We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a Reservation”

Paladar La Esperanza
Ranked #132 of 775 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban, Caribbean, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a Reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

I came here with a large party (tour group). We were running late (30 minutes). Thankfully the host/owner was very gracious/welcoming and worked hard to get a few people in our party to their evening show on time. The setting was lovely and the food was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank 1travlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    10
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow, What a Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Even if the food had only been ordinary, the ambiance - a large private home, elegantly furnished in styles of the last century - look at the photos above, with the china hanging on the walls along with the paintings - old crystal wineglasses on the table - just had us ready to enjoy the evening.

Then the choices - an eclectic menu. The food was excellent! The service attentive and quick. I loved it..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringfieldFresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stellar and tranquil experience outside the frenzy of Havana.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

You will be so glad you took the short ride to La Esperanza. The food is fabulous, the atmosphere even better. The tranquility of the house is so appreciated after a long day touring in the heat.

You will love the owners and the story of their paladar. Their mojitos are second to none!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6inbarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Memorable home cooking in a home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Fabulous food in a real home. The host's mother sat in the living room the entire time. I was here with a party of 20. That is the maximum this parador could seat. Hugo is a great host! There is a reason this is one of the best paradors in Cuba. The food is great. We were offered our choice of five entrees including a vegetarian selection.One drink was included in our meal. Watch out for the strong cocktails! They will leave you reeling!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlchik2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special place in Miramar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have had many memorable meals at La Esperanza over the past 5 years and am finally getting around to writing a review. Going there is a highlight of every trip I take to Havana. The house is a delight, a perfect 50s period piece throughout. Huber the owner is equally delightful. When I apologized for being a bit late for our rez, he scolded me with tongue in cheek, "You NEVER need apologize here, we are here to serve you." The Banana de Ochún is delectable, the red snapper fillet I had was divine. Their daiquiris are the best I have had in Cuba, although the blender is really loud in the dining room! Make sure you call ahead to reserve. Don't miss it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flapichulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar La Esperanza also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Paladar La Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing