We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aperitif time?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Chanchullero de Tapas

El Chanchullero de Tapas
Ranked #15 of 766 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Aperitif time?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very nice place! It has been newly renovated! There is great music, drinks and good food! Do not forget to write your name on the wall as a souvenir!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cherihane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    237
    45
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uetikon am See, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“best bar in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Listening to Jazz, speaking with local People, Smoking a nice cigar, drinking Mojito and enjoying the life... this all happens in this bar.... I love it..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best restaurant in havana, no questions asked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the coolest spot in havana. the vibe is super fun and oddly hip for havana. their specialty is shrimp, and there are a few variations. My favorite was the camarones enchillado, but any of them are great. The plates come with an absurd amount of shrimp, ridiculously seasoned (a rarity in Havana), and with pan el trebol and some veggies on the side. All for $4.50. It's actually insane. Their $2 mojitos and sangrias are also some of the best I had in Cuba and are dizzyingly strong, so be careful (:
Overall, you've gotta go. Hands down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bailando14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cashiers, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent neighborhood bar and grill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had the pleasure of meeting the owner and staff of this neighborhood gem and let me tell you, I think about it all the time. Great food, great prices, I had a special drink and when they ran out of my special elixir, they went and got what they knew I would want. I almost would have eaten here each day in Havana, it is really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltLifeAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

LOVE THIS PLACE! Our Intrepid tour leader brought us to El Chanchullero and we ended up eating here about 4 times during our 8 nights in Havana. The space is quite small with only a handful of tables downstairs and the same upstairs. We never had a problem getting a table, but those who turned up later in the evening invariably ended up in a queue. Although easily crowded, the place has a cosy, relaxed atmosphere and good (although not Cuban) music. Service was excellent and both food and drinks prices were extremely good value. Food was quite simple but was the most flavoursome I think I ate in the whole of Cuba. Generous portions came with salads and little bread rolls. Highly Recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meagsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chanchullero de Tapas also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Chanchullero de Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing