We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Paladare in havana!”

Paladar La Esperanza
Ranked #132 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Paladare in havana!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This home, it's fabulous design and even better food make it well worth the short cab ride to get there. The owner inherited the home and has wonderful taste; his menu, drinks and atmosphere are absolutely the best. He is very used to groups, so Americans can request their groups reserve there for nights at a Paladare. His were our favorite mojitos of the trip!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6inbarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Charming host; fresh, excellently prepared food; lovely surroundings.”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Well worth the visit. The food was excellent, yet moderately priced. Good cocktails and good wine. Charming atmosphere with large doors and windows opening onto a lovely patio. Cool breeze (aided by electric fans, when needed). Our group of fifteen visited one evening. We were served at two beautiful tables set with china and crystal. The food was freshly prepared and served hot. I can't say enough good things about this lovely place and its talented owner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eagereater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening with real drinks!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We went with three friends and had a lovely evening eating out on the patio. I had the house chicken, which I can recommend. Especially notable, besides the friendly host(!) were the really good drinks - head and shoulders better than anything we had in a state-run place. Daquiries and mojitos both!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ewparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioannina, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“feels like home!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

i 've been to Havana twice and one of the reasons of my second visit was this restaurant. The atmosphere was amazing, every little detail in the art nouveau decoration, the owners, the food, the cutlery, everything made me feel like i was in my dream home. Maybe because it is a home. This paladar is the ideal restaurant where someone can enjoy a very good dinner and at the same time feel the spirit and the power of the history of a whole country. I want to built one in my country!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent food and charming atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

If visiting Havanna you should definitely experience this paladar. It´s difficult to notice from the street but once you enter you feel the charm of the place. I have only good things to say about the food and service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar La Esperanza also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Paladar La Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing