We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy visiting this places month after month” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La California Restaurant

La California Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 765 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Located in a farmhouse of the nineteenth century Restaurant - Bar "La California " just a few steps from Havana's waterfront and famous California sun , we have a traditional wood oven to provide an artisan flavor to our great variety of pizzas . Fresh pasta , Cuban and international cuisine in a colonial taste and elegant atmosphere with personalized service . Excellent wine cellar with over 50 references and staffed by professionals, where besides , Habanos lovers can enjoy fine cigars
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy visiting this places month after month”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My first visit was back on January 2014 and I´ve visiting this place since then in a monthly basis.
Food is delicious, staff is very friendly and Charles, the owner, is a showman that will make your visit the special occasion to remember. Sergio, a member of the staff, will give you a very good explanation about the history of the neighborhood.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElmerCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    91
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Paladar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This paladar or entrepreneurial restaurant is located in an extremely poor neighborhood, but is beautifully decorated, well managed and served excellent food. The staff was smiling, efficient and excellent.

Their pizza is one of the best I have ever eaten. Their pasta was delicious.

I would return in a minute.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
355 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Takes some finding.. but nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Popular with tours, this hide away restaurant offers good basic dining. We arrived before the coach masses and had appetisers, mains and deserts with a glass of wine. A 10% service charge was added to the bill. Quantity and quality of food was good and service very attentive. Place filled up very quickly.

Would recommend to friends and family if in Havana....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you're someone who can't go a few days without pizza, La California has really delicious fresh pizza, with some Cuban flavors filling out the menu. It's atmosphere was kinda weird though, we sat inside which felt entirely separate and had music videos playing loudly during our meal. Even on a hot evening, I would recommend sitting outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elephunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food & interesting decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Generally, one does not go to Cuba for the food !! This restaurant was recommended by our casa which was 10 mins walk away & we found this restaurant exceptional & one of the best we experienced in 2 wks travelling around Cuba.
I had fish which was excellent followed by a coconut homemade icecream - all great. Cocktails were good & we found the service attentive.
Its worth going just to see the décor which is very interesting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Di-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La California Restaurant also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La California Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing