We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bring your wife here : )”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vedado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vedado
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Edmonton
1 review
“Don't bring your wife here : )”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had booked this hotel through "Select A Room " , when we arrived at the hotel they had no idea of our reservation ( This was at 4:00 pm ) . The hotel clerk spent about 2 hours on the phone trying to figure out our booking . In the end they gave us a room and we would have to figure out what happened to our on-lone booking once we got home . The room was like the size prison cell but with a window ( thankfully ) . The bathroom had no bath towels or shampoo ( my husband joked we would have to go on the street and ask people for some shampoo : ) .

We were of course hot & sweaty once we got to the room so my husband went down ( no phones in room ) to lobby to ask for bath towels . He was told that bath towels would be given to us the next morning ( ???? )...oooookay then .

The rooms were clean enough but the hallways & elevators were dirty .

The best thing about this hotel is location , you can walk everywhere and if you get tired you can get a taxi fast & cheap.

We did sort things out with "Select a Room " once we got back home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    93
    231
    140
    187
See reviews for
91
232
75
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have been here due to my Airport Information Guide,here In havana usually hotels are expensive and Vedado is considered as cheap,u have swimming pool,veeery Normal Bar,and rooms are not appreciable.The surrounding area are Typical Havana.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms which have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Definitely not boutique or luxury, in fact this hotel is the definition of no frills, and it lacks any havana charm too. The rooms are shabby and the decor is old and tired. It's not dirty but not spotless either - you won't want to pad around in bare feet, or lie in the bath. The beds are not firm and the sheets and towels have seen better days, but do appear washed. The reception service is perfunctory! The breakfast is OK - although there were always queues for tables.

We didn't move elsewhere as we were only here for three days and didn't want to waste time looking for another hotel, besides as somewhere to run in and out of, it is tolerable. Also, on the bright side the location is not bad, the Hotel Nacionale is just up the road for somewhere to sit and relax with a drink :) , and it's about 5 CUC in a taxi to Havana Vieja.

If you're on a student budget then fine. But be warned this is cheap, but no bargain.

Otherwise spend a bit more - as there are some great looking hotels in Havana Vieja. I didn't see the rooms but all of the following have great bars and plenty of old world charm : Hotel Florida, Seville, Ambos Mundos or Inglaterra - do go to one of these!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-escaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Spent two nights there going in and out of Havana. Very well located. Fairly clean for a run down place, clean linens, hot water was spotty, breakfast good. Service people very attentive and it appeared safe - no issues when I was there. Not a place I'd take my wife - I'm 50 - but good for a mission trip or for the young with tight budgets.

Room Tip: None better than any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oibboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This hotel is simply terrible and seriously run-downed. Do not stay there, for cheaper you can stay in a very nice Casa Particular, they are all over the place in Cuba. The Vedado looks like a 1 star hotel in the US or Europe. There are graffitis in the lobby and the elevator including one charming one that describes a part of the female body. The bathrooms are nasty and the lobby looks terrible. The St. Johns nearby is a much better option, but again a Casa Particular is cheaper and much better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeDassin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had one last night in Havana after spending 3 days in the south. The agent at Infotur in the Hotel Ingleterra managed to find us 2 rooms in the Vedado. The hotel's seen better days (like most of Havana - ie pre 1959), the bed was uncomfortable, the bathroom was run down. But it did have cable TV so you could catch up with what was happening in the real world, plus internet in the lobby. Breakfast was reasonable. Location was OK - near the Nacional, which is great for a drink in the evening. We walked to the Capitolino (30 mins). The waterfront is 2 mins walk. If you're stuck it's an OK option, just don't expect a lot - like friendly, attentive staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the street - really noisy. Not that it bothered me too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Love to be on this area: you have the famous malecon, Havana's sofa by the ocean, a mere 5 minutes walk away. There is also a good choice a private restaurants nearyby and a couple of clubs/disco as well as the famous jazz bar "la zorra y el cuervo" (the fox and the raven). I like this hotel (which is now a complex together with hotel st johns) because it offers terrific value for money. Those complaning here should come to England and pay £50 a night to sleep in a dump. I would understant the dissapointment if you pay over the odds by if you pay what I pay (£14 per night per person incl. breakfast - http://www.cubadirect.co.uk/hotels/info.aspx?id=451) then is simply impossible to complain. £14 per night for a great location in the Caribbean! Come on guys ... be fair. Breakfast is buffet which means you can feel your belly and no need to have lunch because in the heat of Cuba your body will ask for a lot of liquid. Hotels were also recently refurbished (I know St Johns used to have problems with hot water - not any more) ... So: you have a nice pool, great location, fantastic price, decent rooms ... if you are on a budget, I cannot recommend enough these 2 hotels: Hotel Vedado and Hotel St Johns

Room Tip: as I always say in the case of Cuba hotels, dont bother asking your travel agent. Do what is right a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank the_good_judge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#41 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
4,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#45 of 78 in Havana
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vedado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vedado

Property: Hotel Vedado
Address: Calle O e/ 23 y 25 | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vedado 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complex is located in the Vedado area, 25 km from Jose Marti International Airport. Only 200 meters from Havana seafront and close to La Rampa, a major artery of the city that agglomerated different ministries, banks, galleries, shops, craft fairs, Night Centres, Restaurants, Airlines Offices, etc. It has 291 rooms. It has two restaurants to the open letter from 12 am to 12 pm, and two restaurants open buffet (breakfast and dinner) from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. It also has a cafeteria open 24 hours and two lobby bar also 24 hours. It has two pools with snack bar, open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 pm, a gym with sauna and massage service (11:00 a.m. to 8:00 pm), Medical Services and Business Center serviced and WIFI INTERNET. Also has a Tourism bureau for selling excursions, and two souvenir shops. Do not have service for the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Holiday Gems and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vedado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedado Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing