We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Raquel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Raquel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After having read some bad reviews I was worried about my choice. But the reality had proved to be the opposite. If you are in search of the true feeling of old time luxury, this is a place to be. Absolutely beautiful outside and inside, high ceilings, very tasteful renovation with old touches, like antique elevator, ceramic tile flooring, mosaics everywhere, etc. Good helpful staff, good breakfast, and it was incredible that after the breakfast they did the survey, I pointed out that they needed to bring true Havana fresh bread instead of unedible international version for toasts, and to my surprise, the very next day they indeed delivered the local bread! Bathrooms are in good shape. We did have large room with two balconies overlooking Amargura street. It really made us feel like we were right in the middle of Havana life!
Romantic terrace on the roof is a perfect place to hang out. The view from the terrace is not as great as from Ambos Mundos, but the last one recently had been renovated and it lost all the old charm, becoming like any other terrace in the world, while Raquel terrace is something special.
Do not miss Cheese and wine cafe exactly opposite the entrance to this hotel, good local and Spanish cheeses, wine from Chile and Spain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    318
    150
    62
    29
See reviews for
90
394
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

But ensure you book a room with windows!

We got a room with no window for our first night in Havana after a long trip and this was not the best experience.They moved us the day to another room. This was a huge difference! Staff are really friendly and helpful. Not one the best breakfast I have had recently.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Two stars only because of the claustrophobic, cell like nature of room without windows which was also in urgent need of refurb'. Strongly advise to book room with a view! Wish we had taken more note of advice given by other reviewers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were moved into this hotel due to a Cuban Government conference in our booked hotel. I was very unhappy about being bounced but the Raquel turned out to be a good move. Very well placed for Old Havana and a beautiful, well restored colonial building. Service was good and breakfast excellent.. Far better than staying in one of the newer hotels across the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Raquel for four nights in May. Granted, some of the negative reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor have a point - the breakfast food is terrible for instance, I firmly hold the view that you need to go to Cuba realizing these people do the best they can with what they have got and not expect perfection. Other than the food, of which it can be a struggle in general to find variety and good food in Havana in our experience, the room and the staff were excellent during our stay. Very good Mojitos (and at very great price!) at the bar. Would recommend this hotel in a beautiful historic building within a fantastic location. Oh and also, internet speed is so slow not worth using it. That, again, is not unique to Hotel Raquel obviously but an issue in Cuba in general. Enjoy!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Timtash2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Raquel.

It's in a great location in Old Havana, close to the main squares and some great restaurants.

The building is grand and we loved its style, especially the old fashioned lift (elevator).

We did have a room with a window but this meant we could hear the hustle and bustle from the city streets. This didn't bother us but bear it in mind.

If you have some time, enjoy relaxing on the roof terrace. It's a great to relax and spend some time in the late afternoon with a drink from the bar and a book.

The bar is handy too, where you get bottled water for the fridge.

There is a computer in the hotel for internet but it wasn't working when we were there ( common in Cuba) and there is no wifi.

If you need to book some trips, there's a travel agent desk at the front of the hotel. The staff are really friendly.

Separate to the travel agent, the hotel (via the bell boy) organised a classic car tour for us. It was amazing! We had a 1940s Ford convertible for the morning with an English speaking guide who took us around the main sites. It was great fun and we had a blast.

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and I'd strongly recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sifeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were moved to the Hotel Raquel as our original hotel was fully booked, thank goodness we were as the original hotel was in the middle of the main square with lots of noise and traffic. The Hotel Racquel is in a quiet location just off the old square where you can taste the delights of the micro brewery - great after a hot days site seeing and only a 5 minute walk from the main square.
The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean. We had a room without a window and although it was a bit strange it was very quiet, the room was very basic there was plenty of hot water and a good shower. The breakfast left a lot to be desired and the service in the restaurant and bar was quite variable, but would still recommend the hotel for its authenticity.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank andrearae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
6.2 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#20 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
5.9 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
3.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raquel

Property: Hotel Raquel
Address: Calle Amargura 103 esquina a San Ignacio, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Havana
#10 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Raquel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would emphasize that the services offered are FREE gym and sauna for guests staying at our hotel It is also good to note that hotel guests are entitled to free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Raquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raquel Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing