We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Habana
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$318
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$238
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$93
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$173
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$659
US$475
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$225
US$195
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$192
Official Website
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$103
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3,612)
Filter reviews
3,612 results
Traveller rating
1,660
1,353
419
107
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,660
1,353
419
107
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barold havanafree shuttlesea viewbusiness hotelmiramar districtbreakfast buffetlarge balconyour honeymoonthe hotel offerscigar bargreat poolwi fimini barfive star hotelcurrency exchangetaxi ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
756 - 761 of 3,612 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights which was the right amount of time to really experience Havana and the free bus to the center of the town was very convenient and made the distance you were away from the center bearable.
The hotel has a large pool which was busy when we were there and we did not use it as we preferred to go to the city to explore Havana itself.
There were plenty of dining options in the hotel, the rooms were somewhat dated however you have to remember you are not in a developed country. It was very clear and the staff were attentive and very friendly.
Credit cards are not widely accepted and the hotel puts on a surcharge - American Express card is a no go area FYI,
Overall the hotel served completely our needs and whilst billed as a five star property that it is not but we were happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank riocobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear riocobb from London, United Kingdom:

It has been a pleasure to read your positive comments about our Hotel Melia Habana that you has posted on this web site. Sincerely, thank you very much, because this site is visited by many travelers when they have to choose where to stay.

Our staff will be happy to know that you have evaluated them as friendly and helpful and that you are satisfied with your stay at the hotel. These criteria are encouraged to continue working hard every day to achieve full customer satisfaction.

It is true that we can not accept credit cards linked to U.S. banks. Only VISA and MASTERCARD are accepted.

While we wait for your next visit, we remain grateful and always happy to please you.

Best Regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager
________________________________________

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is a bit too big, with large and spacious nicely furnished rooms, dining hall and reception area. It is fairly clean, given plenty unused space, and the services is reasonably good. The room maids are eager to impress you with towel decoration, but also eager to be paid for that. I especially enjoyed the food and live salsa music during the meals. considering the hotel capacity the pool is quite small, but one can enjoy a cocktail and hang around instead of struggling in the pool. The reception desk is definitely a weak point as few employees speak any foreign languages except Spanish. A security guard can also be a annoyance if you want to bring in a friend from outside of hotel. A small tourist office is almost useless, so have your homework done before you take off to Havana.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the Atlantic coast or the swimming pool - really great view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank annaB6209JI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Anna:

Thank you very much for posting your review about our Meliá Habana. It has been a pleasure to verify you enjoyed our large and spacious rooms decorated to your taste, and also our meals, live music and pool.

Sorry that the reception staff who greeted you at the time could not communicate with you in your language, but just knowing another language is one of the prerequisites for a position as a receptionist and here we have who speak English, French, Italian, German and Russian. However, we find very useful your observation because alerts us to take action to prevent the recurrence fact, means that in a given moment there is not present any to speak the language required by the client.

The fact that visitors are not allowed in the rooms is a safety action for the clients. If you want to add somebody in your room, you can, but you must register at reception and pay for it.

We hope that these details do not constitute an obstacle to your return to our hotel, so we remanin wainting to say you welcome again on your next visit to Havana!

Best regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Horrendously expensive internet.
Breakfast is ok and bar food is nice.
Staff reminded me of service in the Eastern Bloc in the 70s but at least they smiled.
The hotel is rather like a concrete car park with windows.
Agree with others that the pool is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Squeaksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Mr. Squeaksy, from Athens, Greece:

Thank you very much for sharing your views on our Meliá Habana with those many travelers who consult this prestigious site.

I am very glad to know that you liked our breakfast, food, pool and our staff welcomes smile.

We hope you choose us again on your next visit to this beautiful city.

Warmest regards,

Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The best of the hotel is the outdoor pool. The breakfast buffet is average and so is the standard of the rooms. Large rooms, with a large balcony, but one can see how the maintenance is not keeping up to date. But then again, most of Havana is in this situation. Quite hard to judge.
The lobby bar has live music every evening. As in all Havana, internet is scarce, and you have to pay about 20CUC for 2 hours of Wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mima_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mima_Traveller,
We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience with others and for your nice comments about our GREAT SWIMMING POOL and the service we provide. Regarding your suggestions for improvements, we wish to thank you for taking the time for bringing these details to our attention. The information you have provided will have an impact on any upgrading, which may be necessary to support the level of quality.We are glad and proud to know you have enjoyed your vacation and we would like to thank you once again for your comments. We hope you choose again our Hotel for your next vacation.
Warmest regards,
Stefano Sturni
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The security people at this hotel are not polite. they show bad mood and always seem to be hungry. They ask you before greetting whether or not you are guest at the hotel.
Maintenance poor, I called the reception requesting to unblock the toilette of my room and they never sent for somebody to fix it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
3  Thank sedanoclinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanoSturni, Director General at Melia Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Sedanoclinic,
Gracias por compartir en Trip Advisor la experiencia de sus vacaciones del pasado Abril en Meliá Habana. Del mismo modo agradecemos que haya puesto a nuestra atención aquellos detalles que no fueron de su agrado y que deberían ser mejorados para alcanzar y mantener los niveles de calidad a que aspiramos y por los que trabajamos cada día.
Me complace informarle que a partir del 1 de Junio la plantilla de Seguridad del Hotel paso directamente bajo nuestra responsabilidad ya a hacer parte del organico del Hotel. Esta situacion nos ha permitido, evaluar, selecionar y preparar el personal que selecionamos. Hemos trabajado muy duro, conscientes que no hay mejor manera de asegurar la calidad de los servicios, la satisfacción y la fidelización de nuestros clientes, que la actitud positiva y el buen hacer.
Esperamos tener la oportunidad de darle la bienvenida nuevamente muy pronto en nuestro hotel y estoy seguro que podrá apreciar los progresos.
Saludos cordiales,
Stefano Sturni
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews