We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Terral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terral
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked for 3 nights, booked in day one and stayed in for dinner the first night, well worth it i had the beef and it was spot on my husband had the paella which was massive, the cocktails were the best we had in cuba real cocktails made properly,
Rooms do need attention but they are massive and you never stay in them,they are clean and have the best staff so that is important, breakfast was good and different,

But be careful as i was mugged in the street not far from the hotel, so please either walk the malecon on the sea side of the road or get a little yellow taxi from hotel they will order you one and you can get one back from the square in town 5 cuc worth it wish i had,

But we did venture down some of the side streets and now i know i would not of done this the one i had my necklace taken from was the busy one not even a quiet one PLEASE ENJOY BUT BE SAFE

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wendy4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    180
    68
    16
    15
See reviews for
54
270
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, and I can't fault it, the staff were so lovely and helpful, we up graded to a suite which was fabulous and a lovely treat at the start of our holiday in Cuba, we had a full day of heavy rain on arrival but no trouble getting a taxi outside, just wave one down it was 5- 6 CUC to the edge of the old town.
It's a lovely walk down the Malecon if the weather is good, we visited the flea markets and we also walked the other direction and visited a general market.
There are two cafe bars and a local bar within a 5 min walk, personally I'd go right and visit the first one, the local one right liked to over charge so we left that one alone.
Back to the hotel, the food was fab and a good selection, try the banana chips they are delish, we had the Terral breakfast most days, but the chef is happy to knock up whatever you fancy, all the staff were lovely and chatty we did have a good laugh at dinner with them.
Just go and enjoy yourself, if you like a quieter night after a busy day it's perfect, I'm a very light sleeper but the traffic didn't bother me, and some other reviews are quite negative but we thoroughly enjoyed it..... It's what you make it really :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had the opportunity through work to stay at Terral, The hotel is fairly new but is already starting to show signs of aging. Rooms are large, Beds are fairly comfortable, Water pressure is good. The hotel has a lobby bar in it's lobby which also is its restaurant. It's fairly nice and cozy but dies off quite early in the evenings. I felt the hotel really had no "Life" . The included breakfast was fantastic. Service was also stellar!

A recommendable option for 1 or 2 nights. I wouldn't recommend for stays beyond 2 nights as it will get quite boring.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplycuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a 10 hour flight and all we wanted to do was check-in and flop on the bed. We were given the suite because they were full, and said they will move our luggage to another double room whilst we would be out sightseeing the following morning, in case they have another booking for the suite. On seeing the room, we opted to pay a little extra and stay in the suite for the complete duration, as the views were stunning! Being a vegetarian, I face difficulty finding good veg food when I travel, but the hotel staff went out of the way to prepare veg food for me. The fruit juices were freshly made, as was the bread. The staff also gave us tips on where to go, and suggested we visit 'Buena Vista Social Club', which was an unforgettable experience! All in all, one of the best I've stayed at (and I have travelled a lot!). I will definitely recommend it, and look forward to going back to Cuba!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trupsster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in on the third floor was spacious and well fitted out, although slightly worn. The view out onto the ocean is fantastic and it's great being able to step right out onto the Malecon.

The a la carte breakfast menu is extensive and the food was decent. We also ate in the restaurant one evening and the quality of ingredients was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank buffalox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely boutique hotel in Havana, right on the shore, towards the end of the Malecon. Bit of a walk to get into the old centre of Havana, but if you don't mind the trek or are a fan of taxis, horse and cart or other transport you can get about easily enough. The staff were very helpful and the room was huge. The map we were given by the hotel wasn't really much use as it wasn't marked on it and if you want to eat out in the evenings don't expect much choice in the area. Local beers are good and cheaper than imports obviously. Mossies not a problem here either and artisans market on Obispo very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our room was spacious and comfortable. It overlooked the sea. There was international TV. No problem with the plumbing. The hotel food was extremely good. The staff were pleasant and the waiter hugged us when we left.

A small problem with the rooms - the lights switches have a tendency to fall off the walls. On the main road, there was some street noise, but no real problem. It is far enough out of the old town to make a rather tedious walk after the first few times. The hotel is small and has limited common parts.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the Malecon and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
5.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
No photo provided
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,335 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terral

Property: Hotel Terral
Address: Malecon | Malecon Esquina a Lealtad, Havana 10100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terral 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terral Hotel is the first hotel of the Habaguanex s.A. Company located in Malecon Habanero. It is described as an urban hotel, modern and avant-garde design. The decoration of the building was conducted by a group of Cuban artisans, using black wood as primary and predominant element. Environments have been recreated with motifs of nature and movement; boxes of lights with images of mangroves, rivers funds, fish lamps and more, make the lobby space undoubtedly unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Gaviota Hotels, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing