We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great music and great service. The full package”

Paladar Los Mercaderes
Ranked #22 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is located in the center of OLD HAVANA in a beautifully renovated colonial house built circa 1890. It has 2 salons, each with unique decorations, fabulous furnishings and signature tiles. There are also frescos from 1905 on all of the walls which brings an added facet to the style of the restaurant. Our beautiful interior hanging garden adds an enticing and pleasant ambience to your dining experience. Please join our family restaurant and enjoy fabulous Cuban food plus some international food , friendly service, great beverages and all the best of old Havana.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great music and great service. The full package”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nestled in the heart of old Havana this Restuarant is a breath of fresh air. Upstairs in a very well restored beautiful 19th century building the Resturant preserves old Havana charm with modern day service. What hits you first is the exquisite music coming from the two musicians (always a violinist and a guitarist) playing from the balcony. They will play until the last person leaves. The food is very well prepared and fresh. The wine list is extensive. The owner Yamil has a policy with his staff that his Restuarant must provide the very best in Havana and second best is just not an option. It shows. They are all very passionate and strive to ensure that you want to return next day.
Reading all this you will think it is expensive. Sure you can spend a lot on the wine if you want but the meals are very reasonably priced and the beer as cheap as everywhere else in Cuba.
Here's a tip. Get a table where you can see the musicians. If only two of you they will let you sit at a 4 seat table.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,234
    481
    128
    38
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and great setting”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I had a lovely meal hear on the 28th July. We went at lunch time and had the set menu. Great Value at 12CUC each. Four courses and a drink. The atmosphere was very good. We ate inside in the air conditioned part but could still hear the music from the band. Very helpful and attentive staff. Enjoyed the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WEST0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“First restaurant who will acquirie it's 1st Michelin star in Cuba”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The finest food we tasted in Cuba. The service was like a top restaurant in Europe and the atmosphere makes you feel as if you are dining in an authentic Cuban monumental residence.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcome getaway from the heat!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I had just arrived in Havana and were trying to make our way through the heat and away from the people constantly accosting us to come to their restaurant. I recognized the sign outside from previously researching and noticed a very nice man outside that simply smiled when we approached. We had found our place!

We had wonderful, attentive service here, they seated us in the sir conditioned side which was appreciated though it did make us unable to hear the live music in the other room. Prices were on the higher side for Havana, but worth it for the quality, atmosphere and cleanliness. Had a super fresh salad to start and I had the marinated pork dish which was truly wonderful. My husband enjoyed the shrimp and mushroom risotto, which was a large potion and while not "truly" risotto - it had a nice tomato base and a rich flavour to every bite.

The service was impressive - One of the servers even took the time to draw us a map to better navigate the parts of the city we wanted to see. My only criticism was that the musicians gave us a dirty look on the way out after they pointed to their tip jar on our way out - why would I tip for music I was unable ego hear and enjoy?!? I would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodienumberone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best service in the entire city”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The food is brilliant and so is the staff working there, truly unusual to find such level of customer care in Havana. Do not miss!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobeSupernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paladar Los Mercaderes also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Paladar Los Mercaderes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing