We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miramar Melia Habana”
Review of Melia Habana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Habana
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Miramar Melia Habana”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here on a group trip with a large number of Americans using the Executive floor service. I found the hotel had good rooms and attentive service. The breakfast available in the morning had lots of choices. Internet access was good. The elevators were small and made me a little uneasy. Nicely decorated for the holidays.

Room Tip: Consider the top floors and executive level service
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mrs Marrymorr,

We appreciate very much that you took some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel located in Miramar , with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Havana was wonderful as your comments about our level rooms and attentive service, as you expected and will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your next visit.

Cordially,


Lixandra Escobar Lòpez

Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    1,213
    381
    96
    63
See reviews for
645
1,456
140
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

No surprises here. Felt completely at home, and very looked after. The internet across the hotel works great and the food is excellent.

The hotel is a bit of an older property, perhaps a bit dated. But the staff are all very helpful and friendly and the place is kept clean.

I don't normally stay in chain hotels - but our host held his wedding reception here, and it worked really well

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernie21DEC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mr ernie21DEC2012,

We appreciate immensely that you took some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Hotel full service & friendly staff, with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Havana was wonderful and you felt as home.
We will be very happy and pleased to pass your gentle opinions to all, because comments like yours, motivate them to improve the quality of the services they provide.

I hope to have the honour of greeting you in Melia Havana soon.

Regarding
Lixandra Escobar Lòpez

Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a standard room 21st - 25th Nov.

The quality of food in this hotel is abissmal. I don't hold with the fact that some say, "Well this is Cuba" & I'll tell you for why as for part of my holiday, I spent 10 nights in their sister hotel, Melia Cayo Coco, (see separate review), which had a much better selection, quality & freshly cooked food. You'd expect the standard in the capital to be far better than 'out in the sticks', some 500 miles & an hour's flight away.

The buffet breakfast was reasonable but I'd advise eating elsewhere for your evening meal, otherwise. Although it was only usually around 8pm, (the Miramar restaurant where most take their meals, opens at 7:30pm), you'd be faced with pre-cooked food of various descriptions, kept warm under strong lights, that was drying out. The only option to such meals, if you're lucky, was if their was a single chef on station that night, to cook something from scratch, otherwise you were stuck with a salad.

Additionally to all this, the staff in the restaurant appear particularly indifferent to you, unless you are a native Spanish speaker. This however doesn't extend to the rest of the hotel staff, who are most helpful & professional. I must mention JESUS & in particular SYLVIA on reception. Sylvia in particular, helped tremendously on our first day, as the evening we arrived after a long flight from Paris, although we were on half-board, the Miramar staff insisted that we pay for our evening meal. Two salads, 45 CUC. Sylvia & a colleague, sorted this out the next morning & we received a full refund.

The hotel itself is good, 5* Cuban, 3 to 4ish* European. The rooms are clean & cleaned, everyday to a good standard.

The hotel is situated in a decent district of Havana, (although we went out for a walk at night, the area like much of Havana is lacking in decent street lighting but as long as your sensible, you'll not come to harm & the Cubans are a great race of people. Hope that doesn't come across as a patronising statement), however there is little in the way of alternative venues for nightlife in the area, other than the Titanium Bar, in front of the hotel. The other nearby hotel bars are a little down market.

It's a shame that overall I would only rate this hotel as average, being let down by food quality & the attitude of some staff. They could learn a lot from their sister hotel in Cayo Coco.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeenIt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
463 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The problems that this hotel faces are the problems that Havana and Cuba face - a struggling infrastructure. For instance, internet access is breathtakingly slow - but you can't blame the hotel for that. I stayed on the Executive Floor, where breakfasts are served, and was really very impressed with both the food and the service. A large comfortable room, with a good bathroom.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank davidh of england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear client Davidh of england,

We appreciate immensely your taking some of your invaluable time to share your experience at our Very comfortable Hotel with others.

I am very glad to know that your visit to Melia Havana was as great trip, was impressed with the food and service, as you expected and will be honoured and pleased to greet you personally during your third visit.

Cordially,

Lixandra Escobar Lòpez

Jefe de Calidad y CAC / Quality Manager & Assistant Guest

Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I never write reviews and always think people are too critical/fussy on here, but this time I'm going to share my thoughts!

The Hotel itself is fairly good - by Cuban standards only! Rooms, buildings, decor etc a bit dated, but generally clean and spacious. More like a 3* star UK hotel.
Pool is great.
Food is pretty poor - but again you can't expect much better in Cuba.
Lifts are virtually non-working. If you're staying on the 4th floor or above, you have to wait approx 7 mins for the lift to arrive, then at least 3 mins in the lift (with no air con) visiting various floors over and over until you arrive at your required floor!
Wifi is expensive - but no more so than any other hotels in Cuba.

My main complaint - DO NOT BOOK WITH THE HOLIDAY PLACE!
They changed the time of our coach transfer from Melia to Trinidad (5 hour journey), without telling us, and hence the coach left without us!
Had to fight for their help as to what to do - they eventually told us to get a private taxi to try and catch up with the coach, promised a refund which we only received at the end of our holiday after numerous complaints/chasing etc.
Very poor service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank caz5325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear client Caz5325:

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write and for bringing these details to our attention.
We regret that your expectations in our hotel were not fulfilled and we honestly apologize.

We will gladly let our staff know about our clean rooms and great swimming pool your kind comments as they will give them confidence to increase the quality of their daily services.

The information you have provided will have an impact on any improvements, which may be necessary to maintain the level of quality.

We would like to offer our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience resulting from the inappropriate operation of the elevators in our hotel. We should also like to inform you that we are carrying out some renovations to improve the product to meet all our guests´s expectations. We kindly confirm you that this situation was solved.

Regarding your comments about the agency was sent to The Holiday Place.

We will be so glad to welcome you once again.

Regards

Lixandra Escobar López

Jefe de Calidad y CAC/ Quality Manager & Assistant Guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel is definitely overrated. Worst of all though, hotel thieves stole my hearing aids and $150 in cash. I'm 100% certain that the thief stole the hearing aids from my toiletry kit because they were stowed in a leather pouch which they probably thought contained money or jewelry. Otherwise, who would steal hearing aids that are of no value to anyone else? Of course I reported this theft to the Hotel. Their response to my loss of more than $2k: nada, zero, zip. They did not even acknowledge receipt of my complaint. And the $150 that was stolen? We're 99% certain it was in the safe, but the Hotel just blew off our complaint. If you ignore the warnings posted on TripAdvisor and only read the Hotel generated reviews, hold tight to your cash and anything that might appear to be of value. The Hotel staff are well aware that most visitors to Cuba are carrying cash, rather than credit cards. But be aware you likely won't find all your cash missing, but instead, to avoid immediate detection, the thieves will steal just a few of the larger bills, hoping you won't be aware of the theft. But we kept a daily log of expenses, so we know how much was stolen.

Otherwise, the best view from the Hotel is to the east where you can see the flocks of vultures (literally) circling over the rocky and unkempt beach. Be careful if you take a walk outside the Hotel, especially if you're alone, and be prepared to fend off the aggressive beggars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bzbzbzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, General Manager at Melia Habana, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Client Bzbzbzbee,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write and for bringing these details to our attention.

We felt very uneasy after reading your comments regarding the loss of some of your personal belongings and money during your stay in our Hotel.
Our guest assistance department handles promptly all guests’ requests and concerns and keeps record of them. We checked in all our files and records and found no reference to any incident reported by you.
Unfortunately we were no acquainted with any of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.

Based on your comments we absolutely understand how bad you might have felt with this occurrence. We would like you to know that our Hotel has welcome tourists from all over the world for more than 15 years and we have always been praise for the honesty and friendliness of our staff.

Cuba is one of the safest countries in the world, with a very low rate of violent crime. On the island, tourists are treated with respect by the local population and are fascinated by the hospitality of its people.

We by no means accept your remarks, though if you ever again choose Cuba and our Hotel as a touristic destination we would like to have the pleasure to greet you again, this time in person, then we will have the chance to make you change your views of our staff and of the Cuban people.

Best regards

Stefano Sturni

Director General / General Manager

Hotel Meliá Habana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taufkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel is situated in Miramar area, at the seaside, however no beach. It is located in between Neptuno and Comodoro hotels.
In the west (towards Comodoro) a large construction site created some noise and the view on the construction materialk was not so pleasant.
Several shops and reastaurants can be reached by a short walk.
Havanna old town by Taxi 10 CUC. There is also a free hotel bus several times a day.

Really spacious Lobby with 24hr Bar. Wifi 10 CUC for 1hr. A totally mistoned piano is nevertheless being played virtuously so ana ttraction of its own.

Room was big and well equipped. Furniture partly end-of-lifetime - remember you are in Cuba. Bed was good. Balcony with a view. Cleanliness fair, dust spots in bathroom and on towels.

Breakfast sees rich variety, quality somerimes in doubt. Cuban milk rare (this is island wide problem), sausage often cold. Sometimes run out of something, ma it be grilled ham or toast or scislery or cups for coffee! Just due to lazy staff ...

Excellent italian Restaurant - Pasta Pizza Meat Fish Rices. Comparable to good european ones, but expect to spend 20 CUC per person

Service friendly

Late check out would be 80 CUC per hour !

Safety: Elevators wo maintenance records - well, it is Cuba, but spanish hotel owners ...

Security: There are guys in the lobby standing around but free access to rooms , open construction means one is seen easily if one would tamper on doors or so

For Cuba very good - International classification would be 3 stars probably

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm6408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,552 reviews
4.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 79 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Habana

Property: Melia Habana
Address: Ave 3era, e/ 76 y 80 | Miramar Playa, Havana 11300, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#2 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#2 Family Hotel in Havana
#3 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Habana 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Miramar, overlooking the sea, 20 minutes from airport, 5 minutes from Havana Convention Center. 397 rooms, 4 suites, 12 Junior Suites, 98 Royal Service, sea view with balcony, Full bathroom, Air conditioning, Satellite TV, Safe, Minibar, 220 volts. Restaurants: Italian, Oriental Fusion, Grill, cafeteria and Buffets, 5 bars, Swimming pools with children's area, Babysitting service. Sauna, GYM, Massage, WI-FI Internet in all the hotel, Meeting facilities. Live Music. Free shuttle to old Havana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Habana Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Habana
Melia Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing