We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vedado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Vedado
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Bergen, Norge
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Very poor hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Every hotel in Cuba has a travelling agency owned by the government. We ordered this hotel when we stayed in Varadero. We where told that this was an average hotel, but the prices where double up this first weekend in august because of a carneval in Havana. We paid 146 CUC for one night.

When we arrived at the hotel, nobody had heard about the carneval. The room was in a really poor shape. The TV wasn't working, the aircondition was very noisy, it was old, small and dirty. We didn't want to sleep there, so we tried to get our money back - without any luck.

Just for fun we went to the nice hotel Habana Libre which is a landmark in the area, and the price was lower than we had paid. A bad feeling. We also checked other hotels on the Internet, but the prices was not doubled because of a carneval.... What a joy!

Well, back to Hotel Vedado: It gives a good impression in the lobby, but the rooms are crap. For that price you can get the best luxus hotels in town. There is a swimming pool here, but it's very small and crowded. The bar has food and drinks and the people are nice. That is why the hotel get's two stars not only one. Anyhow, the rooms are so ugly that you can't get the thought out of your head: "You've been tricked!".

By the way; after we had asked about 10-15 persons (including the police) about the carnival which had doubled the hotel price, finally someone had heard about it, but then it was over (at 1 o'clock in the morning).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    93
    231
    140
    187
See reviews for
91
232
75
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

recently stayed 8 days at vedado. (by the way, the picture of the hotel on their web site is Not the vedado.) overall, would rate the service good and facilites average or below by US standards.
hot water, air cond worked. water pressure low. maid service excellent. had problems with tv and asked desk to replace cable, which never happened. plenty of road noise outside our room.
pool nice. plenty of nice restaurants close by. hotel restaurant breakfast nondescript (no spoons)
at $60 per night, a decent value.

Room Tip: nothing on front of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dljr60
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Havana is emerging. The Vedado is a simple hotel. Terrazo floors, beds have a few springs sticking out, bathroom ok. Never hot water, kind of warm. Good A/C in the room with satelite TV from the USA. Including ESPN :) Breakfast is ok. We always use vouchers from USA so we have never had check in issues. Just realize you are in a different part of the world. Check in can be slow. Price is lower than other hotels in this class. The bonus is that there are restaurants nearby. The sea is also just a few blocks away. This is a place where you sleep. Not a hotel where you want to enjoy the room. They have been renovating the upper floors. I had a renovated room on my last trip and it was a significant improvement. There are other hotels in Havana that I prefer but the Vedado is ok. If you leave a tip for house keeping they will take good care of your room. and they will use your towels to make a heart on the bed to show their appreciation.

Room Tip: try to good a renovated room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dljr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I spent two nights here as part of a conference. Hotel was booked by organizers. The best you can say is that it is cheap. We arrived at 11:30 at night and the rooms were not ready. Finally got a room at 1 am (we had to be up at 5 am next morning). We got the worst room int he hotel. Hot, noisy and dirty (it was in the old wing). No hot water. When I ran the water in the sink, a leak in the pipes flooded the floor. The bathroom was dirty and the fittings rusty. No soap or shampoo, no toilet paper. For the second night we were moved to a room in the newer part. A bit cleaner and the AC worked, but still no hot water. The breakfast is included but it is not very good either. Colleagues who arrived with us moved tot he St. John's hotel, for the second night which they said was marginally better. By the way, the staff are also rude.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances take a room in the older part (elevator near the pool).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdmontonDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Havana hotels

Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had booked this hotel through "Select A Room " , when we arrived at the hotel they had no idea of our reservation ( This was at 4:00 pm ) . The hotel clerk spent about 2 hours on the phone trying to figure out our booking . In the end they gave us a room and we would have to figure out what happened to our on-lone booking once we got home . The room was like the size prison cell but with a window ( thankfully ) . The bathroom had no bath towels or shampoo ( my husband joked we would have to go on the street and ask people for some shampoo : ) .

We were of course hot & sweaty once we got to the room so my husband went down ( no phones in room ) to lobby to ask for bath towels . He was told that bath towels would be given to us the next morning ( ???? )...oooookay then .

The rooms were clean enough but the hallways & elevators were dirty .

The best thing about this hotel is location , you can walk everywhere and if you get tired you can get a taxi fast & cheap.

We did sort things out with "Select a Room " once we got back home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have been here due to my Airport Information Guide,here In havana usually hotels are expensive and Vedado is considered as cheap,u have swimming pool,veeery Normal Bar,and rooms are not appreciable.The surrounding area are Typical Havana.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms which have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Persia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Definitely not boutique or luxury, in fact this hotel is the definition of no frills, and it lacks any havana charm too. The rooms are shabby and the decor is old and tired. It's not dirty but not spotless either - you won't want to pad around in bare feet, or lie in the bath. The beds are not firm and the sheets and towels have seen better days, but do appear washed. The reception service is perfunctory! The breakfast is OK - although there were always queues for tables.

We didn't move elsewhere as we were only here for three days and didn't want to waste time looking for another hotel, besides as somewhere to run in and out of, it is tolerable. Also, on the bright side the location is not bad, the Hotel Nacionale is just up the road for somewhere to sit and relax with a drink :) , and it's about 5 CUC in a taxi to Havana Vieja.

If you're on a student budget then fine. But be warned this is cheap, but no bargain.

Otherwise spend a bit more - as there are some great looking hotels in Havana Vieja. I didn't see the rooms but all of the following have great bars and plenty of old world charm : Hotel Florida, Seville, Ambos Mundos or Inglaterra - do go to one of these!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-escaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#43 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#41 of 78 in Havana
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
4,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,497 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#45 of 78 in Havana
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vedado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vedado

Property: Hotel Vedado
Address: Calle O e/ 23 y 25 | Vedado, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vedado 3*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The complex is located in the Vedado area, 25 km from Jose Marti International Airport. Only 200 meters from Havana seafront and close to La Rampa, a major artery of the city that agglomerated different ministries, banks, galleries, shops, craft fairs, Night Centres, Restaurants, Airlines Offices, etc. It has 291 rooms. It has two restaurants to the open letter from 12 am to 12 pm, and two restaurants open buffet (breakfast and dinner) from 7:00 am to 10:00 pm. It also has a cafeteria open 24 hours and two lobby bar also 24 hours. It has two pools with snack bar, open daily from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 pm, a gym with sauna and massage service (11:00 a.m. to 8:00 pm), Medical Services and Business Center serviced and WIFI INTERNET. Also has a Tourism bureau for selling excursions, and two souvenir shops. Do not have service for the disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vedado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedado Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing