We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy, good location but could be a little bit more friendly”
Review of The Purple House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Purple House
Ranked #172 of 688 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tidy, good location but could be a little bit more friendly”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Alejandro and Ivette's house and it was okay. The room and house was tidy and the location was just awesome, close to the old town of havana and casa de la musica. But the atmosphere was rather businesslike than familiar which I missed a little bit. The breakfast was also too little compared to what we got in the other casas in Cuba. In general, I would recommend the house but wouldn't expect too much family flair.

Room Tip: Rather choose to sleep in the orange house than in the purple one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weizbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    26
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
45
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We visited Cuba in April-May 2014 and started to look for casas about a month before. We just picked La Casa Purpura quite randomly, it was in good location.The reservation went smoothly, Alejandro answered quickly.
We spent 4 nights in this friendly casa and it was the best choice we could do! It´s in very good location, Malecon and Old Havana just steps away. Alejandro and Ivette are defenately the great persons, Alejandro gave us tour in town and Ivette prepeared us nice dinners.
The rooms are clean with privat bathrooms and the house has excellent terrace where you can sunbathe and drinks. We had great time! Strongly recommend this casa!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraVarep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well then, after three weeks in Cuba, I must recommend the Casa where it all started.
We arrived with an order to a different casa that was not received. so we had to look for another Casa to sleep in. When we appeared at the door step of La Casa Purpura Dr. Alejandro and Ivette(speaks fluent English) greeted us and surprisingly they had a room available for us.
The whole house is dedicated to tourists and its a grate place to meet other travelers.
its nice and comfortable and at a good price!
First thing he took us on a tour to the city, starting in the center of Havana and the Old City followed by the history of the place and his recommendations.
Alejandro just arranged everything, planned the trip with us from ordering the buses and reserving the other Casas.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afula, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Me and my husband choice to spend our honeymoon in cube, and this place was defiantly a good way to start. We stay there 3 night and to more night in the end of our trip in Cuba.
We meet at first Alejandro and in the morning we meet his wonderful wife jvette. The are pleasant and make you feel like home. The room are very clean, and there is nothin that was missing. Very safe casa and the location is the best!!! Good breakfast also!
In our first night we ask so many questions and Alejandro and his wife jvette help us with any thing we just want. They have a positive energy and give you so much information about havana, Cuba and life.
It was so good at this place that we just return there for 3 more days.
Don't waste your time to look for another place, go to there is the best!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed with Alejandro and Ivette for two nights during our stay in Havana. Their home is clean, the common area welcoming, comfortable and beautiful. It is located in a neighbourhood- an area where folks live their everyday lives.

The room was small and clean, with a private bathroom, air conditioning and a mini-fridge. We were encouraged to use the common space to relax whenever we wanted, and enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the world go by.

Breakfasts were more food than we could manage, with an array of fresh fruit, fresh bread, and delicious coffee.

On the day we were to return to Varadero, our driver contacted Alejandro to let him know that his car had broken down. After letting us know, Alejandro quickly arranged another car and driver at the same price. He went above and beyond what we could have asked of anyone hosting us.

We would absolutely recommend staying here. It's clean, affordable, friendly and walking distance to everything you'd need to see in Havana.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MizAnna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was my first visit to Cuba, so I did not know what to expect. I will recommend La Casa Purpura for travellers to Havana. My impression of Ivette and Allejandro were that they were trustworthy and possessed high integrity. They were friendly and informative, gave lots of useful advice. My impression was that they gave special care and attention to all their guests, making us feel special and welcome. For the traveller who wish for cheap and personal accomodation this is excellent. By the time whe left we felt we where saying goodbye to our new friends.

Anne Elisabet (Norway).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Elisabet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed firstly somewhere else, and my sister and husband stayed here.
We left Havana and they offered to look after our bags til we came back and stayed with them.
I was sick on arrival and the Doctor owner was caring and gave me good advice and they are so lovely, kind and friendly.
We will recommend without a doubt, and so would the rest of my family.
Breakfast is plentiful too.
Thanks for everything! The loveliest people you could hope to meet!
You can read about our world trip at exploramumourworld trip too

Room Tip: Check for an en-suite and a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Telegrafo
Hotel Telegrafo
#8 of 79 in Havana
1,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
466 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Particular Consulado 106
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Purple House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Purple House

Property: The Purple House
Address: San Nicolas #213 apartamento 1 | between Concordia y Virtudes, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 688 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Rent a Colonial House in Havana Center, just 1 street of the famous Salsa Music House, and 3 street of the Malecón Havanero. We include breakfast and a City Tour to visit interesting places in the Old City ¨FREE¨. Our rooms has airconditioner, hot and cold water 24 hr, Minibar, TV, Fan, Window and Independence Entrance. The price for night is 25.00 to 35.00 CUC (depend of the seasson). We help you to plane your trip in our country. We speak English.¨We receive you like guest and we say good bye like family¨. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing