We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Particular Reina y Paco
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$421
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Melia Habana(Havana)
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
US$700
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$420
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$385
US$199
galahotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$659
US$475
galahotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$175
US$149
galahotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$224
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
349
25
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
25
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel morroevery morningspanish embassyview from the balconyapartment doorperfect walking distancewonderful hostswalking distance to habana viejaun abrazoprivate bathroomque nospor todohot waterold havanalimited spanishamazing locationmango
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights with Reina and Paco and loved it! They were very accomodating hosts and served us up beuatiful breakfasts every morning. Our roast chicken dinner was one of our favorites of the trip! Chilling out on the balcony and watching the world come and go was wonderful. The casa is in a great location to explore the old part of Havana.
We didn't speak much Spanish but still managed to communicate just fine with Reina and Paco.
The room was lovely and we had our own ensuite with a nice shower.
The stairs were a challenge that helped us get in shape for our cycle tour. The elevator was being reconstructed while we were there.
Thank you Reina and Paco, we had great time!
Naomi and Jess

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you Jessica, Thank you Naomi, very ambles girls they behaved with great respect, certainly different language was not essential to every need of you knew satisfy eachother for them to enjoy a happy stay at home, gracais for choosing us for your stay in Havana, this place gave them a lot of energy to continue their journey on bicycles, is what we always provide a nuestos guests. Thank you, we are also here for your friends and family. A hug from this island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the casa of Reina and Paco just one night, I wish we could stay longer. Reina and Paco are very nice hosts. We enjoyed staying with their family. When we arrived Paco welcomed us with some fresh juice and made us feel at home. The casa has a great view on el Morro and Malecon, it is very close to boulevard Prado and to all main attractions. Reina recommended us some places to visit and gave us a guide book that helped us a lot to discover the city. It was a great advantage that I could speak a little bit of Spanish and it is always fun to stay with Cuban people and to see the way of their living and to be able to communicate and be introduced to other members of the family. Reina and Paco are very nice and intelligent people. We travelled a lot in Cuba and stayed in different casas on the way, but this casa was one of the best and definitely on our trip back to Havana I will arrange accommodation here again. The casa is clean, everything is in good order. Reina provided us with great breakfast (fruits, eggs, potatoes, tomatoes, fresh juice, tea or coffee, bread and butter) even too much for my taste:) but I didn’t feel hunger till the rest of the day;). They arranged for my friend transfer to Trinidad and transfer for me to Havana airport. They let me stay longer and use shower etc because my flight was in the evening. That is a really very nice place to stay. We enjoyed it there and it was very relaxing on our last day in Cuba in Havana. We will definitely come back one day. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks Irina, thank you for your beautiful lines written for such an important site, was very positive empathy between you and us, I always try my guests feel oriented, served, satisfied by the chosen place, our work is always based on the guests to make your stay more pleasant, my house facilities will always be available, of course this can be when you get back home again, I hope that one happen again. thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

When booking a casa particular in Cuba you know that things couldn't be perfect. Nevertheless it's still embarrassing when promises aren't held or you're suddenly confronted with claims for extra payment etc. This was the case here and it diminished the positive impression of Casa Reina y Paco.
The cons:
• 5th floor = 6 stairs. When we arrived after a 24 hours journey at 10 pm we realized that the elevator didn't work, obviously for months. Reina never told us about it although we exchanged at least 5 emails in the months before. Fortunately she had hired someone to carry up our luggage all the stairs.
• No independence; you live with the family when having breakfast or sitting on the balcony
• Old shower system, with very little and not very hot water
• 30 $ per night were agreed for the room incl. breakfast. The morning we left, Reina suddenly claimed 5 $ for each breakfast extra. We told her that something else was agreed and eventually she backtracked.
• Neither Reina nor her husband nor anybody else in the house speaks English. So communication is difficult for non Spanish speaking people.
The pros:
• Really beautiful view from the balcony towards the Morro citadel and the harbor entrance (Bahia). Nice sitting there for breakfast or a drink in the late afternoon.
• Excellent breakfast
• Reina offers juices and drinks in the afternoon if you like.
• The room is not very spacey but fine. The bed is good.
• Everything very clean.
So if you don't have a problem to climb the stairs nor to discuss again former agreements Casa Reina might be just fine for you. Our joy, however, was negatively affected.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write a review, but you identify whether a person who has actually been in my house seems to know the characteristics of this form of accommodation; I'm surprised that much time has booked a private home in Havana to find on arrival that her family lives , this is a form of rent in Cuba and most travelers who use it do so decisively to live with families Cuban , every comment or opinion on this familiarity identifies my house that my husband and I serve our huépedes . In his commentary there incongruity that do not correspond with the reality of my house , the photos on TRIPADVISOR my house all are contributed by guests , are graphic testimonies attest to the conditions of the bathroom in my room , are what they need a host, are modern and stylish , even though they may be improved or perfected, that 's what we do every day to make guests feel at home in the chosen location .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Pros:
- Excellent view of El Morro and the Malecon. (awesome pics)
- Balcony with view to eat breakfast with the option to eat at the dining room
- Cool breeze; apt is on a 5th floor with lots of windows
- Reina & Pace are a great host and helped us locating another Casa.
- Great location. Near everything you would want to see at walking distance.
- Breakfast was yummy.
- Cold AC and TV in the room
- Private bathroom. (Pressure in the shower was low)

Cons:
- No elevator at the we visited. Lots of stairs
- Recommendation of taxi from the airport cost us $25 CUC; we overpaid. Actual price is $15 CUC at the most. We found out days later by talking with a local. Do not book the taxi thru the host of any Casa for that matter; they get a cut of what the cab driver is charging you so they overcharge. They have taxis outside of the airport from Airport to Havana offer to pay $

Room Tip: Room in the inside section is quieter Shower in the room with a view had very low pressure
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rumbero75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014
Google Translation

Hola Yanko, gracias por opinar por el único día que estuviste en mi casa, fue muy corta tu estancia y la de tu familia, pero sé que apreciaste los detalles importantes que son útiles para los huéspedes. como nuestra hospitalidad, las atenciones, los desayunos y confort de la habitación. Lamento que en esos días se estaba cambiando el ascensor, sucede como en muchos lugares, tiene que parar para cambiar, pero ahora tendremos uno nuevo, más moderno y lindo. Quería responderte para que otros visitantes conozacan que los taxis autorizados que operan en el aeropuerto internacional José Martí son los de la Agencia Estatal CUBATAXIS, y que todos cobran 25.00CUC, esos precios aparecen en internet, al regreso cualquier otro taxis puede llegar, pero las recogidas las hacen los TAXIS amarillos de Cubataxis; los propietario sugerimos la opción de reservar para facilitar al huésped su llegada segura y tranquila a la dirección reservada. Espero que junto a la familia hayan pasado una linda estancia en otras ciudades de Cuba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I decided to travel to Havana spur of the moment over the new years. I found all the usual places I stay booked solid. So I went back to Trip Advisor and found several places I liked but no way to contact them. However I did manage to contact someone who had stayed at one of the places before and she got me in contact with this couple who were absolutely marvelous and although I only got to stay with them one night, they managed to find me other locations for my whole stay (including another wonderful couple upstairs in their same building). Paco is at the university and his wife Riena handles all their bookings and insures their guests are well taken care of. The rooms are spotless and the food is great. And the location is one of the best in the city; just off the main blvd Prado and with an outstanding view of El Morro and a short walk to the main plaza, the grand theater, the capital building, and other points of interest. The only downside is they are VERY busy year round so you will need to make booking well ahead of your trip. Reina can be reached by e-mail at: reinamuro58@yahoo.com I highly recommend them and plan on being back to visit later this year!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank realtybaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reina m, Propietario at Casa Particular Reina y Paco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014
Google Translation

Gracias amigo, gracias por tu tiempo a escribir una opinión sincera, quisera siempre tener en casa a todos cuantos me solicitan, pero los insistente como ustedes siempre aunque sea un día permanenecen, gracias por los elogios y también por la sinceridad, hacemos todo lo que está a nuestra disposición para que los hguéspedes se sientan satisfechos y consideren que este viaje a Cuba fue una verdadera vacaciones, siempra hay tiempo para mejorar, gracias por venir y estar en mi casa, agradecemos su tiempo para escribir, nos volveremos a ver en algún momento, Un abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews