We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best casa to stay in Havana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Mirador la Colina
Ranked #2 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Aymee and Gaspar are great hosts, did their best for our entire stay. We spend four days in their home, which is always clean and nice. There is a great terrace where you can drink homemade mojitos and refrescos.
House itself not far from central Habana and easily accessible by coco taxi in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keremakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014
Google Translation

Holaaaaa mis amigos.... que sorpresa tan linda, muchas gracias por su opinión !!!! cuanto nos alegra saber que se sintieron tan a gusto en nuestra casa, nosotros también muy felices de haberlos conocido y haber compartido con ustedes tan bonitos momentos en la terraza degustando los "mojitos de Gaspar", ésta siempre será su casa en La Habana para cuando decidan regresar, sus amigos Aymeé y Gaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Aymee, Caspar and the family were amazing! So welcoming, helpful and friendly. They also speak good English which helped a lot! Their house is beautiful and in a great location. The breakfast was the best we have had our entire stay in Cuba! There were a few other places we stayed in other places in Cuba and you could tell that it was all about the money but Aymee and Casper were genuinely nice and honest people. I recommend this Casa to everyone going to Havana and I will definitely be back for a visit in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shannlang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias Shanon and Hana por sus opiniones, que bueno lo que nos dices, siempre tratamos a de ayudarles a todos, fue muy grato para nosotros conocerlas y me alegro mucho que mi desayuno te haya gustado mucho jajajajjaaj más que los Mojitos de Gaspar jajajja así que por esta vez gané yo!!!! jajajjajaj, espero que tu viaje por America del sur y Centroamerica hayam resultado lo que esperabas, existos !!!! nuestra casa siempre será tu casa para cuando decidas regresar, un fuerte barazo de Aymeé y Gaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Aymee and Gaspar are the nicest hosts. Their home is conveniently located, and their rooftop is cool to hang out on. Gaspar will mix you up mojito after mojito, and the other guests were pretty cool too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nrupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu opinión amigo, Gaspar le manda muchos saludos a los dos y espera que ya hayan preparado muchos "mojitos"
Muchas gracias también por habernos dado la oportunidad de haberlos conocido y de poder compartir junto a ustedes magnificos momentos en casa. esperamos volverlos a ver pronto , nuestra casa siempre será su casa!!!! los esperamos en su próximo viaje, sus amigos Gaspar y Aymeé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Gaspar and Aymee's place offers everything to make a short or long stay in Havana comfortable, secure, and worry free. I've lived for various periods ranging from days to months in Havana and wish I would have found this casa more quickly. Its location is ideal for independent travelers: its at the beginning and end of maquina routes to Centro and Old Havana, steps away from reasonably priced restaurants (a major novelty in Havana), and also near all major services and internet in Vedado. Ayme and Gaspar do not try to milk every peso out of you as happens too often at other casas. After two weeks with them I was amazed at how well they run the house and how genuinely concerned they are with their guests' enjoyment and comfort in the city. I'll certainly stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lafdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014
Google Translation

!!!!David ...Muchas gracias por tu opinión, nosotros estamos muy agradecidos de haber compartido nuestra casa con tan excelente persona, fueron días muy buenos que pasamos en casa degustando los Mojitos de Gaspar en la terraza y charlando entre amigos. Esta siempre será tu casa para cuando quieras regresar a La Habana, te esperamos en tu próximo viaje!!!! tus amigos Gaspar y Aymeé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent a week at Casa Mirador la Colina with Arling. I cannot recommend the hospitality highly enough. As our Spanish if fairly useless, our Cuban experience was vastly improved as Arling speaks great English. Our room was clean with an en suite, there was a communal lounge with stunning views directly opposite the University. The added bonus was a gorgeous rooftop where we could relax at the end of a day sightseeing. Arling really was the perfect host and so very helpful, even posting my postcards as I ran out of time! The breakfasts are wondertul, large and was enough for my lunch aswell !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank abiloopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias Abi por tu opinión, nos encantó conocerlos y disfrutar junto a ustedes los varios días que estuvieron en casa, todas las postales las mandamos como nos dijiste!!!! jajajaja, esperamos verlos pronto, esta siempre será su casa , un gran saludo de Gaspar y Aymeé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

From the minute you walk in the door Aymee makes you feel welcome and like a part of the family. The rooms are comfortable, clean and have perfect amenities to suit most travelers. The real bonus here though is getting to know a beautiful Cuban family and getting a personal experience that you won't find in any hotel. The location is great, right in between old Havana and Vedado that both have their own special things to discover. It is only a short walk to both or even better jump in an old Chevy Taxi for $0.50cuc to go anywhere downtown.

My favorite times were spent on the rooftop terrace of the casa drinking mojitos and cuba libre cocktails with other guests and Aymee and Gaspar and enjoying the sunset. Aymee and Gaspar go out of their way to help you with anything during your stay and they are a wealth of knowledge on anything you wish to do during your stay also.

Breakfasts are amazing and a great opportunity to practice my lousy spanish.

Amazing experience and I don't think my trip to Cuba would have been quite as enjoyable without staying here.

Thanks Aymee and Gaspar!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattttttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014
Google Translation

Holaaaa Mattt, Muchas gracias!!!, por tan linda opinión de nosotros y del servicio de la Casa, estamos muy agradecidos también por haber podido compartir con ustedes tan lindos momentos, fue una gran experiencia también muy linda para nosotros, quedan de recuerdo las bellas fotos que nos tomamos todos juntos, te esperamos para cuando decidas regresar a La Habana, esta es tu casa , siempre serán bienvenidos!!!! un abrazo desde Cuba, La Habana, tus amigos Aymeé, Gaspar y Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having amazing hosts starts your stay off great. Aymee and her husband are so friendly. They are both learning english and are very patient with you if you try to speak Spanish. The rooms are basic, no extra luxuries. The room I stayed in had two single beds, fan, AC and a ensuite bathroom. The beds were comfy, i brought my own pillow and found that theirs were a little solid so if you have a sensitive neck, I suggest you bring your own. There is hot water in the bathroom. The breakfast every morning was delicious, consisted of eggs, vegetables, bread, fresh fruit and coffee. The location is right across from the university in Vedado, so I walked all over Havana and never found myself feeling too far from the house. One day I was sick from some food I ate and Aymee made me some tea. Another night, her and her husband took some other guests and I to the fort to watch the sunset over Havana - it was amazing. There is not many restaurants really close to the house, or night life, which can be a plus and a minus. A restaurant close to the house is the Pechanga (i think its the name - Amyee recommended it - its really good and cheap). There is a nice living room with a beautiful breeze that you can relax in and watch TV with the family as you relax from a day of walking and the business of the Havana streets. I would recommend this place to anyone, the hosts are great, the location is great, the breakfast is great and the rooms are great. You won't regret choosing this casa!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AymN147271, Propietario at Casa Mirador la Colina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014
Google Translation

Holaaaa , Muchas gracias Lina, por tan linda opinión de nosotros y del servicio de la Casa, estamos muy agradecidos también por haber podido compartir contigo junto a Martín y Roberto tan lindos momentos, fue una gran experiencia también muy linda para nosotros, quedan de recuerdo las bellas fotos que nos tomamos todos juntos jajajjajaja, te esperamos para cuando decidas regresar a La Habana, esta es tu casa , siempre serás bienvenida!!!! un abrazo desde Cuba, La Habana, tus amigos Aymeé, Gaspar y Miguel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
0.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.4 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 81 in Havana
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mirador la Colina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mirador la Colina

Address: Calle Ronda No. 1 | Neptuno y San Miguel, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 361 Speciality Lodging in Havana
Price Range: £18 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mirador La Colina is located across from the Havana University in Vedado. Located in downtown so you can enjoy the most traditional and visited places by tourists in Havana. You can also meet relaxing and amusing places such as clubs, movies, shops restaurants and libraries. It's also 4 minutes away from the Nacional Hotel and the seawall (el Malecon), 15 minutes away from Old Havana and Miramar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing