafo was nice but average. The restaurant/bar staff was great, the room maid pleasant with an infectious smile (loved her rain boots), and the bathroom attendant at the bar was a smiling energetic 82 years young; well she was just fabulous and loving life. The image of her singing while cleaning still brings a smile to my face.

Room Tip: Select a room that faces the streets, so you can do people watching at night. Rooms that have windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BSqurdWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, the staff was very helpful. I think it is important for travelers to remember where they are. This isn't a newly opened hotel in New York, it is an old building working it's way up to being an amazing place to stay. It is a bit worn around the edges, but they are currently remodeling the entry, showing their dedication to the future.
Our rooms were always clean with a handwritten note every day. The first room we had was enormous with 2 sets of french doors looking out to the corner intersection, what a treat! We did have to keep the curtains closed so the room wasn't too hot. The second room (after coming back from Trinidad) was much smaller and much cooler. My conclusion on this is that each room has the same size air vent, so if you want a cool room make sure it's a smaller room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tippiehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahabanasi, Técnico de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Telegrafo, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guests:

We appreciate your time to rate us on Tripadvisor.
We would like to welcome you here in the future.
Thanks a lot for your comments. We are changing some things in order to offer a best ambiance to our clients, thanks a lot for recognize it.
Please, if possible, we would like to know it in advance about your next visit to Havana to give you a personal welcoming ,even if you decide to select another Hotel to stay.
Thanks for your visit!!!!
It will always be a great pleasure to receive you here again.

We wish you all the best in your personal and professional life.

Regards,
Public Relations


Apreciamos su tiempo para evaluar en Tripadvisor.
Nos gustaría darle la bienvenida aquí en el futuro.
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Estamos cambiando algunas cosas con el fin de ofrecer un mejor ambiente a nuestros clientes, muchas gracias por reconocerlo.
Por favor, si es posible, nos gustaría saber de antemano acerca de su próxima visita a La Habana a fin de darles una bienvenida personal, incluso si usted decide elegir otro hotel para alojarse.
Gracias por su visita!!
Siempre será un placer recibiros aquí de nuevo.

Le deseamos todo lo mejor en su vida personal y profesional.

Saludos,
Relaciones públicas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had big expectations, the rooms are high ceiling and very beautiful. Excellent location, 2 minutes from the capitol.Although there was a window, I couldn't open it because it was so hot, yet the room had a strong smell of humidity and lack of ventilation and use. It was only a night before an early morning flight, chose not to return for my longer stay. Went to a casa, cheaper price and much better quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Alligator54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahabanasi, Técnico Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Telegrafo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your time to rate us on Tripadvisor.

Thanks for your comments, we apologize for all the inconveniences.
We wish you all the best in your personal and professional life.
Thanks for visit us!

Regards,
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,600 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,564 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#15 of 79 in Havana
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegrafo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegrafo

Property: Hotel Telegrafo
Address: Calle Prado 408, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Telegrafo 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GeneralThe historic city hotel was established in 1860 and was then located on Calle Amistad. Around 1888, it was relocated to its present position on the busy corner of Prado and Neptuno streets. In 1911 the hotel was completely rebuilt, and when it reopened it was regarded by the press of the day as the most modern hotel in the city and ranked amongst the top eleven hotels in Latin America. The hotel of today combines modern and colonial elements in its architecture to create a wonderful unity of present and traditional styles. On offer are a total of 63 comfortable guest rooms with excellent views out over the city. The inner courtyard with the original brickwork of its arches forms an interesting contrast to the new design features. The hotel has a large ceramic mural in the form of a collage, showing elements of Havana's colonial architecture and a fountain which appears to magnify the courtyard and its surrounding ruins. There are 54 standard rooms, three suites, and six junior suites available, in addition to a lobby area with a reception desk manned around the clock, a hotel safe, a cloakroom, a currency exchange facility, and lift access. Guests at this air-conditioned establishment may also take advantage of the restaurant, the snack bar, shop. Also available here is room service (charges apply), a public Internet connection (charges apply), and parking for those arriving by car (charges apply). MasterCard and VISA are accepted as methods of payment.Surrounding AreaA famous institution in Havana since 1888, this hotel has since the early 20th century been considered one of the best in all Latin America. It lies directly beside the beach and is only a few minutes on foot from the ''Museo de Bellas Artes'', the ''Capitolio'', and the ''Gran Teatro de La Habana'', famous for presenting the best opera and ballet performances in the city.Property-InformationThe elegant hotel restaurant specialises in Cuban and international haute cuisine. Its decoration creates a unique place with a classical ambience, ready to welcome guests back at any time. Its appointment with modern furniture creates a timeless atmosphere in the halls with stained glass windows. The restaurant is situated on the ground floor of the building and offers guests a breakfast buffet or an individual breakfast, lunch à la carte, lunch from a set menu (offered for groups), and a set menu in the evening.Room-InformationAll rooms are fitted with an en suite bathroom with a bathtub and hairdryer, centrally regulated air conditioning, a double or king-size bed, cable TV, a telephone, a room safe, a minibar, and either a balcony or terrace as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegrafo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegrafo Hotel Havana
Hotel Telegrafo Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing