We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Casa in Habana Vieja”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa De La Calle Luz Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #266 of 688 Havana B&B and Inns
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly Casa in Habana Vieja”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We chose this casa for its central location in Habana Vieja. It is within walking distance of the Capitolium, the main shopping streets (San Rafal for the more local shops) and Obrapia or O'Reilly for the most touristy ones, as well as the beautifully restored Plaza Vieja, Plaza las Armas and Plaza Catedral.
The street itself may seem frightening at first - we were two young women travelling together and were first shocked by the amount of attention we were getting from the local men. Once we got used to it, we walked the streets comfortably, even at night returning from a dinner on Plaza Vieja or nearby Mercadero.
The Casa owners were a friendly elderly couple whom I believe we met (most of the time there is an owner/manager there, taking care of the bookings and helping in any question you have who speaks good English). There are some other persons taking care of the food and cleaning during the day/evening, so there is always someone at home to let you in.
This casa is on the 2nd floor of the building - just to remember if you are coming with a large piece of luggage and the taxi driver won't help carry it up for you. Also, just to keep in mind - the 3 bathrooms open from the hall/foyer area and are used by all the guests.
The large dining room in the semi-opened terrace is refreshing on a hot evening and the rooftop also has a table and a hammock to relax in after a long day. The casa is in the heart of town - so if you are a light sleeper, bring your earplugs as life stops late / starts early in this part of town!
This is a busy casa with returning guests so book in advance - there is internet connection so its likely you will get a quick response.

Room Tip: There are 3 guest bedrooms along the hallway - i believe they are pretty much the same, equipped wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chili234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    12
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
15
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Most of it has already been said here, I can just confirm that the atmosphere is great, the location perfect for old Havana, the staff very friendly, the food is good and the rooftop terrace amazing. Say hello to Che if you stay there.

Make sure to check for availability in advance, as the place is quite known and therefore can often be sold out.

Enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This was such the perfect place to stay in Vieja Habana. The family was so welcoming, the food was great and the rooftop is the best spot to chill out after a long day of walking around the city. Thanks for everything and see you next time !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marijoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've spent nearly two weeks there, and I totally recommand this place. Large and bright rooms. Huge rooftop-terrace from where you can look at the bustle of the old town and hear «gallos» through the morning sky. The family is ultra-nice. Seriocha the young owner is always ready to help you («todo bien»!), and you can even practice spanish with his lovely little boy, a future baseball-superstar! The food is rather good too, from fresh fruits every morning to grilled fishes now and then, cooked by the always-smiling Olguita (she makes you feel like home!). I you want a clean, relaxed and positive place, right in the midst of the action, this is definitely the spot you have to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPLEHOUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed for one night with a friend and liked it so much that I came to stay there again for two nights at the end of my trip. The casa is located quite centrally in walking distance between Havana Vieja and the Capitol. I felt perfectly safe also alone in the streets at night (the area seems a bit dodgy at first sight, but well, that's Habana vieja!). The casa is on the top floor, you have to climb the stairs until the end and ring the bell. The casa itself is very nice, colonial style, clean, safe. There are several rooms (= you might meet other travellers), the room I've stayed in had a window, fan and aircondition, an empty cupboard, a mirrow, shelves, fresh linen and a towel. There are several bathrooms, a roofed terrace for the breakfast and dinner as well as a big roof terrace with an amazing view. The breakfast was plenty of delicious fruit (too much to eat actually), freshly squeezed juice, bread, honey, eggs, coffee and tea. I had dinner only once but it was very good too. And last but not least, the owners are very friendly, open- and service-minded and relaxed people. I felt as if I was staying with old friends. To anyone who wants to stay in a casa particolar in Habana vieja, I highly recommend the Casa della Calle Luz.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elisabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

It is a very good place to stay in Havana. The rooms are big and clean, there are towels as well. There are 3 bathrooms that we could use and a huge terrace with an amazing view of La Habana Vieja. The hosts were super nice and they made us to feel like home! It was brilliant to have breakfast on the balcony before visiting Havana all day. The breakfast was amazing, the best I've ever had in all Cuba! Lost of fresh fruit, good quality food and very good coffee! To be honest, it was not that easy to get it in the other places that I've stayed at. So I totally recommend it, I'm sure I will be back there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrycja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOSANGELESC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The House of Mrs juanita is the best House in which I hospedado.se found in central location, excellent service, exquisite food and its rooms have very good comfort. no doubt every time you visit cuba there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YUGALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
0.0 mi away
Casa de Lourdes y Maykel
Casa de Lourdes y Maykel
#158 of 688 in Havana
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Yaime & Manolito
Casa Yaime & Manolito
#14 of 25 in Playa Larga
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Vieja
Hostal Casa Vieja
#55 of 265 in Havana
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa La Terraza de Mily
Casa La Terraza de Mily
#5 of 25 in Playa Larga
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Particular Consulado 106
0.0 mi away
Casa Costa Azul
Casa Costa Azul
#1 of 11 in Playa Larga
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De La Calle Luz Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De La Calle Luz Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Casa De La Calle Luz Bed & Breakfast
Address: Calle Luz 310 | entre Calle Habana y Compostela, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 688 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial house, Constructed In 1913, comfort, sure, Wide, Drafty And Natural Exelente Iluminacion nailed in the HISTORICAL CENTER OF THE OLD HAVANAN, HERITAGE OF THE HUMANITY, two livin room, 4 Baths, two terrazas:a Terrace Restaurant, Where Breakfast And Dinners Are Offered, Beside Serving As Terrace Of Being, a big Terraza Viewing-point with panoramic sight of 360 degrees, Enabled To read, To sunbathe, To enjoy The Sight Of Old Havana And Bordering Places, To play Children Of Sure Form, or To rest In Una Hamaca, 4 Wide Rooms For Accomodations, fans, Air conditioning, Minibar, A matrimonial bed and The personal one per room ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing