We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, with minor shortcomings”
Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Saratoga
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Elegant, with minor shortcomings”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel. Not the friendliest staff on Cuba, but they were allways professional and helpful. Location is super, architecture is stunning and the hotell is well maintained. Minor irritations were that the aircondition wasnt functioning (our room was either freezing cold or warm), there were only 5 sunbeads in the very popular pool (and not 30 something as their commercials showed), we were charged with items we hadnt had and their system of payment (you pay at reception in advance for whatever you wish to charge your room) in our case didnt work. None of these where major issues however and I would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sista2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    553
    199
    72
    36
See reviews for
172
718
51
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We chose this hotel to end our stay in Cuba. We booked in for two nights as two adults and our teenage daughter. Overall the hotel is great, the location is good for exploring Old Havana and the Prado area. The decor is as expected, the mezzanine bar is a great place to chill, the cocktails are good. The pianist was excellent and would play almost anything you request. Breakfast is very copious and overall very good. Unfortunately the staff are easily ovewhelmed and spend quite a bit of time chatting (particularly at breakfast). Our room was on 7th (no smoking) floor and we had lovely window seats over looking the Parque Central, enabling us to watch the fantastic storm that started almost straight after our arrival. The room was great and the bathroom was a haven. Only one thing was wrong and that was the additional bed for our teenage daughter. The hotel provided a fold up camp bed on wheels which did not block and the mattress was awful as covered in plastic (like a hospital bed) and felt horrible and made a horrendous noise every time our daughter moved!!!
The saving grace is the hotel pool. After exploring the city it is great to come back and chill out in the pool and the skyline is fantastic. We could not get enough of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 7th floor with window seats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had heard great reviews about the Hotel Saratoga but unfortunately our stay there coincided with that of a certain foreign delegation resulting in a not so pleasant experience. The receptionist was unfriendly and curt. There was a tense atmosphere throughout the hotel. The maître d' had attitude when we made our reservation for dinner but when we arrived at the restaurant a few hours later his attitude mellowed and our dining experience became a pleasant one. Drinks at the rooftop pool bar overlooking Havana were a welcome interlude at the end of a hot day. Our suite on the 7th floor was elegantly decorated and roomy and breakfast was average. Possibly under different circumstances we may have enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclectic61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Not entirely clear about the safety of Havana, we chose the Hotel Saratoga as our sanctuary. The cost was high, $289 per night, but stepping into this renovated, classic, colonial hotel was like stepping back in time. Beautifully crafted architecture, amazing artwork and that feeling that I was some secret organization's Man in Havana while toking a fat Cohiba made our stay there worth every penny. Food and drink are pricey. Remember this is where hip hop's royal pair stayed, fortunately not while we were there. The location is perfect for exploring Viejo Habana and the rooftop pool/bar give incredible views of the entire city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a 4 star hotel in the centre of the city, which is fine, but for the price there were many other options that would have been better. the room was good, wifi was great, the food downstairs was very good. So why a average rating - basic attitude of staff was apathetic and not really helpful. There would be better options for the price elswhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WakeBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have nothing to complain about. The location is great allowing you to walk everywhere in Old Havana. The bathroom has all the basic necessities from shower cap to body lotion.
It is clean and quiet to sleep. Pool is well maintained.
Breakfast was the highlight, really very good!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Adriana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Good Points.
The Location.
Free Wifi.
The Friendly doorman and porter.
The view from the pool area.
The Not So Good.
Dark rooms with no view out of a frosted window overlooking the Atrium.
One pillow per person. The spare in the Wardrobe was stained and didn't have a pillow case.
Cracked sink in the bathroom.
Expensive bottle of water (CUC6.00)
The coffee machine didn't work correctly and they charge you if you use it.
We had problems with the lighting which required assistance.
The bed wasn't very comfortable.
The staff are very indifferent, for Cubans they are unfriendly, not smiling, lacking warmth and hospitality.
Should you wish to check out at 1400 there is a CUC 50.00 charge.
The breakfast was poor unless you like sweet cake, hard eggs, from concentrate fruit juice and pork products.
There was no manager on duty. I asked twice to speak with him/her and was informed they were not on site.
For the extra cost it's just not worth it. I much preferred The Nacional de Cuba, great views and friendly staff and a realistic price tag for Cuba.
Avoid

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakridge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,293 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,595 reviews
2.9 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,563 reviews
5.4 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Property: Hotel Saratoga
Address: Prado 603 esquina Dragones | Old Havana, Havana 10200, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#7 Family Hotel in Havana
#9 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Saratoga 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saratoga best pool roof top view in Havana, 5 star Luxury, 96 rooms and WIFI free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing