We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel-excellent location”
Review of NH Capri La Habana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Capri La Habana
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have known this hotel for many years and I am very happy to see it now restored. I stayed in one of the suites, 1801, and is worth the money. Unobstructed views of Habana Vieja, el Malecon, Vedado, and much more. Hotel in walking distance to everything. The showers work great, the pool is in this floor and is beautiful,; room has an excellent balcony. The staff has excellent service, my special thanks to Elizabeth from the breakfast room and bar, Paloma from the gym/spa ( great massages), Eneyda from the front desk, daisy, Vladimir the bellboy, the maid that cleaned the room (forgot her name) has a beautiful handwriting, and also the rest of the staff. They are all very happy to work there and give great service. I wish more of the tourist that stay at the hotel would tip more as Cubans are paid very little. Still room for improvements as hotel just opened but better service than the Cohiba and hotel National. Best wishes and most success!

Room Tip: Room 1801-north east view. The best view of the hotel by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Omar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo V, General Manager at NH Capri La Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comments, they are very valuable to us, we liked to know that you enjoyed the hotel remodeling, as well as our convenient location to visit La Havana,
We are very pleased because you have found our suite very nice and worthy, as well as your opinion of the showers and the spectacular view of la Habana from our pool.
On behalf of all staff, particularly Elizabeth, Paloma, Eney, Daisy, Vladimir and your maid Gardenia, thank you for qualify us as excellent, we've congratulated them for their hard work.
This is a result of our philosophy of one of our beliefs
"We care of our people. Our people care of our Guests”

Once again thank you very much for your awesome comments.

Respectfully

Alfredo Vilchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel as part of a 2 week tour around Cuba; this was our last stop from a beach resort. We were very pleasantly surprised as it was sold to us a 4 Star (Cuban). Its location is brilliant, just a few 100 yards from The Nacional Hotel, with plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants nearby.

Reception was bright and airy, check in was seamless and quick (we were quite late, just after mid-night).

We were on the 14th floor, newly renovated room in bright colours, very clean, new Air Conditioning that worked well, mini bar, in room safe, iron and ironing board. Super King bed, very comfy but could have done with a couple of extra pillows. New flat screen TV that worked well and had good reception. Nice clean modern bathroom, no problems with shower leaking. No problems with the elevators all 3 worked well.
We arrived very late and went straight to the bar for a nightcap; Omar was very helpful and friendly and mixed us a couple of very good cocktails. The bar has a ‘cocktail’ feel to it, very pleasant !

The pool and roof terrace were nice, although the sun loungers, which I would imagine are fairly new are dirty, it had rained the night before and they were soaked through, too wet to sit on unfortunately. I would also point out that there is no shade, just a few 1m high palms that do not give any protection. Until 11am there was limited shade from an overhang of the building, so although pleasant and with a great view, unless you sat in the pool it was practically unusable. I would like to say that Ramses, the pool barman was exceptional, so friendly and helpful and definitely mixed the best Mojito we had, and we stayed at 4 other hotels in Cuba and visited several bars, good job Ramses!

The basement restaurant was beautifully decorated and the breakfast selection was very good.

The doormen also very helpful and very friendly.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again; however the pool area needs some shade hence the 4 stars and not 5!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo V, General Manager at NH Capri La Habana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you to take the time to write this wonderful review, and say, that you have felt very well attended by everyone especially by Ramses and Omar, (They have been congratulated for your comments, and are very thankful as well)
It´s nice to know that our location perfect for you as well as all of our guest. also that you have enjoy our bright reception, and your quick check in.
It's important to know that you really like installations and facilities as well our decoration of our brand new rooms,.
About your recommendations of our pool, all shades needed, have been received,
We hope to see you again at NH Capri Hotel.

Cordially
Alfredo Vilchis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at the Capri for 3 days recently and generally liked the place but a couple of things really let it down big time. Firstly the reception staff were always too preoccupied to help you but more annoyingly, they repeatedly kept giving me 1.52 CUCs for £1 when the official rate was 1.62!. Even the hotel National, which is a big grand hotel right next to the Capri was giving 1.62 (as was the bank!). I just felt cheated however I made the mistake of exchanging twice at the Capri and lost out. Needless to say, all other exchanges were done at the National! My second gripe with this hotel was the bathroom floor flooding every time the shower was used!. Such a badly designed shower room, a simple shower curtain would have done the trick but no, they'd rather let you fall on a totally waterlogged floor..

It's not all bad though, the hotel's location is excellent, as were all the other staff within the hotel. Best of all were the restaurant staff who were really top notch and the food range, especially the breakfast, was really good.
The rooftop pool and bare were really good too with friendly and helpful staff.

I would not stay there again because of the reception staff however I would certainly dine there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vjpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A place does not run unless its people's carry it. this lays testament to its service and its staff the hotel is outstanding the food is delicious the staff are welcoming and make sure to go out of there way to make you feel comfortable and assured.

I travelled to Cuba on medical purposes and i was a lil worried if i will be successful but the staff at the hotel help me in each way just to name a few Jose the doorman Juan the doorman always ready to give me some advice on where to go if I'm bored or if i may need anything Vladmir also a doorman always ready to lend a hand on what whatever issue i may have encountered. to mention the bartender who is so popular with the guests Ramses the great i call him extremely charming character who is ready to do whatever he can to make sure you are at ease.

last but not lease the breakfast staff are impeccable with there service and warm greetings always meeting you with a smile especially one that really stood out is a beautiful humble sincere women called Saidy ever so shy and elegant ready to serve you at your connivence. This girl really leaves an ever lasting impression she makes getting up in the morning a pleasure knowing that you will be greeted with her warm smile serving delicious omelettes and fruit juices.

Hotel Capri is the place to be if you are in Havana

Do not miss out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hassan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I am a Tour Manager who travels quite often to Cuba with American groups. I have stayed in El Capri hotel several times now and I highly recommend it. The location, the service, the breakfast is superb.

I also want to review one of the best servers/bartenders in Havana. His name is Ramses and he works both in the breakfast room as well as the rooftop as a bartender. Ramses ALWAYS welcomes you with a genuine smile and an authentic service to say the least. Located in Vedado, just a block from the Hotel Nacional, El Capri is a must see and stay. By the way, it also has a great Mafia history! Built in 1957, but just recently inaugurated for its opening in January 2014. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 15th, 16th or 17th floor for a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We recently took a trip to Cuba, we had no idea what to expect. In one place we read "Leave all expectations behind", this was very true for most of the places and experiences we encountered during our trip. But not for this hotel. The hotel recently re opened its doors, the rooms are new, with and "old" touch. The bathrooms are impecable (my girlfriend was worried), and there was WIFI. Something we didn't find too often on the trip.

Having said this, what amazed us the most was the staff. They were interested and went out of their way to help you. We were always greeted with a smile and a compliment.

Ramses (The Pool Bartender) helped us find our way the first night in Habana, and it will be a memorable night. From the best mojito we had, to the best night in Cuba. If you go, have a drink with him. If you happen to want a nightcap, the lobby bartender is great and will recommend the perfect rum for your needs.

I recommend this hotel to stay, but if your accommodation plans are already made, have a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FuadAbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The room was clean with a great view of Hotel Nacional. The airconditioning worked well and was quiet.
The rooftop pool looked very nice, but we didn't use it as it was raining when we stayed there. Breakfast was good.

We didn't eat or drink there as it was really expensive. I can recommend the restaurant La Roca down the street for great food rather cheaply.

If you want to visit the old town, I would recommend staying somewhere a bit closer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bla-bla-blubb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
1.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,773 reviews
4.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Capri La Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Capri La Habana

Address: Calle 21 Entre Calle N y O, Havana 10400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: £134 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Capri La Habana 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Capri hotel is located in the heart of downtown Havana, making it the ideal starting point for getting to know Cuba's vibrant capital city. The hotel has 220 comfortable guest rooms and suites. All of our elegant rooms feature natural daylight, a welcoming atmosphere and a modernized 1950's-inspired decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Atrapalo, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Capri La Habana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing