We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza”

La California Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 790 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in a farmhouse of the nineteenth century Restaurant - Bar "La California " just a few steps from Havana's waterfront and famous California sun , we have a traditional wood oven to provide an artisan flavor to our great variety of pizzas . Fresh pasta , Cuban and international cuisine in a colonial taste and elegant atmosphere with personalized service . Excellent wine cellar with over 50 references and staffed by professionals, where besides , Habanos lovers can enjoy fine cigars
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you're someone who can't go a few days without pizza, La California has really delicious fresh pizza, with some Cuban flavors filling out the menu. It's atmosphere was kinda weird though, we sat inside which felt entirely separate and had music videos playing loudly during our meal. Even on a hot evening, I would recommend sitting outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elephunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    91
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food & interesting decor”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Generally, one does not go to Cuba for the food !! This restaurant was recommended by our casa which was 10 mins walk away & we found this restaurant exceptional & one of the best we experienced in 2 wks travelling around Cuba.
I had fish which was excellent followed by a coconut homemade icecream - all great. Cocktails were good & we found the service attentive.
Its worth going just to see the décor which is very interesting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our tour group had its farewell dinner here so our meal was served family style...squash soup, chicken, beef and pork, rice and black beans. Everything was very good and a Chilean white wine went nicely with the food. After dinner, a band played and 2 professional dancers entertained...the 'show' went on much too long, with too much audience participation. I assume this restaurant is primarily for tourists.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Most of the meal was good, however, the waiter recommended the beef and I ordered it. It was very tough!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great time in Old Havana”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

La California is a paladar, or privately-owned restaurant, in Old Havana. Our tour group had the restaurant to itself, so my experience my be a little different from some other reviewers. Dinner started with a delicious squash soup and a generous green salad. The entree was a mix of sliced pork, lightly seasoned beef balls, and the best chicken we had on the trip.Dessert was a mix of flan, rice pudding, and a third item no one could quite place. La California has a very eclectic decor with ferns, mirrors, a small waterfall, and even a piece of an old Singer sewing machine adorning its rock walls. A band played and two professional dancers performed and then pulled people from the audience for dance lessons. The whole night ended with a "conga line" snaking around the restaurant. As we reluctantly left, the band was playing what we took to be the national anthem--Quantanemara. It was a fitting end to our last night in Cuba.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kokopeli5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La California Restaurant also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La California Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing