We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location, helpful staff”
Review of Hostal Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Valencia
Ranked #144 of 698 Havana B&B and Inns
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 3 nights and we enjoyed it! One of our suitcases did not came with our flight and the front desk staff made good effort to help us by further inquiries and informed us promptly about the arriving. Very good! Breakfast is served on a plate, not as a buffet. It is well prepared. The hotel is attached with The Commodore hotel, were we actually had our room, which was spacious, suite-like. You could not think of a better location when you want to stay in Havana Vieja. It's right in the center, and comfortable. You best book this hotel in advance with a travel agency or, when you are in Cuba, through one of the local agencies: they might get a discount which you won't get when you arrive at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por seleccionarnos para disfrutar de su estancia en la Habana. Ha sido un placer servirla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    149
    47
    27
    8
See reviews for
28
173
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here for one night at the start of our holiday and three nights at the end, each time in a different room.
It's a beautiful place with a central courtyard, open to the sky which was interesting when it rained!
High on charm and atmosphere, the staff are friendly and helpful - one receptionist, noting it was my husband's birthday as we were checking in, discretely informed the band who struck up with 'Happy Birthday' as we entered the courtyard - a lovely welcome.
We were also fortunate to be included in their holiday celebrations the night before New Year's Eve, a warm, sincere and truly unforgettable experience.
It's very well placed for exploring Old Havana and beyond. The food was good enough - the usual fare from eating places in and around Havana - and the bar was very good (great Mojitos and iced lemonade, thank you Joel!) There was invariably a band playing traditional music which really adds to the atmosphere and 'Son+Son' were really superb.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and stylish with high ceilings and a balcony, the only downside being the shower in our room, (Valencia), which was little more then a dribble. The first room we had, had a lovely bathroom with an old fashioned tub and shower (room no. only, no name).
We would definitely recommend this place and will go back if we return to Havana.

Room Tip: The rooms off the second gallery, (furthest from the stairs, not overlooking the main courtyard) wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por seleccionarnos para disfrutar de su estancia en la habana. Ha sido un placer poder brindarle un detalle tan bonito el dia del cumpleaños de su esposo. la esperamos de vuelta y le aseguramos quedar igualmente satisfecha con nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We found this place after our first night in Havana where we had our original stay at the Telegrafo hotel cancelled due to the company we had booked through (cleverhotels.com) going bust. We walked down the main road into the old town and checked out several hotels along the way. The Hostal Valencia was by far the friendliest and let us look at two rooms before we chose room Alzira at the front with balcony going all the way around the corner. Its a stunning room at least 10 meters x 6 with an incredibly high ceiling. Okay yes we did hear the water being pumped into the tanks before 7 am, but somehow this just seemed part of the Cuban experience and we found that we liked being up and out early due to the hot weather, so it really didn't bother us. I am surprised to read that some people on here have reviewed the breakfasts badly, maybe they have changed them as we found them fantastic with quite a lot of variety. We spent 6 nights here and would go back again as we found the staff very friendly and helpful and the location just can't be beat.

Room Tip: Room Alzira for the sheer size and beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 17 March 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Le agradecemos su criterio sobre nuestros servicios nos sentimos contentos de haber logrado satisfacer sus espectativas en nuestro hostal, sera un honor volverlo a recibier en nuestra instalacion para brindarle nuevamente nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms need some renovation, although they really are spacy. Especially the bathrooms are out of date, shower was hopeless and the restroom has no door!
In the morning at six (6!)the water supply truck comes by to provide the hotel with water. The sound of the pump is gigantic it must be well over 100 DB and it last for over a quarter of an hour to do it. And they come back one more time. Don't book a room at the front... We were transferred to the back side of the hotel, which turned out to be 'El Comendadeur', the two hastals are connected and can only be recognised by the color of the paint. It rained heavily one night and our room was follded completely. So don't book a room at the back side either. In any case, too much money for the 200/170 USD per night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus criterios. lo tomaremos muy en cuenta para lograr el maximo de satisfaccion de nuestros clientes. Nuestro equipo de trabajo tomara las medidas que corresponden en este caso para evitar estas molestias Le saluda atentamente. Equipo de direccion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

brooklyn
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loved this place. Definitely see myself visiting it again. The staff is so friendly and always willing to help. It has a old romantic charm to it perfect for couples. High ceilings as well as low ceilings so you can have a taste of both worlds depending which room your in. Lovely courtyard area. Breakfast was "okay", But at least your in the center of town where so much is available. Recommending Julio to the fullest! Hopefully he is still there when I decide to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Nos complace mucho que haya salido satisfeccho con nuestros servicios. Lo esperamos pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were transferred here from another hotel after a problem with our room so I'm afraid I can't comment on the price or value for money. But of the three hotels we stayed in in Havana (Terral, Iberostar Parque Central) and this one, this definitely had the most character. The location is fabulous, right in the heart of the Old Town, though it does suffer from noise issues as a result, as, I'm sure, do most of the Old Town hotels (double glazing and 'indoor voices' not heard of in Cuba!) We arrived very late (4am) and slept right though till check out so we didn't really get to enjoy all the hotel has to offer but it did look very pretty and the room was huge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaonline79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus criterios y nos sentimos contentos de que hayan salido satisfechos con nuestros servicios. Los esperamos pronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for three nights in this small hotel in November 2013. It is a restored former home of a wealthy family with about 13 very distinct rooms. A very convenient location! The look and feel is unque, with tall blue spanish doors and windows, 20 foot high ceilings, and an open patio in the centre of the building. When it rains, the water pours down the atrium-like core, but that is part of the charm. The rooms are large and comfortable and have air conditioning. Even though it is in the centre of Old Havana, we staying in room #11 and it was quiet enough at night with the white noise of the air con. The room comes with breakfast, which is very good. And the La Paella restaurant downstairs had live music one evening that we really enjoyed. Only problems were that, although the bed was comfy and king sized, the mattress looked old and the sheets did not fit. Also, we had to pay cash - were not able to use our credit cards once on the entire trip.

Room Tip: As each room is unique, ask to see a few choices before you settle in. Do not book through "Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ciudadhabanasilvio, Gerente at Hostal Valencia, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Sr. Nos complace mucho que le haya gustado nuestro hostal y haya disfrutado su noche de estancia, respecto a sus insatisfacciones las tomaremos muy en cuenta para resolverlas de inmediato para nosotros la satisfaccion de nuestros clientes es nuestro principal objetivo a cumplimentar.
Equipo de trabajo del Hostal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#23 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#34 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Comendador
Hotel El Comendador
#40 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Valencia

Property: Hostal Valencia
Address: Calle de los Oficios 53, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 698 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Valencia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Valencia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing