We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel location”
Review of Hotel El Bosque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel El Bosque
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Havana
maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel location”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here four days during the spring break in march. We enjoyed their delicious food, their choice of fruits, juices and fish. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed "Boris" customer service in the reception desk. During the day they have many activities (dancing, dancing swimming pool activities at the Kholy Hotel ( their partner). My teenage sons enjoyed the pool and the gym at the Kohly Hotel. Overall its a great place to stay. The neighborhood area is very save and peaceful.

Room Tip: The environment is very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beckybegazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    27
    44
    20
    14
See reviews for
19
34
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for a week and found it quite adequate. The room was comfortable, though with little storage space. If you are expecting a high class US style place, this is not for you. If you are ok with more "native" accomodations, this is fine. The only problem we ran in to was a water shut down our last day (front desk gave out water bottles). This is a fine place to sleep and store your clothes while you see Havana. The breakfast was sufficient, coffee excellent, taken on a lovely veranda. The room was clean, but clearly "shopworn". People who stayed at the Hotel Nationale (very fancy) complained to us that their bathrooms smelled and didn't work. This is Cuba, folks. They are just coming into the tourist business, and everything is still circa 1950 at the latest. Go to Verdado if you want a cheap Miami. Stay here if you want real Cuba.

Room Tip: Avoid room over the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My sister and I stayed at this hotel with trepidation after some of the reviews that were written.

Well it was great. Clean/beds very good/breakfast ok. Coffee was good from the bar.

Staff very accomodating and helpful. English was very good (as compared to our Spanish).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone not expecting 5 star.

Ask for a balcony so you can wash and hang clothes out there.

Room Tip: Balcony was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jauntingbrisbane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Cleanliness and hygiene standard about the worst I have ever experienced... Our room was on the margins at check in, which was just past midnight and was not cleaned at all for our three night stay... Bathroom sink was blocked and shower basin leaked all over the bathroom... The hotel very reluctantly and begrudgingly change our room on the last night after a very protracted and unecessarily long complaint... No apology received, by the way! One wonders how the 3 star rating was attained... Not one I would be recommending in a hurry...

On the plus side, we did have an excellent rest of the holiday... Varadero was really good... Trinidad, even better!!...

If Trinidad of interest find Hostal Las Margaritas... Excellent for money!!

Room Tip: If Trinidad of interest find Hostal Las Margaritas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!!
Dirty!!!! the room was not cleaned a single time during 3 day stay at this hotel. Everything is falling apart and no one cares....I understand that the country is poor but at least to mop the floor and clean the bathroom IS possible....I am not talking about luxury, this hotel is lacking even basic hygiene standard.
Plus it's quite far from the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Voronets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guilford, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

After reading reviews, I reserved and stayed at El Bosque my first two nights in Havana. El Bosque is away from the hurly-burly of Habana Vieja and the Vedado, tucked away in the upscale neighborhood of Kohly, just across the Almendares River from the Vedado. The staff was courteous and knowledgable, the room clean, with nice local views from my balcony, and the on-site restaurant fine for breakfast. I never had to wait to use one of the three computers, each in its own private booth, just off the lobby. Never got to use the pool, as I spent most days at my friends' home out in San Augustin, but it looked inviting. In October, the place was very quiet, with only about half the rooms occupied. Although the hotel is a bit down-at-the-heels and in need of a good rehab, nevertheless, it was fine for me, and up to three-star standards. If not pressed for time, it was a pleasant walk to La Rampa and other centers of action in the Vedado, and only a short walk to catch my bus to the western suburbs. The price was very good--for as much as you'd pay for a second- or thrid-rate motel where I live, here in Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eastmagicmountainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Several of the photos shown for this hotel are actually Hotel Kohly, which is about 10 minutes walk away. In particular, all the pool photos are from Hotel Kohly. Hotel El Bosque does not have a pool of its own, but guests here can use the pool at Club Almendares, a short hike down the hill from Hotel El Bosque.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#40 of 79 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Starfish Montehabana
Starfish Montehabana
#22 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.0 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#14 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 79 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Bosque

Property: Hotel El Bosque
Address: 28A e/ 49A y 49C | Reparto Kohly Municipio Playa, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Bosque 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Bosque Hotel
El Bosque Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing