We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hemingway did not drink here”

El Chanchullero de Tapas
Ranked #52 of 916 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

This small, 1 unit wide, trendy cocktail and food joint is well worth finding if you are in Havana. It is not clearly sign posted outside and there was a 20 minute wait to get in.one evening and just after opening at 1pm when we went for lunch. 2 cuc for a Mojito and only 4.50 cuc for a filling but simple dinner, great value and good quality as well. Along with O'Rielly 304 one of the best bars we found over 6 days and we visited 3 times - loved the music!

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank JamieHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 358 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2016

This place was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Havana. Ice cold beer, tasty mojitos and the food was delicious. The place is a bargain, too. Both our meals (for two people) there were less than $20 CUC and included entrees and multiple drinks. Great music and friendly staff.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

The food was great, decent portion sizes and inexpensive. Restaurant is open from 13:00 till midnight. Expect waiting outside in line to get table.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This is a hidden gem, although it's only a few blocks from the main tourist area, and could be a huge success in any European city. While in Havana we wanted to try out several places, but came back here more than once. It is very popular and always has a big crowd outside, but although they don't rush you, somehow they manage to seat you in a shorter time than you expect. The food is excellent and great value, and although it's billed as a tapas place each dish is a meal in itself. The place has a great cool atmosphere and the staff are friendly and very efficient. Excellent!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 753simong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015 via mobile

We visited here twice and the second time were very happy o wait the 30-40 minutes in line we needed to get a seat. They served us beer while we waited which also helped. Cool little venue with a mix of Cuban and European decor. The food is simple but excellent and very affordable. Perfect for the young or shoe-string traveller.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank ben f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chanchullero de Tapas also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Chanchullero de Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing