We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cuban welcome and hospitality”
Review of Hostal d' Soto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal d' Soto
Ranked #37 of 694 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cuban welcome and hospitality”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our overnight stay with our host Alejandro d’Soto and his wife Yilian at this excellent bed and breakfast accommodation. We were brought here after our day in Havana with Cuban Connection Tours as we had chosen to extend our visit to the city.
Alejandro gave us all a very warm welcome, speaking perfect English and proudly showing us round the accommodation. We were most impressed with the bedrooms: spotlessly clean, immaculate presentation in terms of décor and traditional fittings, with a wall mounted flat screen TV, well stocked mini bar and an en suite shower room. The beds were very comfy and the air con systems proved invaluable in the June heat.
Alejandro and his family share the rest of the house with guests and we were shown the sitting room, dining room, kitchen and beautiful terrace where breakfast was to be served overlooking the garden. There were lots of interesting pieces of furniture and artefacts on display including traditional wooden rocking chairs.
A taxi was arranged for us to go into central Havana and return much later on (about 2.00am!). We did not need a key as there was a night security guard on duty. We felt totally at ease with this arrangement and thoroughly enjoyed a visit to the Jazz Café.
Breakfast was served at a time of our choosing. It was the best breakfast ever! A big jug full of mango juice and a huge platter of fresh fruit – banana/pineapple/papaya/melon, eggs cooked to order or toasted sandwich, a large basket of freshly baked bread, toast, butter, marmalade and plenty of Cuban coffee with hot milk. This was all served on the terrace in the shade on a perfect sunny morning – heaven!

We would absolutely recommend this friendly family home for a stay in Havana. So much more personal and welcoming than a standard large hotel you would get with an overnight package from Varadero, this bed and breakfast is superb. I believe the location is also excellent, being so close to the bus station, although we used taxis for our transport into Havana centre.
Many thanks Alejandro and Yilian for your Cuban warmth and hospitality. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yosemite195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Yosemite195
We welcome your comments, we strive to ensure on our customers the best experience. Your visit was also very nice, come back soon.

Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
58
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We finished in style at our last casa stay in Cuba. This casa has the right balance of great hospitality, fantastic food, a wonderful casa and a good location in regards to the Viazul bus station and airport. Yilian and Alejandro are two of the most wonderful people you could ever meet. They made us feel right at home.

The location of casa is perfectly suited for those who need to be close to the Viazul coach station, its literally a 5 minute walk from this casa. It is also just a 15 minute cab ride to the airport, so its conveniently placed for those who need to stay a night and be close to these main modes of transportation. The casa is situated in a residential area, hence no shops around, but there is a lovely restaurant that Alejandro can recommend.

The room is very spacious, very clean and has all your modern finishing’s i.e. fridge filled with drinks that you pay for, air con etc. The ensuite is clean and has everything you would expect in a modern bathroom. They have a self contained flat upstairs, so perfect for groups of people or a family. The house itself is massive, with a roof top terrace. They have lovely little garden at the back with a porch where you can sit outside and enjoy rum and the conversations to be had with Alejandro.

The food is out of this world. Alejandro prepares the food with passion and a touch of class. He made a wonderful chicken roast, one of the best we have ever eaten! Yilian prepared a wonderful fried plantain dish to accompany the chicken. Breakfast was wonderful and prepared with love. You will not go wrong with the food in this casa.

Overall: This Casa is an absolute gem of a place. It might not be city centre location but as a base to use when you travelling via the Viazul, it’s perfect. The warm welcome, the beautiful clean home, the amazing food, there is really not much to fault here. Both are wonderful and helpful people, who make you feel right at ease. Would we go back, yes!

Don’t Miss: The dinners, their hospitality.

Pass on: nothing!

Suggestion: They have a website that you can book through their system. They reply very quickly. If you will be doing a bit of travelling using the Viazul, use this casa as it is perfect.

p.s. Alejandro we miss your chicken!!! Yilian we still licking our lips from the wonderful guava dessert you made for us, we miss it!

Room Tip: They have a website that you can book through their system. They reply very quickly. If you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Aubelisa
Very glad to read your comment, it's a shame you missed Alejandro chicken to the next will be. Thank you very much for such positive views about us. We hope to return soon

Best Regards
Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this Casa because it was near the bus station and we were using Havana as a jumping off point to see the rest Cuba. But its so comfortable we perhaps should have stayed longer

Alejandro is not only friendly but very helpful with lots of advice. He has great English which was handy as myself and my boyfriend sadly have no Spanish.

Its easy to book a room here as they have a very good website (which is rare for Casas)

Breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Siobhan M
We are very happy to read your comments, thank you very much for considering our Hostal so positively. We hope to return soon.

Best Regards
Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There are great experiences and not so great, lucky for us were fortunate to find outstanding accommodation in Habana Cuba, clean, roomy, lots of amenities and most of all exceptional hospitality from the owners Alejandro and Yilian who provide a home cooked nutritious breakfasts with what would you expect the fresh aromas of Cuban Coffee. They run a small lodging just about 10 -15 minutes from down town for very reasonable prices far better than the local hotels and far cleaner. If your are traveling to Habana make this your first stop for accommodations.

Room Tip: The third foor gives you lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Dennis G
Thank you for considering us as a Grand Experience, we are very pleased with your feedback, and makes us strive more. Come back soon.

Best Regards
Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We had such a wonderful stay at Hostal d'soto! I noticed another person related this Casa as a home away from home & I can totally agree. The rooms were huge & very clean & comfortable ...I especially loved the outdoor area...Alejandro and jilian were just so warm and friendly & I especially enjoyed listening to Alejandros stores, he is a very knowledgable man! The location is perfect because it's not super busy like downtown Havana which I was very chaotic! So after a busy day it was lovely to come back to somewhere like that! Thank you Alejandro and jilian for making our stay so wonderful! You both went above & beyond to help us OH and the food was fantastic! That fish curry was incredible! :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofree1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello RSofree1987
We are very happy when we receive feedback from our customers, especially when they are so positive. As you might experience, we work hard to provide a service to the height of our customers. Thanks for the comment, and hope you come back soon.

Best Regards
Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was our second time at Hostal D'Soto, and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, and the morning breakfast was particularly good. The home is a very interesting example of Cuban architecture from the 1950's and is very tastefully decorated with period furniture that has been lovingly restored, with several contemporary additions. Alejandro and Yillian are excellent and generous hosts and made us feel completely at home. As well, they were able to arrange a car and driver who was super at taking us around to a variety of the sites we needed to visit while we during our stay. The Hostel is in a very nice residential part of Habana, called Vedado, and is a short drive or cab ride to most of the key sites within the city. Alejandro and Yillian's Hostal D'Soto is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Chris

Thanks for sharing with our community on trip your experience with us. It is very important to know what our customers say about the service we provide, and such a positive comment like yours gives us much joy. Come back soon.

Regards,
Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We liked it very very much in Hostal d'Soto! The rooms are very nice and big and the whole house is very lovely as well. We felt like in our own family as both Yilian and Alejandro helped us with everything and were very kind and friendly. Alejandro knows cooking very well so if you stay with them, try their dinner!

If we once come back to cuba, we'll definitly stay with them again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alejandro S, Propietario at Hostal d' Soto, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hello Kerstin.

Thanks for your comment. You are a special couple, your stay with us was very candid and we got to feel you as a family,We hope that do you return soon, it was very pleasant to be your hosts.

Regards,
Yilian and Alejandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,383 reviews
2.4 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#52 of 79 in Havana
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#42 of 79 in Havana
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal d' Soto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal d' Soto

Property: Hostal d' Soto
Address: Street 32 # 868 | Between 26 Avenue and 41 Street, Nuevo Vedado, Revolution Square, Havana 10600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 694 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We rent comfortable rooms in residence in one of the best areas of La Habana, Nuevo Vedado; right in the city center. A point from where you get to anywhere in minutes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing