We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Bellavista Havana
Ranked #183 of 265 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Mauricio has a perfect apartment on the top floor of the building with 2 separate rooms. From the beautiful terrace, which has unique Cuban furniture, you can enjoy not only splendid view over the harbor but also fresh Atlantic breeze. The apartment building is located in Miramar district, that is very safe and quiet. It is located within 5 minutes walk from small trade center, bank, fruit sellers and Rio Club is just in the next building. Mauricio is an extremely hospitable host, speaks perfect English and can advise you on any issue about Cuba. I can definitely recommend casa Bellavista Habana as nice place to enjoy beautiful view of Habana with a fresh breeze and great company.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugenia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My friend and I were referred to Mauricio's Casa by a coworker who stayed there last year. Unfortunately, he was already booked. However, he not only put us in touch with a friend as an alternative place to stay, but invited us over for a coffee just to meet us and offer some advice. Once in town we took him up on the offer and enjoyed a few drinks enjoying the amazing view from his balcony. His recommendations on dining and nightlife would prove to be invaluable, but his company and conversation would be his best asset. Over the week, we booked Mauricio to take us on a city tour one day and also met him for dinner and drinks several times. He even took us to a baseball game! His frank and intelligent insight into life in Cuba was enlightening, and we left the country with a completely different picture of Cuba than the preconceived ideas we came in with. Although, we never stayed at his Casa, I can attest to a great location with one of the best views in the city to go along with an amazing host. Next time I'm in town I'll book early enough to grab a spot at my friend Mauricio's place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Mauricio's is on the top floor of a block, right at the mouth of the river and sea, with fantastic views. The room was spacious and had air con, which was a blessing. He welcomed us with Cuba Libres and lovely Cuban coffee, which I adore. And then pointed us towards a restaurant called Le Cocinera, which he said was for jet-setters. http://elcocinerohabana.com/en/history

Mauricio is a chaming host who speaks excellent English. His maid, Sonia, is also lovely and we opted for the breakfast at $6 daily, which was omelettes, fresh fruit, toast, coffee, juices, and we didn't need lunch any day we were there, we were already full! He is extremely knowledgeable about Cuba and Havana, and his personal reccommendations were spot-on. He really couldn't have been more helpful. When we go back, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaMellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We are a family and booked two rooms in Oktober. Maurizio and hes maid are realy fantastic hosts. Maurizio is a highly educated and very interesting personality who speaks perfect english.

His beautiful penthouse offers a impressing stay. The view over the ocean and Havanna is simply outstanding. The rooms have the charm from the 60s. The equipment is also about this age but everything is clean.

The A/C's are also about this age and therefore very old and loud but at least they were running because at the top floor it can be very hot. The showers are, like in Cuba standard, rather infefficient because almost no water is comming out of the pipes. Prices are reasonable but also rather high. But dont forget this place offers "the view" and the appartment-building is Miramar which is (or was) the most exclusive area in Havanna. Nevertheless it was an good experience and the place can be recommended as a spectacular city-stay like in the sixties.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schtozki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Below is a copy of the review I left on cubarentaroom.com

''Here is a really great place to stay for independent travellers visiting Havana. The penthouse apartment (with lift) is attractive and inviting. The lovely rooms have wonderful views and the large patio provides a 270 degree view over the bay, ocean and Havana itself. Photographers will love it here! Beautiful as the view and house are though, and as stated previously by another guest, Mauricio and Diana are the best part of this casa. They immediately make you feel comfortable and clearly enjoy making sure their guests have the best experience possible in Cuba. Being in Miramar gives everything a more laid back and less pressurised feel. Enjoy the hustle and bustle of Havana until you've had your fill, bring back a bottle of ron blanco and then unwind at night on the patio overlooking the bay with Mauricio and Diana, a few cuba libres and a bit of Ruben Gonzalez, until the early hours. Try Diana's breakfast - she's a great cook and you won't need to eat again until evening! Meanwhile Mauricio will fix you up with anything you need for the day ahead or your trip elsewhere in Cuba. He's a mine of information and can point you in the right direction at every turn. When we left Havana to explore other parts of Cuba Mauricio gave us his number and told us to call him at anytime if we had any problems anywhere in Cuba. Do you know anywhere else where they would take such good care of their guests? Thanks for a wonderful stay! Jake and Svetlana x''

Further to the above, I strongly disagree with the negative comments made elsewhere on this page. Mauricio is a sincere man whose talkative nature comes from his passion for Cuba, music, art, engineering, politics,.... you name it. His energy is contagious and guests will have a greater chance to find out about Cuba here than anywhere else on their trip. We loved chatting with him until (very) late on the patio whilst the heat of the day ebbed away. If you are asked for a CUC that is owed, please try to understand that a CUC is very useful in Cuba. It takes a nurse 1 day to earn 1 CUC. As for 10 CUCs for a taxi ride to Miramar - please try to understand this is a market economy and taxi drivers are likely to try to charge whatever they think they can get away with. Either tell the taxi driver to put the meter on which costs 0.5 CUC per kilometre or haggle for a better fixed price. From Central Park (outside Hotel Inglaterra) we paid 6 CUC for every trip and never had a problem (September 2012) using official taxis. Once we paid 7 CUC because he was the only taxi there and the normal rules of supply and demand applied. And once we paid 12 CUC for a big Yankee show-off car. But the correct price is 6 CUC. Don't be afraid to walk away if they say no! We walked to the Plaza De La Revolucion from this casa past the cemetary and it does not take that long at all. We also went there in an old Lada (which was definately not a registered taxi) for 3 CUC's from outside Mauricios house. Yes, it is possible to stay in cheaper places in Havana. But this is a comfortable and relaxed area of Havana with no noise or pollution and no pickpockets or touts at the door waiting for you. I would heartily recommend this place to any of my friends.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jakesveta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corner Brook, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have been to 5 star resorts in Cuba, not as good as this Casa. The owners Maricio and Diane are two most beautiful people and will go out of their way to accomodate and for 40 CUC's a night with breakfast it is a real excellent deal. The room is large with fridge, lots of closet space for two. The shower is slow but adequate. The view from the private terrace to look over old havana, Miramar, the ocean, is absoutely breath taking.

Do not believe any negative comments about this family or casa and stongly suggest a stay in this beatiful place with beautiful family. You call email me directly in Canada, at tfarrell@nfld.net and i will confirm this review.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Yes this is an ammazing penthouse in Havana, yes the view is nice and it is clean but for 45 CuC this is the lousiest place to stay.
Don't let their add confuse you, it is ages.. And i mean a 10CUC taxi each way from the center of the city, even from the plaza de la revolucion which the owner insist is only a short walk away.
The wife is very nice but owner doesn' t stop talking and constantly wants to sell you overpriced tours of the city. All he cares about is the money which u must pay him down to tge cent, he even made us go down to get some money changed to pay him 1 CUC we were missing for his 6 CUC breackfast, even thou we had given him extra for acomodation.
Also, the room can be quite hot.
You are better off staying in central Havana for 25 CUC.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.9 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,602 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#20 of 79 in Havana
408 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
4.8 mi away
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
4.6 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bellavista Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista Havana

Property: Casa Bellavista Havana
Address: Calle A # 312 apt 9 e/ 3ra y 5ta Ave | Miramar, Playa, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 265 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a marvellous casa partcicular offering a large master-bedroom, and one of the best private terraces in Havana, looking out across Havana Bay, which makes up for being out of Old Havana. The owner Mauricio speaks great English and is a charming "hablador" (talker) who will give you some interesting insights into Cuba. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing