We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Disappointing Tourist Show” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabaret Parisien

Cabaret Parisien
Ranked #2 of 43 Nightlife in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really Disappointing Tourist Show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had been looking forward to attending one of these Tropicana style shows while I was in Havana. As I were staying in the Hotel Nacional I booked Cabaret Parisien for a Sunday night and dragged my 2 friends along. Cost equivalent to €60 each with dinner.

I was expecting a Cuban style dinner but was served tinned slop - the kind of food that gives Cuba a really bad reputation for food whereas in reality there is fantastic food available all around the country if you know where to go for it. It was our worst and most expensive meal in 2 weeks in Cuba. Also included was one free cocktail which was more of a mocktail.

We were then ignored by waiters for the night and had to leave our table and go in search to order wine or further drinks.

Then the show started at 10pm. Performances were pretty amateur but there were one or two good singers. Essentially it is a combination of group dancing, followed by a couple dancing followed by a solo singer and repeat about 5 times. It is very colourful and some of the costumes are good but I couldn't wait for it to finish and really did feel ripped off by the time I left the theatre that evening.

Save your money for some local nightlife in old Havana and ignore these tourist shows. Also note the show is in Spanish.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank PoppyGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    206
    72
    25
    23
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beatiful first class show in the dream of cuba”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Beatiful show,great dancer,great african cuban singer,the most beatiful voice. Magic night in the Havana. Don't miss it you can see the most beatiful and great dancer and singer in the world.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank microbiologa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great show ... But don't be tempted to take the meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

First you need to have a drink on the lawn of the national hotel, which is a fantastic setting.
The show was fantastic and was non stop for nearly 2 hours and well worth the money for the experience.
However the meal which was optional was very poor, mass produced and tasteless
So my recommendation would be to do the show, but don't have the optional meal !!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 737nigel737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't miss wonderfully over the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We saw the show as part of a trip extra offered by our tour company Exodus. For 50 cuc we had a dinner and drink in the Hotel Nacional which was lovely then reserved seats at the show and another free drink though not much rum in it! The costumes were amazing and the show was so over the top it was hilarious The dancers needed a good dance captain to knock them into shape! The show is indoors which for us was good as it poured with rain that night and our friends who paid double what we paid to go to the Tropicana show didn't see it ! It's a part of Cubas history we wouldn't have missed it for the world

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
92 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went here 11th march excellent entertainment food so so you are in cuba not the best cuisine.we went on the al a carte menu and yes it's expensive but look where you are. We loved the show so much energy and enthusiam don't know why people say it's boring don't know what they want. Great dancing and singing yes costumes are a bit old but what does that matter enjoyed every minute of it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chrislondon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabaret Parisien also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Cabaret Parisien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing