We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Colonial style charm and character” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Raquel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Raquel
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Southern England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Colonial style charm and character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are looking for all the mod cons of a chain hotel then don't stay here - but if you are looking for charm and character and excellent service with smiles and lovely high ceilings, shuttered windows, central location and a real feel of old Havana then this is your place

We stayed on the second floor with a small balcony room overlooking the side street

The breakfasts are very basic

The bar is well stocked, they make brilliant cocktails and it's all very reasonably priced

There is no internet

The location is excellent, security on the door, walking distance to everything, lots of bars and restaurants nearby

Attractive roof terrace with seating area, ideally could do with a small plunge pool

The whole place is a little jaded but we had a wonderful stay and most important for us is a convenient location, smiley friendly staff and clean bedding - we would recommend this to friends and we would return if ever visiting Havana again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phantasialandfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    311
    143
    60
    29
See reviews for
89
383
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights and were satisfied. Nice location, wonderful building and very friendly staff.
They helped us a lot and gave us good advice. Breakfast wasn't really good, but have to see it in the Cuban context.

Would suggest it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziV1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiruna, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel which is a sight in itself. The inside is amazing with marble, statues and pillars. We arrived in the morning but had to wait until 4 pm to get our room, which is the advertised check-in time. We got a room without window. It seems like they put people in these rooms and those who complains get a room with a window. We didn't shift as the room without window is very quiet and the other isn't. Air conditioning worked perfectly. No internet available. They recommend the business centre at Hotel Saratoga which has fast connections for 4 CUC (4$) for 15 min or 6 CUC for 30 min. Saratoga also has wifi. The taxi to the hotel stopped two blocks from the hotel as they can't drive further. Don't have too much luggage. Breakfast buffet is included but was a bit different with many cakes that didn´t look too inviting lying there in the sun, although on ice. They had toast, small pancakes, sausages, minihamburgers and a lot more. Otherwise the hotel is situated perfectly and the reception speak english.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After having read some bad reviews I was worried about my choice. But the reality had proved to be the opposite. If you are in search of the true feeling of old time luxury, this is a place to be. Absolutely beautiful outside and inside, high ceilings, very tasteful renovation with old touches, like antique elevator, ceramic tile flooring, mosaics everywhere, etc. Good helpful staff, good breakfast, and it was incredible that after the breakfast they did the survey, I pointed out that they needed to bring true Havana fresh bread instead of unedible international version for toasts, and to my surprise, the very next day they indeed delivered the local bread! Bathrooms are in good shape. We did have large room with two balconies overlooking Amargura street. It really made us feel like we were right in the middle of Havana life!
Romantic terrace on the roof is a perfect place to hang out. The view from the terrace is not as great as from Ambos Mundos, but the last one recently had been renovated and it lost all the old charm, becoming like any other terrace in the world, while Raquel terrace is something special.
Do not miss Cheese and wine cafe exactly opposite the entrance to this hotel, good local and Spanish cheeses, wine from Chile and Spain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

But ensure you book a room with windows!

We got a room with no window for our first night in Havana after a long trip and this was not the best experience.They moved us the day to another room. This was a huge difference! Staff are really friendly and helpful. Not one the best breakfast I have had recently.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Sev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Two stars only because of the claustrophobic, cell like nature of room without windows which was also in urgent need of refurb'. Strongly advise to book room with a view! Wish we had taken more note of advice given by other reviewers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were moved into this hotel due to a Cuban Government conference in our booked hotel. I was very unhappy about being bounced but the Raquel turned out to be a good move. Very well placed for Old Havana and a beautiful, well restored colonial building. Service was good and breakfast excellent.. Far better than staying in one of the newer hotels across the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
1300.5 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
70.5 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raquel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raquel

Property: Hotel Raquel
Address: Calle Amargura 103 esquina a San Ignacio, Havana, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Raquel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I would emphasize that the services offered are FREE gym and sauna for guests staying at our hotel It is also good to note that hotel guests are entitled to free parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Raquel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raquel Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing