We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clarita and Orlando's House
Ranked #13 of 688 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I confirm what I read in the reviews when I decided to stay with Clarita and Orlando. A great place to stay if traveling to Havana. The location is excellent to explore Havana walking. From the first moment Clarita and Orlando make you feel at home. Breakfast is excellent, the best I had during my almost two week stay in Cuba. If you are looking for a casa particular in Havana definitely this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthforourkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarita M, Propietario at Clarita and Orlando's House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, por elegir nuestra casa, nosotros tambien estamos muy contentos de compartir con ustedes y los esperamos algun dia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    35
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
197
36
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Another stay with Clarita and Orlando, and as before, exceptional customer service. I arrived with a smashed up face from a fall in Vinales, and Clarita immediately went into action with medicaments and, unasked for, prepared delicious chicken soup, which was just what I needed after a sleep in the quiet bedroom. During the next days I was taken (twice) to the Clinic in Miramar, driven by Orlando, and accompanied by Clarita. I felt bad to put them out so, but Clarita's response was "you are far from your home and your family, it's normal".
A word about the location -if you don't feel like walking into Havana Vieja (or anywhere else for that matter), here's what Clarita told us: turn right out of the Casa and walk down to the traffic lights. Cross over the road (if you are going Havana Vieja direction )and stick out your hand when you see one of the big old cars approaching. These are shared taxis that run specified routes.. Tell the driver where you want to go ie Parque Central, and give him 1CUC for 2 people. This is a lot cheaper than taking a normal taxi or bici-taxi, and works for all over town.
Clarita, Orlando and their daughter Clency have just won another award for their Casa. There really is no better place to stay in Havana..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoverRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarita M, Propietario at Clarita and Orlando's House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, por elegir nuestra casa, nosotros tambien estamos muy contentos de compartir con ustedes y los esperamos algun dia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loreto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I decided to visit Havana over new years and both hotels I normally stay at were booked. So I went through Trip Advisor looking for a suitable place close to the Nacional hotel and found Clarita and Orlando's. She only had one day open but managed to find me a place my first night and then the next night at their casa. They are a wonderful couple and the room was spotless clean with a fridge of beer, water, and soft drinks and the bathroom had lots of hot water. Will plan to stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realtybaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarita M, Propietario at Clarita and Orlando's House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, por elegir nuestra casa, nosotros tambien estamos muy contentos de compartir con ustedes y los esperamos algun dia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great hospitality, great people.

Clarita and Orlando have been in this for years. Everything's perfect: hospitality, breakfast, help (whatever question you have). The rooms are clean, air conditioned, great showers. Very low noise level.

Within 10-15mins you can walk into Habana Vieja as well as into Vedado.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_in_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarita M, Propietario at Clarita and Orlando's House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, por elegir nuestra casa, nosotros tambien estamos muy contentos de compartir con ustedes y los esperamos algun dia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in Clarita & Orlando's house in mid-October & we enjoyed it immensely. It is located right on the Malecon in central Havana (on sunny mornings the view of the water from the bed was spectacular) & is only a 25 minute walk to old Havana. The room was clean & comfortable & the well-stocked fridge of cold beverages was an added bonus when coming back home on a hot muggy day. The breakfasts were also very filling & delicious (especially the fresh fruit) & we were always so full that we often skipped lunch!
We highly recommend Clarita's casa. Her family is warm & welcoming & we felt well taken care of. We would definitely go back & stay there again. Thank you for a wonderful time, Clarita, Orlando, & Clency!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontheflyallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Clarita and Orlando´s place for 5 days. Clarita was like a mother to us. We had some problems when we arrived in Havana due a pickpoket in Mexico which we realised after arriving Havana. Clarita was extremely helpful both practically and emotionally. She went to the police with us and help us to make a report. We were able to use her phone to cancel the credit cards. Moreover, she gave us a lot of emotinal support and cheered us up in difficult times. The location is great, looking straight to the sea and famous Malecon street. The breakfast was massive, we could not even finish it, so we took away some of it for later. She also helped us to organise other casa particulars in Cuba. Overall, we had an amazing time with Clarita and Orlando, they make you fell you are part of the family. Thank you Clarita and Orlando!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed with Clarita the first two and last two nights of our two-week trip through Cuba, and thanks to her help we didn't have to look for any other accommodation. Upon arriving we told her where we wanted to go and how many days we wanted to stay in each place, and when we came back that evening she had found affordable, good houses for the five to stay together during the entirely of our trip. This was no small feat!
In addition to such incredible helpfulness and organizational abilities, Clarita is warm and friendly, making you feel really welcome. She serves one of the best breakfasts we had in Cuba.
Her house is right on the Malecón, a stroll away from Habana Vieja. If we return to Cuba we will definitely stay with her again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,602 reviews
4.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terral
Hotel Terral
#7 of 79 in Havana
466 reviews
4.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 79 in Havana
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarita and Orlando's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarita and Orlando's House

Property: Clarita and Orlando's House
Address: Marina # 61 Apto 35 Entre Horno y Vapor. Centro Habana, Havana 10300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 688 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing