We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked”
Review of La Casa de Ana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa de Ana
Ranked #9 of 726 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked two nights in this house but when we arrived Ana told us she had made a mistake and there was no room for us. She then offered a house just two blocks away where we had already stayed. In the end it was all fine but we did not get to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Matheus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest, we read with great sadness that in your opinion our Casa received so little punctuation and that all you value from us was poor service ...
At the time, I apologize for the error to offer those two nights to you when they were already take today I reiterate my apologies hope this time are really accepted as I thought they where then.
It gives me satisfaction to think that the house where you stay was to your satisfaction as they notified to us that after you book them for a third time requested another reservation.
I hope you equally enjoyed the evening at the ballet coordinated for you by the management of La Casa de Ana.
Wishing you both the best. Kind regards,
Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nights during our roundtrip in Cuba. We really enjoyed our stay here.

The casa is situated in Vedado and is a 10 minute taxidrive away from the historical center, Havana Vieja. The neighbourhood itself isn't that exciting, but it's a nice getaway from the more busy citylife. You are 2 streets from the Malecon, which is a really nice evening walk.

The rooms are very spacious, very clean. The beds are comfortable, the bathroom is really nice. The little patio outside is filled with greenery and loungy rocking chairs, it makes a pretty scenery to have breakfast.

We also went on the city tour with Pepe's daughter, it's really informative. I do believe you need a guide the first time in Havana to see as much as we did in a reasonable amount of time. Especially if you're just getting used to he Cuban weather and streetsystem. The only thing that kind of 'bothered' us was that they didn't mention that the price of the tour did not cover any entrance fees. For us the museum of rum was a dissapointment, and not worth the money.

We also had dinner twice at the casa, and it was very nice. I really want the recipe of the crema de calabazas. If you stay here, you SHOULD eat here.

We did not spend much time with Ana and Pepe (since they left during our stay to visit our country, isn't that funny!), but they are so welcoming and friendly. You feel immediately at home. After that Ana's daughter and her family stayed at the house and they were also very helpfull. Thank you all so much for your hospitality, it was a great stay!

Chiara and Dimitri

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chiara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear guest thanks to share your opinion with our travelers community . La Casa de Ana your Casa in Havana . Kind regards, Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spend our first couple of nights here in Cuba. Clean, welcoming and perfectly located well outside the touristic area of Havana. Ana and Pepe are extremely helpful and helped us out with planning our route for the next few weeks and also set us up with good accomodation along the trip. Their tips on what do to while in Havana was also well worth visiting, especially the closely located and surprizingly contemporary F.A.C art gallery/bar that Pepe told us about.
The only things that brings the overall impression down was the somewhat uninspring room (without windows) and the fact that we had to move to a neighboring hostal during the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest , thank you for your review and for to contact us. La Casa de Ana your Casa in Havana. Regards, Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This casa, which is situated about 15 minutes' drive from the city centre in El Vedado, is an excellent base for exploring Havana. Ana and Pepe and their "muchachas" make you feel welcome - Pepe is an informative tour guide, and I highly recommend his Havana tour. We were also very pleased that they helped us organise our trip through Cuba with their network of casas.

The food is good, the atmosphere is fun (lots of tourists from different casas descend on the Casa de Ana at meal times), and I'd be very happy to repeat my stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest thank you for take the time to write this review and give your opinion about our services in this website. Thanks for contact us . La Casa de Ana your Casa in Havana. Warm greetings Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We cannot speak highly enough of this Casa and of Ana and Pepe the owners. We stayed here for our first 4 nights and from the organized taxi collection from the airport, to our taxi to the bus station it was a pleasure. The accommodation is excellent providing both a comfortable environment and really great food, we can definitely recommend eating in and having breakfast under the front veranda. This Casa is very much like the United Nations we must have met over 7 nationalities ranging from back-backers to older travelers like ourselves. The Casa is very much a hub for information, experience and help, the owners have other accommodation nearby and Casa Ana is the centre of operations. If you are looking at travelling to other areas of Cuba speak to Pepe and Ana first, as their knowledge and help is invaluable. Whilst staying with them you must take one of Pepe’s tours of Havana, you will not be disappointed but will definitely need good walking shoes. Pepe has a linguistic background and I would think can speak at least 6 languages and understand others so communication at Casa Anna is not a problem. Rarely do you meet such nice people and we are sure you will enjoy your stay with them; they will always be welcome at our house and we would like to think we would meet up in the future. Ian & Sue Brooks Oxford, England.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest its a big pleasure to read your review and we thank you for your very kind words. La Casa de Ana your Casa in Havana. Kind greetings, Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Meeting Ana & Pepe during my trip to Cuba led to some of the best travel experiences I've ever had. We slept at a neighbor's house as Ana's place was full, they were very accommodating and had a comfortable room for us. Every morning we had breakfast at Ana's, got advice from Pepe on sights to see, and met lots of other travelers staying at various places around the neighborhood. With Pepe's guidance we learned more about the city and got to see more than I had ever imagined. They were always ready to answer our questions and help with cabs, tickets, anything we needed. A wonderful place that I'll definitely come back to in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elks25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest , thank you for your kind words , we are already looking for to see you next time . Thanks you to take the time to write this review. La Casa de Ana your Casa in Havana . Warm greetings also from Pepe , Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay with Ana! She gave very helpful information during our stay and helped organise well priced taxis. Her breakfast was good value, but we did find the dinners to be very expensive compared to other casas and restaurants in the local area. Her casa was spotless and the garden was lovely to relax in. Try El Farazon restaurant if you are looking for a dinner out one night, they were incredible and very well priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anahavana, Owner at La Casa de Ana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest , thanks for to take the time to write about us and for contat La Casa de Ana in the first place . Our prices are well outlined in the menu, the choice to eat or not in our place is from the guess . Do to your remarks that our dinner prices are very expensive I do find necessary to precise that we offer a menu from 10-15 CUC that include, bread, butter, entrance, main course -from vegetarian, pork, chicken, fish , shrimps to lobster- served with garniture , salad and desert.
La Casa de Ana your Casa in Havana. Best regards, Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.1 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,873 reviews
3.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.1 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,802 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Ana

Address: Calle 17 1422 | Between 26st And 28st, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 726 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range: £21 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Ana is a B & B in Havana with a family atmosphere located in the central area of El Vedado. Offers two comfortable air-conditioned rooms with private bathroom, minibar, safety boxes. English, French, Spanish and Russian spoken, Cuban food, internet services, and many other facilities. With more than 20 years of experience we are happy to welcome and help you secure your best time on vacation. Ana and Pepe ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Casa De Ana Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing