We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Terral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terral
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I was having problems booking a hotel for my trip of 30 days, so I thought I would try a few hotels .. just to see what they were like..

The Hotel Terral is a great hotel.. they say its a 4 star but I would say that it was a 5 star Hotel..
The I have stayed at most of the hotels in Havana and this has to be the best I have been to.
It does not have the old age characteristics of the National hotel or any of the older ones, it is a new modern Hotel.
I got a room on the 4th floor (401)..

The elevator is small but modern with no problems.

The room was very large with a walk-in closet, a separate wash area with two sinks a bath area and a very large bedroom with a large bed and couch.

The water is hot and plentiful, I loved the shower and Jacuzzi.
The bed was queen size and very comfortable with lots of pillows (10) plus extras in the closet.
The couch was large and very comfortable to sit on while watching the TV.
The small fridge was filled with everything plus there were packages of nuts to nibble on if you wanted too.

The balcony was wide and the full length of the room with 2 lounges on it.

There was very little noise from the Malecon. You really had to strain to hear it.

The breakfast was quickly served and well presented.
The chicken dinner I had one night. was one of the best meals I have had in Havana.

The faults of the Hotel.. Yes.. there were a few..

I was out one night and returned at 4:00 am. The shutters over the doors were down and no one was in sight.. After about 5 minutes of shaking the shutters, reception appeared and let me in.. I don't know why everything was locked uptight..
The tables in the restaurant do need glass tops, as another has already said, and I would suggest the seats get a cushion, as the wooden slats look nice but are hard to sit on for any length of time.

The staff were very good with the exception of asking me 2 or 3 times if I wanted the same thing.. They seemed to be a bit confused as to who was serving me.. I guess it was a case of to much service, and that is a rare thing in Cuba.

Would I recommend this Hotel?? Yes.. I would, but remember it is a bit of a walk to the old section of town and it is a very modern Hotel.

I took a few photos of the room I was in but they are not great..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TopdogOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    181
    68
    17
    15
See reviews for
54
272
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HALIFAX
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stopped off at this new Hotel during my January trip to Havana. Read about it in CubaAbsolutely website. Front desk staff very helpful and informative He had another staff member show us a room. It was facing the Malecon and you could see the ocean from the bed. Looked like all the rooms were similar. Decor was very modern and clean with small balconies on two sides of the room. Really nice. This is a small hotel but has fantastic views and is very central ( between Old Havana and Vedado on the Malecon) . I can imagine people-watching on the Malecon in the evening while relaxing in my room . We really felt we were "away" from the noise of the traffic and people so soundproofing must be good.There is a restaurant and bar on the first floor. Staff seem nice and friendly. All in all a good place to stay and I will definitely do so on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCOTTYHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, Cuba
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

had a very warm welcome at this new hotel.The staff were very friendly and some of the best mojitos served here.Breakfasts good and dinners.It is on the malecon so a short walk to the main squares .Highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: The rooms tend to be on the front so the traffic can be noisy,just keep the windows closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhooton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Last december I stayed here with a group of friends ans we were all delighted with the hotel. Location is nice on the Malecon, all rooms (14) with seaview, nice interior & decoration, Japanese styling, small restaurant with a good kitchen and very friendly staff.
For breakfast enjoy this special breakfast or a-la-carte as you wish. Lunch & dinner? They have sushi too!
As a agent I have almost had all hotels in Havana, in this category 4* Terral is TOP! Can you spend more? Take the junior suite, lokks like you are on board of a cruiseship as you do not see the street below.

Room Tip: the junior suites as you see no street and it looks like you are on a cruise ship
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeCuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The staff members were incredibly friendly and helpful. They felt more like friends than staff, and their charm added an immense amount to the value and experience of my trip. Additionally, the hotel's amenities are extremely nice, as the building is very new. The mattresses are soft, the showers and water quality are exceptional, room size is great, and the view is amazing. The entire facility looks and feels very clean. The food service is fine gourmet, and very well-priced. I did not encounter a single negative experience staying here, and I stayed nearly a week. You receive way more value than you pay for, compared to many other hotels in Havana.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Malecon. The suites on the top of the building have amazing balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelterral, Director Comercial at Hotel Terral, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Shan:
That you have felt among friends is the reason for that we work. Your words are our greatest reward . Thank you to share your opinion with the community of Trip Advisor.
All of us will be very happy to see you again.
We hope you come back and be assured that you will find friends here.
Receive you a warm hug from the whole Terral Team.
Yuni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

There are only fourteen rooms in this lovely and private boutique hotel in Havana. It looks out over the Malacon and is removed from the hustle and bustle of Havana. Interestingly, I was ready with ear plugs, did not experience any sleep disruption due to noise, as a previous reviewer wrote. Breakfast is included, with espresso service, and I enjoyed the fact that only hotel guests are present in the small lobby and restaurant (great security). I spent my last night at the Hotel Saratoga, which is more of a "luxury hotel", but I am glad that the bulk of my nights were spent at Terral.

two recommendations for management: 1)improve the water pressure in the showers; and 2) insert the glass in the restaurant table tops.

Room Tip: we have the two top floor suites (411 and 412). Large rooms and spacious terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in three hotels in Cuba, including the Hotel Nacional - this was by far the best.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the location looking out to sea across the Malecon is brilliant.

We had one of the junior suites on the fourth floor, which we highly recommend. It was a huge set of rooms, with a lovely bed, a sofa, a dressing room, and all the usual appurtenances (except Wi-Fi, but that's hard to come by in Cuba). It was possible to sit in bed and look out to sea, or sit on the large terrace. The finish on the room was much better than anywhere else we found in Cuba.

It is a busy road outside, but from the fourth floor it was no trouble to us, and having just flown from Europe we slept soundly until well into the morning. We then had a very pleasant, and very filling, breakfast.

The food was excellent too. Seafood was the speciality, and in the evening we had a mixed seafood dish that was just lovely. The restaurant is very small, so booking is a good idea.

We just wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: There is an extra charge for the junior suites, but it is not much. Treat yourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
5.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
1.1 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#17 of 79 in Havana
716 reviews
1.4 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terral

Property: Hotel Terral
Address: Malecon | Malecon Esquina a Lealtad, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terral 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terral Hotel is the first hotel of the Habaguanex s.A. Company located in Malecon Habanero. It is described as an urban hotel, modern and avant-garde design. The decoration of the building was conducted by a group of Cuban artisans, using black wood as primary and predominant element. Environments have been recreated with motifs of nature and movement; boxes of lights with images of mangroves, rivers funds, fish lamps and more, make the lobby space undoubtedly unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Gaviota Hotels, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing